Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
84 Reviews
1234.98815
Write A Review
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

As a former intern (2004) returning to the community after many years away The Women's Center has been an amazingly supportive and grounding space in helping to reestablish connection and a career in our new home. Over many years it has been wonderful to be part of this group virtually/electronically and now to be able to come together with a group of insipiring women to support the community in a meaningful way.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

The Center is a lot more than a place for service, it is a community, a home. The staff, the supervisors and the volunteers are all embodiments of the centers values of acceptance and empowerment. I am more than proud to be associated with it
September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been providing computer support (on and off) for the Women's Center for several years. I've witnessed the dedication, passion and commitment that the Center's staff have supporting their mission. Their passion is unflagging and contagious. I am proud to be able to support this wonderful group of staff and volunteers, who in turn provide such a valuable service to the community.
September 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 30, 2011

What a wonderful event to honor Jean Ledworth King last weekend! Over 250 people were present to honor her and to support the Women's Center of Southeastern Michigan, shortly to be renamed the Jean L... more

September 11, 2014

I am PROUD to be the new Chair of The Women's Center of SE Michigan. I'm also the 'old'est chairperson as I was a co-founder and first Chair in 2000. This last year has been a very difficult one - financially - and, in fact, we had to briefly close our doors in June. But the tenacity of the staff, volunteer supervisors, interns, and a major donor brought me to my feet and, together, we're taking a stand! We have long recognized the need to become financially more sustainable, but how to do so and not compromise our principles was a difficult hurdle to cross. Together, we are on Journey 2.0. Together, we have developed an additional program, Room To Talkā„¢, where licensed therapists trained by TWC in the past, will be able to provide services to insured individuals and where those who do not wish to use their insurance and/or have the ability to pay a reduced fee will be seen by limited licensed therapists. We hope to have this program fully launched by January, 2015. TWC is also in the process of working toward expansion of its many group programs. We can use your help! Please consider making a donation by going to our website: www.womenscentersemi.org. Thank you!
March 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

What a wonderful event to honor Jean Ledworth King last weekend! Over 250 people were present to honor her and to support the Women's Center of Southeastern Michigan, shortly to be renamed the Jean L. King Women's Center of Southeastern Michigan. The presentations clearly demonstrated the values that the Women's Center represents and the uniqueness of this organization that serves many hundreds of women, children and their families each year.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was the founding Chair of the organization and am bursting with pride as to its continued success over the last 11 years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more funds

August 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Women's Center has been such a wonderful place for not only the clients served but also the interns. The staff provides the most welcoming and warm environment for whoever walks into the door. Working there has been the most beautiful experience for me and my clients.
August 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The Women's Center of Southeastern Michigan is a most welcoming place where people can seek counseling, as well as many other services and referrals. Helping people gain strength and healing during times of difficulty.

A unique model which offers service to anyone who can come to the
center, and provides valuable intern opportunities for Master's level counseling students. A win/win model!

As a volunteer, I am impressed by the staff, board of directors and interns. The passion of the executive staff and the dedication of the interns is outstanding. I am proud to be part of such a professional organization that serves others with compassion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to market the services so more people understand the good work that happens here!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As an Intern at The Women's Center of Southeastern Michigan I had no idea the many different things I would learn about myself nor about my clients. I am utterly amazed at the personal growth I have experienced while working at The Women's Center for only 5 short months. I have learned and began to craft and develop my abilities as a therapist and I am forever in debt to The Women's Center. My supervisor and the supporting staff at The Women's Center has encouraged me to explore different avenues with my clients but ultimately they have allowed me flourish and grow into my role as a therapist. The support here is second to none and I know I would not be the therapist I am now, if it weren't for The Women's Center. Thank you for everything!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my personal and professional life. The staff here not only supports me as a future clinician but they have become dear friends to me as well!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more funding so The Women's Center could tailor more programs and services for the Ann Arbor/Washtenaw Community

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Absolutely nothing!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Learning new skills as a clinician, learning new aspects about myself, meeting new friends, the list could go on forever!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Phenomenal

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I have been a volunteer for the Women's Center for two years and have enjoyed the interaction I have with the staff as well as our clients. The Women's Center has been very instrumental in reaching out to the community to provide the necessary services needed for the women in this county.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Self determination can mean a lot of different things. Whether people are seeking ways to stay afloat financially, seeking a job, or struggling personally through a difficult time, the Women's Center is there. With everything from financial counseling to personal therapy, the staff, interns, and volunteers seek to give women and girls the confidence and knowledge to stand on their own feet and make the decisions that are best for them. Hundreds of women contact the center for referrals and direct help. The staff is so dedicated-- this is no 9 to 5 job for them. The staff and interns have a special dedication to women, and a passion for helping people as individuals, no matter where they are in their life. Even if someone just comes in to use the Clothes Closet (professional clothes for job interviews) or get more information in a divorce seminar, this organization changes lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a former board member, I had firsthand insight into the administration of The Women's Center. The leadership's passion for this center's mission was matched by a thoughtful, conscientious stewardship of limited resources. The community views The Women's Center, rightly, as a true treasure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers