Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I served on the Theological Horizons board from 2008-2011. In addition, I benefited from the services of this non-profit when I was an undergraduate student at the University of Virginia. Therefore, I know firsthand what a significant and unique impact this non-profit has. In addition, I considered it an honor to serve on the Board when I was invited. This nonprofit works tirelessly and efficiently to meet the needs of the students and community it seeks to serve, both within the academy at UVA in Charlottesville and in the communities beyond. As a former board member, I can attest to the stringent guidelines and prudent budget this non-profit meets every year. The directors, Karen and Charles Marsh, are amazing and selfless people who are completely dedicated to this work. They give their passion and their all to meeting the mission statement of Theological Horizons, regularly welcoming students, professors, and members of the community into their home to foster discussion and growth in an open and nurturing environment. Lives are changed because of this non-profit, and I feel privileged to be involved with it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Charles and Karen Marsh were long-time family friends, so when Charles began teaching at UVA and expressing interest in forming a multi-dimensional program of teaching and ministry, my husband and I volunteered to host a get-acquainted event in out home in Atlanta. The guests were delighted to learn of the Marshes' vision. We have been volunteers and donors for over twenty years, along with many others who caught the vision. Building a network of supporters and contributors took many years, but now Theological is strong, effective and dynamic. I served on the board for a number of years, and my husband and I endow an annual lecture series that brings top theologians and thnkers to the UVA campus. I have seen up close the integrity and dedication that goes into all aspects of TH. Where else on a college campus can students enjoy a home coooked meal and a stimulating, encouraging conversation that answers honest questions while building relationships? Theological Horizons works hard to enrich the lives of students at UVA and beyond. It is one-of-a-kind and is most worthy of recognition and support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Theological Horizons meets people where they are in their academic and personal life. They provide students, parents and community members to engage in thoughtful discussions and events that empower individuals to understand culture, thought, faith and life. As a student at the University of Virginia, I found Theological Horizon as the place where I could escape and be fully known--where I could ask the tougher questions in life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Theological Horizons shaped my college experience into a deeper, happier time. This organization and the stellar staff who pour open their hearts and their home to students provide a safe haven for faith exploration at a critical time in a student's life. I had been unable to find a bible study that fit my slightly different personality and welcomed difficult questions at UVa. Karen at TH started a Friday morning study and it became a home and place of nourishment for me and now dozens and dozens of students over the years. It is a place where you are truly able to use your brain and your heart to understand your faith and place in the world. The way that Karen, Charles and others at TH welcome students into the Bonhoeffer House with no pretense or expectation is refreshing and necessary for students. Each of the programs adds to the mission and gives students a place to explore their faith and life in the academic setting. It set the tone for the remainder of my faith journey beyond college and I know it has for many others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Cook lunch for 35 undergrads for the Friday Vintage group; Stuff and stamp envelopes for a fundraising mailer; Reach out to donors via note or phone to ask for their email addresses