Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
93 Reviews
1234.946245
Write A Review
June 28, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
June 28, 2014

My husband and I have been donors to The Wildcat Sanctuary for many years now. We volunteer for another Wild cat sanctuary in another State where we live, so the best we can do to help such a wonderful organization and woman that we admire as Tammy is to give our support through donations. My husband uses his company matching program (X3) every year. We know how close Tammy is to all the cats and how much she cares for them. We love her news letter and website which brings us even closer to her and all the animals. We specially appreciate her handwritten personal thank you notes for our contributions.
We wish The Wildcat Sanctuary all the best and hope one day we can make it to help them as well.
Marie S

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a fan and a donor of The Wildcat Sanctuary for about 10 years now. This organization is the epitome of what a exotic cat sanctuary should be. The care and love the cats receive is next to none and I am particularly fond of their ever expanding enrichment program. They also help educate people that these animals belong in the wild and not in our homes. If we are to save wild cats, we need to save where they live and not breed for captivity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My first introduction to The Wildcat Sanctuary was in Isanti. I sponsored a big cat and along with that sponsorship came an exclusive tour of the sanctuary. On my ride up for the tour, I remember thinking, “I hope this is a reputable sanctuary and I won’t be disturbed by what I see.” I know that all “sanctuaries” are not what they claim to be. Sure the photos on the TWS website looked great, but websites may not be a true reflection of a place.

Upon arriving at TWS, I was thrilled to find out that Tammy Thies was giving the tour! The Executive Director and Founder of the sanctuary had made time in her day to spend with me! After that first visit to TWS I was moved by the mission of the organization, impressed by all they were doing for the cats and completely “wowed” by Tammy’s commitment and dedication. From that point on, TWS became a top favorite cause of mine.

Over the years, I have been a financial supporter of TWS as well as introduced others to TWS. Tammy possesses the expertise to lead the sanctuary into the future. She is respected nationally for her knowledge and skills, for which she is called upon frequently. Minnesota is very fortunate to be home to this sanctuary that not only provides the best home for life possible for formerly unwanted and abused big cats, but serves as a resource for the entire country. This has all been built and accomplished under the leadership of Tammy Thies.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 3, 2012

I learned about The Wildcat Sanctuary almost 10 years ago. I've watched this sanctuary grow from having less than 20 rescued wildcats to now well over 100. What has impressed me the most is that the... more

June 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been both a donor and a volunteer for TWS for many years. I’ve seen them go from a small organization in Isanti County years ago to the large, nationally recognized and accredited sanctuary they are today in Pine County, MN. Having been a Senior Keeper at one of the top sanctuaries in the country, I have had a lot of personal experience knowing what helps rescued wild cats thrive. For TWS, that has always been their #1 goal. Their cats enjoy huge natural, free-roaming habitats – something few sanctuaries have the luxury of providing. They receive excellent preventative veterinary care and no expense is spared when a cat is sick or in need. Habitat improvement, expansion, and new construction to provide even more for the cats is never-ending. When TWS went through a rapid growth cycle, there were management issues that could have been handled better. As with so many sanctuaries, it’s difficult to be an expert at caring for wild cats and be an expert business manager, too. But, new much-needed policies have been put in place to assure donors that sound business practice management is a priority. Many have watched the organization grow, watched the rescued cats thrive, watched the education and lobbying efforts pay off, and watched the social media fanbase top one million. For those, it’s been extremely rewarding to support this wonderful charity. For those who have just found TWS, I truly believe the best is yet to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything. I feel TWS is blessed to have an Executive Director/Founder like Tammy Thies who dedicates her life to the success and well-being of the cats there. Her expertise and caring is what drew me to the organization. She's been called on by regulatory bodies, wildlife commissions, various state and animal welfare organizations, as well as other sanctuaries as a consultant, lobbyist and speaker.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about The Wildcat Sanctuary almost 10 years ago. I've watched this sanctuary grow from having less than 20 rescued wildcats to now well over 100. What has impressed me the most is that they have stepped up to take in rescues when no one else would. They did so without fanfare, expecting nothing in return except the peaceful recovery of these abused, injured souls. Since they're not open to the public, since they are a true sanctuary of solitude, it's not as easy to raise the funds they need like other organizations and zoos. But they won't compromise the animals' need for peace, not to be disturbed by visitors. It means they work doubly hard to provide the wonderful habitats, the nourishing food and healthcare that their rescues need. The staff are all the most compassionate people I've ever met. They work through some of the harshest weather conditions, drive across the country and back, non-stop, to pick up rescues, come up with the most innovative and exciting forms of enrichment for their cats, take in some of the worst cases when no one else will, and do it all on a small, tight budget. Their dedication and drive to educate the public about the danger of having wild cats as pets is also impressive. I have been a donor to this organization for many years because I've personally seen a tiger that has been starved, nearly to death, now swimming, chuffing, running with reckless abandon, happy to be alive, all because of the keepers' love. The animals come first, no matter what, and that is what convinced me that this place is so special. I'm proud to be a supporter of such an amazing organization!

