Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.98635
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
June 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As an Intern at The Women's Center of Southeastern Michigan I had no idea the many different things I would learn about myself nor about my clients. I am utterly amazed at the personal growth I have experienced while working at The Women's Center for only 5 short months. I have learned and began to craft and develop my abilities as a therapist and I am forever in debt to The Women's Center. My supervisor and the supporting staff at The Women's Center has encouraged me to explore different avenues with my clients but ultimately they have allowed me flourish and grow into my role as a therapist. The support here is second to none and I know I would not be the therapist I am now, if it weren't for The Women's Center. Thank you for everything!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my personal and professional life. The staff here not only supports me as a future clinician but they have become dear friends to me as well!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more funding so The Women's Center could tailor more programs and services for the Ann Arbor/Washtenaw Community

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Absolutely nothing!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Learning new skills as a clinician, learning new aspects about myself, meeting new friends, the list could go on forever!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Phenomenal

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

I have been a volunteer for the Women's Center for two years and have enjoyed the interaction I have with the staff as well as our clients. The Women's Center has been very instrumental in reaching out to the community to provide the necessary services needed for the women in this county.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

TWC is a great organization that helps women build confidence and independence through programs offered at the center. TWC provides emotional support through counseling services and educational training through job coaching, tax progams and financial counseling. Please endorse and support TWC's dedication of providing emotional and economic self-determination for women, girls, and families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am farely new to the Women's Center of Southeastern Michigan, but have already experienced many good things from this organization. Last year I was diagnosed withStage III breast cancer, and had undergone surgery, chemo, and radiation. I am self employed and have catastrophic insurance, and am currently struggling with finances and anxiety. The WCofSEM provided me with a counselor at a reduced co pay, and scheduled me for weekly appointments to help aid me in mental and emotional support. Kara has been wonderful to me and very helpful. She has provided sources to help me seek financial aid with my copays medications, and how to practice cognitive therapy. I am very lucky to have discovered this wonderful organization. I hope that other's that are in simuliar situations as I am are lucky enough to discover the WCofSEM.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Self determination can mean a lot of different things. Whether people are seeking ways to stay afloat financially, seeking a job, or struggling personally through a difficult time, the Women's Center is there. With everything from financial counseling to personal therapy, the staff, interns, and volunteers seek to give women and girls the confidence and knowledge to stand on their own feet and make the decisions that are best for them. Hundreds of women contact the center for referrals and direct help. The staff is so dedicated-- this is no 9 to 5 job for them. The staff and interns have a special dedication to women, and a passion for helping people as individuals, no matter where they are in their life. Even if someone just comes in to use the Clothes Closet (professional clothes for job interviews) or get more information in a divorce seminar, this organization changes lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

The Women's Center is dedicated to "self-determination" and expresses that in their service delivery, attitude toward clients, and volunteers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

The Women's Center of Southeastern Michigan has been one of the few organizations where I have been able to research jobs and educational information concerning schools of higher learning in a quiet and undisturbed setting. I appreciate the opportunity to explore necessary information on the computers in the library. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. Thank you for the people who have provided this facility.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

The Jean Ledwith King Women's Center of Southeast Michigan is one of the finest organization it has been my privilege to work with. Their care and concern for the community of women, children and families of all kinds is unsurpassed. Every action that they take is for the people they serve, and they are a true resource for women in need. I mostly work with Kim Cumming, but I see and feel her leadership and passion reflected throughout the organization in the way each one contributes their time and care for others who need it. We need to be there for each other in times of need. This organization does that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I started as an intern at the Women’s Center, I was told I was competent and that my supervisor and other staff members believed in me. Initially, I took my supervisor’s encouraging words as just a nice comment said to every intern. I did not realize that she did believe in me, and that I was competent. Over the course of the semester, I learned that I am competent and I now believe in myself. One of the greatest things I learned through my work at the Women's Center is that therapy is not a science, or perfected performance. It is an art and an exploration of our client’s lives and our own. Whether you are an intern, volunteer, donor, or client of the Women's Center, you are part of a special place that empowers you to achieve your best and be your best. I did not know I was not whole until I embarked on this journey with the Women's Center, but I am grateful to know I am leaving whole.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a former board member, I had firsthand insight into the administration of The Women's Center. The leadership's passion for this center's mission was matched by a thoughtful, conscientious stewardship of limited resources. The community views The Women's Center, rightly, as a true treasure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers