Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am letting Webster's Dictionary express my thoughts: THEOLOGICAL - "Knowledge of God based on Bible as Word of God." HORIZONS - "Bounding line - between earth and sky." THEOLOGICAL HORIZONS at THE BONHOEFFER HOUSE is powerfully used by God, among students and the whole Charlottesville Community, to lead individuals to know God through Jesus Christ. It is truly the horizon between earth and sky - helping, especially students, live life down here with God's eternal daily presence. How exciting! How needed! How relevant! How crucial! One of Bonhoeffer's books is The Cost of Discipleship. Perfect words to express the motivation to give and be part the "cost" of this awesome nonprofit for "discipleship". Effecting lives for eternity - now there's a profitable investment! with admiration and appreciation for THEOLOGICAL THEOLOGICAL HORIZONS At THE BONHOEFFER HOUSE. Margie Wright

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have watched Theological Horizons from their beginning, as they have made a great impact on the lives of countless people, especially students. I am personally helped by the links in their web sites sending me to stimulating documents and intellectual discourse. Their personal face to face interaction with students on a daily basis is a unique ministry in that it is an "inside the academic community" ministry, not one come from the outside. Having a tenured professor as co-director, and having a home virtually on campus as the venue for ministry, are two of the many factors making Theological Horizons unique among campus ministries.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Karen and Charles Marsh are dedicated people of deep faith. As they occupy the Bonhoeffer House, they understand the needs of the students as they prepare for life, perhaps struggling with their faith - while at the university. The Bonhoeffer house is a place where students can come to for fellowship and to learn about God.The great comfort food is always a hit, specially on a cold day! I had the opportunity to partake in the Friday study for several years, and as a member of the community I was blessed as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Theological Horizons is a magical group deeply committed to bringing the Charlottesville community together. The discussions of faith, scholarship, and of life are thought provoking and inspiring. Unlike any other Charlottesville community, Theological Horizons creates a home for the academic Christian seeking to promote the modern relevance of faith.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I served on the Theological Horizons board from 2008-2011. In addition, I benefited from the services of this non-profit when I was an undergraduate student at the University of Virginia. Therefore, I know firsthand what a significant and unique impact this non-profit has. In addition, I considered it an honor to serve on the Board when I was invited. This nonprofit works tirelessly and efficiently to meet the needs of the students and community it seeks to serve, both within the academy at UVA in Charlottesville and in the communities beyond. As a former board member, I can attest to the stringent guidelines and prudent budget this non-profit meets every year. The directors, Karen and Charles Marsh, are amazing and selfless people who are completely dedicated to this work. They give their passion and their all to meeting the mission statement of Theological Horizons, regularly welcoming students, professors, and members of the community into their home to foster discussion and growth in an open and nurturing environment. Lives are changed because of this non-profit, and I feel privileged to be involved with it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Charles and Karen Marsh were long-time family friends, so when Charles began teaching at UVA and expressing interest in forming a multi-dimensional program of teaching and ministry, my husband and I volunteered to host a get-acquainted event in out home in Atlanta. The guests were delighted to learn of the Marshes' vision. We have been volunteers and donors for over twenty years, along with many others who caught the vision. Building a network of supporters and contributors took many years, but now Theological is strong, effective and dynamic. I served on the board for a number of years, and my husband and I endow an annual lecture series that brings top theologians and thnkers to the UVA campus. I have seen up close the integrity and dedication that goes into all aspects of TH. Where else on a college campus can students enjoy a home coooked meal and a stimulating, encouraging conversation that answers honest questions while building relationships? Theological Horizons works hard to enrich the lives of students at UVA and beyond. It is one-of-a-kind and is most worthy of recognition and support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Theological Horizons meets people where they are in their academic and personal life. They provide students, parents and community members to engage in thoughtful discussions and events that empower individuals to understand culture, thought, faith and life. As a student at the University of Virginia, I found Theological Horizon as the place where I could escape and be fully known--where I could ask the tougher questions in life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Although I was never a student at UVA, Theological Horizons, and all those that put their heart and soul into that place, have greatly impacted me! They have such a beautiful way of engaging the community by opening up the Bonhoeffer House for discussions on faith, life and academics. Not to mention the fact that they hand out cookies to first years on move-in day!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more


1 previous review
October 2, 2012

When in college, you often can feel that you are lost in a crowd of strangers without a familiar face to ground you. Theological Horizons immeasurably changed this for me. No longer was I struggling t... more

October 2, 2012

When in college, you often can feel that you are lost in a crowd of strangers without a familiar face to ground you. Theological Horizons immeasurably changed this for me. No longer was I struggling to find a way to reconnect with God on a daily basis. Instead, I was able to join a community of Christians who helped shape my experiences in college and put me on the right path. Through morning bible studies, Friday lunches, and guest speakers, I was introduced to new scripture and meaningful texts. I am incredibly thankful and grateful for my experience with Theological Horizons.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When in college, you often can feel that you are lost in a crowd of strangers without a familiar face to ground you. Theological Horizons immeasurably changed this for me. No longer was I struggling to find a way to reconnect with God on a daily basis. Instead, I was able to join a community of Christians who helped shape my experiences in college and put me on the right path. Through morning bible studies, Friday lunches, and guest speakers, I was introduced to new scripture and meaningful texts. I am incredibly thankful and grateful for my experience with Theological Horizons.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Theological Horizons shaped my college experience into a deeper, happier time. This organization and the stellar staff who pour open their hearts and their home to students provide a safe haven for faith exploration at a critical time in a student's life. I had been unable to find a bible study that fit my slightly different personality and welcomed difficult questions at UVa. Karen at TH started a Friday morning study and it became a home and place of nourishment for me and now dozens and dozens of students over the years. It is a place where you are truly able to use your brain and your heart to understand your faith and place in the world. The way that Karen, Charles and others at TH welcome students into the Bonhoeffer House with no pretense or expectation is refreshing and necessary for students. Each of the programs adds to the mission and gives students a place to explore their faith and life in the academic setting. It set the tone for the remainder of my faith journey beyond college and I know it has for many others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Cook lunch for 35 undergrads for the Friday Vintage group; Stuff and stamp envelopes for a fundraising mailer; Reach out to donors via note or phone to ask for their email addresses