Photos

Videos

The Wildcat Sanctuary

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Winter is a tough time of year with the added expense of heating dens for all the wildcats. I know that the donations that help cover this mean the world to this organization.

April 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

http://www.ag.state.mn.us/PDF/PressReleases/AssuranceOfDiscontinua20140422.pdf

This organization is a great advocate for neglected, abused and abandoned wildcats, however, its reputation has been tarnished by this investigation. By removing the people responsible for this mess, then and
only then can this wonderful organization rebuild its reputation and become the sanctuary it used to be. New people, more structure and accountability, and full transparency are needed in order to regain the trust of its loyal donors and the general public.

The reason for the rating is that I will not donate to this organization until there is trust that the donations will not be used inappropriately, but The Wildcat Sanctuary has and will eventually have a great impact in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove the Board members for violating the rules of a non-profit organization and for allowing the inappropriate use of donated funds by the Executive Director. The Executive Director should also resign. The public's trust has been shattered.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
January 26, 2012

At time of first contact with TWS they still offered sponsor tours, and that was all it took to convince me the cats were "in good (great) hands". Since that time, the facility upgrades, enthusiasm of... more

November 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

A great group whose priority continues to be what's best for the "critters".

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

At time of first contact with TWS they still offered sponsor tours, and that was all it took to convince me the cats were "in good (great) hands". Since that time, the facility upgrades, enthusiasm of the staff, cat updates, and the many events/fundraisers continue to indicate to me that providing the best possible environment for the cats is their #1 priority. A REALLY GREAT group/organization that i am happy/proud to support!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Wildcat Sanctuary does so much for so many animals with the most effective use of resources I've seen in my decades of philanthropy. I will never forget hearing the lead keeper describe how Sabrina the tiger, who was found unconcious after her (private) owner passed away and arrived at the Sanctuary terrified of people, turned to her one day and "chuffed" a greeting. Just one of many miraculous rescues they have accomplished. Truly a privilege to be connected to them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first learned about TWS from the Best Friends magazine, after which I looked into the organization myself. Around the same time, I watched the documentary, "The Elephant in the Living Room," and I was so moved by plight of those captive wild animals and TWS' mission to not only find a better "home" for animals in similar conditions but to end the practice altogether that I immediately became a fan. I particularly like the fact that TWS is not open to the public, endeavoring instead to give those animals as close to a wild existence as they can get. They are no long gawked at or used as some sideshow exhibit to make money, but actually get the chance to be wild cats. I also checked TWS on Guidestar before donating, and it is a very transparent organization that puts donations to good use.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization truly deserves recognition for all that they do and for that which they have accomplished. Their philosophy and goals are mirrored in all that they do, not merely words. I am honored to help in whatever manner I can at this sanctuary, as the dedication of staff, interns & other volunteers is a reflection of true compassion for these animals, not as ownership, but genuine care for their needs and best interest. In addition to the hard work & endless demand of caring for these cats & others in need, the Director & staff make very effort to make opportunity to help educate the public on the problems caused by the exotic pet trade and their repercussions. This is an organization that I hope to be involved with as long as I am capable!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I hope to get to volunteer there the next time Scott Lope is helping you out and I will be bring my camera to get the most awesome photo for you and your super big hearted place for these beautiful animals!!!! Thank You!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

educate the public about the captive wildlife crisis and advocate for no more wild pets. Volunteer