Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
93 Reviews
1234.946245
Write A Review
January 7, 2012

more

January 7, 2012

My husband and I have been watching this sanctuary almost from its beginning and have been so moved by the evidence of the kindness and the ability of these people to take in wildcats that have been damaged by other humans and bring them to health and trustfulness that we have always put them in the top list for our donations, even when we have had very little to give. Tammy Theis' determination to help these cats began this whole beautiful effort and, over the years, many other people have been inspired to help. We expect to keep donating to The Wildcat Sanctuary as long as we can.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I'm retired and can't afford to give much, but whatever I can afford I gladly give to help preserve a tiny bit more of the wonderful bio-diversity our beautiful planet holds. These magnificent cats are iconic reminders that humans are not the sole inheritors of the earth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2012

more

January 6, 2012

TWS is a wonderful place. because of my friend Susan Timmerman i learned of this organization and the plight of these big cats. Tammy and her crew do amazing things to create an environment as close to the wild as they can. i share the news letter and videos with many friends. i campaign for TWS on my own. i know 2 friends of mine who have donated. maybe there are more. i sent the enrichment videos to my grandchild. this group of people are cats are tops in my book!! i have donated for years and will continue!! fantastic!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2012

more

January 6, 2012

We've been supporting the Wildcat Sanctuary for a number of years. Tammy and her staff have created a humane and responsible approach to the serious problem of treating wild cats as pets or, even worse, merchandise. The cats in their care are treated with loving respect, and their needs come first--which is as it should be. We feel honored to be able to support this work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 6, 2012

more

January 6, 2012

I volunteer at a sanctuary in FL that has similar goals and beliefs. They don't breed their animals, and the care and love the animals receive is amazing. If these animals have to be in captivity this is so much better than a zoo.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 6, 2012

more

January 6, 2012

I learned about the Wildcat Sanctuary from a coworker about four years ago. Since that time I have been in awe of the work Tammy, her staff and volunteers are doing. From finding a new home for the sanctuary ( allowing the cats to roam and exist with dignity) to the rescues of those animals in need, the Wildcat Sanctuary exhibits a generosity of spirit that should be embraced and acknowledged.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 5, 2012

more

January 5, 2012

I am an animal lover and I am particularly fond of big cats, and cats in general. After reading up on what TWS does, I felt compelled to donate to their cause. I think we being the creatures with elevated thought should follow their lead and take better care of the planet's inhabitants- trees, cats, etc. I love reading about how the cats celebrate various holidays and think that the pictures they share of these awesome creatures, helps to bring attention to their need as fellow living creatures. I wish them continued success and hope they are always there to help those felines in need! :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 5, 2012

more

January 5, 2012

The Wildcat Sanctuary is an amazing organization! It is wonderful to know that there is an organization that rescues cats and gives them a good environment in which to thrive, get healthy and live safe, happy lives. I have donated money and items from their 'wishlist' many times over the years and also sponsored a tiger. I was given the opportunity to go up to the facility when Titan and Lilly were brought together for the first time. What an amazing experience and opportunity to see that your donations do make a difference. The tigers were so happy that day. You can't put a price on that. It feelings good to know that you are making a difference in the life of a wild cat. The staff do an excellent job to keep it going. I only wish I could do more. Oh - and I love the vehicle wraps you're doing. I've seen a couple around town.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 5, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 3, 2010

The Wildcat Sanctuary is one of the most amazing places I've ever seen. They make do on a shoestring budget, somehow always making sure that the cats in their care have what they need. The Sanctuary w... more

January 5, 2012

I've supported the Wildcat Sanctuary for more than 10 years. It all began with a billboard that took my breath away at an airport. And then I met Tammy Theis, the founder and director. I got to see first-hand the care that these animals get. I got to see the sacrifices made for their well-being. I got to see the Wildcat Sanctuary grow over the years. There is no organization I believe in more. I cannot imagine a staff more committed to their work. Residents are given more than just food and shelter. They receive enrichment, caring... compassion. Every animal deserves this. But especially these animals, who are often abused, neglected, rejected. This is why I feel very good about donating to this organization, and why I would (and have) eagerly recommend it to my friends and family.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2010

The Wildcat Sanctuary is one of the most amazing places I've ever seen. They make do on a shoestring budget, somehow always making sure that the cats in their care have what they need. The Sanctuary was founded by a woman who has amazing empathy for these creatures, and she has assembled a caring, nurturing, and knowledgeable staff. They work hard to ensure that the cats are not only fed and given medical attention, but that they have the enrichment necessary for a full life. The cats have toys, pools, and caves. This is probably one of the best possible situations for these animals in captivity.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the recovery of Titan and Lilly. They arrived at the Sanctuary damaged and malnourished, and are now happy and healthy tigers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do whatever I could to keep Tammy Theis involved. She is the heart and soul of the organization. I would also hire an expert fundraiser - they need money!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the knowledge that there is a safe haven for abused and neglected wild cats.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

kind, loving, and knowledgeable.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

work wonders. They'd build habitat, buy medical equipment (maybe even replace their broken snow plow!), rewire the sanctuary... pay for MANY needed upgrades.

Ways to make it better...

there was more that I could do.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

money and public perception. 1st and foremost, they need money to build habitat and pay for ongoing expenses. Then, we need to educate the public: a) wild cats are NOT house pets, and b) wild cats kept in a sanctuary are not a threat to the public.

One thing I'd also say is that...

this place is special. It's not a gimmick. People aren't allowed to visit. This is truly a haven for these animals. It is one place where humans do not come first. I love it with all of my heart.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 5, 2012

more

January 5, 2012

While I do not have experience with Wildcats, I have had years of experience in animal rescue, wildlife, and wolfdog rescue. I know the sacrifices that are required to provide for animals that, through no fault of their own, have been abused, abandoned, or forgotten. The staff, volunteers, and interns work for the good of these cats to provide them with quality care, food, and enrichment to provide them a happy life. I donate whenever I can and, if I lived closer, I would volunteer. The organization communicates to supporters and it is clear, via video, Facebook, etc. that the cats are in the best hands they could be in. You can rest assured that any donations that are made go directly to benefit and care for the animals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

educate the public about the captive wildlife crisis and advocate for no more wild pets. Volunteer