Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
454 Reviews
1234.940535
Previous | 1 2 3...44 |
Write A Review
August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

Amazing place that does great work! They save animals that have been living a horrendous life in captivity and restore them to freedom.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

If you believe as I do that large exotic animals deserve to be treated with respect then this is the place for you. TWAS rescues abused "exotics" - lions, tigers, bears, wolves, panthers, leopards, etc. - from all over the world and brings them to their huge sanctuary in CO to live out their lives in freedom and wellbeing. Animals formerly "living" in concrete pits, chained in basements and fed on scraps (if being fed at all) are cared for and given the medical help, fresh air, proper food and open spaces they need to live and thrive. I would give this place a million dollars if I had it so they could continue their excellent work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This sanctuary is absolutely amazing. I am a Coloradoan, born and raised, but now live on the Big Island of Hawaii. I discovered this place 3 years ago on a trip to Colorado to visit family. I am so impressed with what is taking place there; giving a forever home to creatures who never asked to be abused, neglected, abandoned, confined, or tortured. The natural habitat they are now able to live in is really something to see, not to mention the excellent health the animals are in. Last year I "adopted" Kimba, one of the Bolivian circus tigers that arrived there several years ago. Every summer I make a trip to Colorado, and I make sure a visit to the Sanctuary is not missed. It is overwhelming to see wildlife in such a peaceful and protected place where they can live out the rest of their lives as they should. The guides are very knowledgeable, and it's heartwarming (and heartbreaking sometimes) to hear the stories of what lives these animals have led prior to their rescue, and then see them so happy in their new home. Kudos to Pat Craig and his unbelievable vision and fortitude to bring his dream to such a successful reality. If you are looking for one of the most worthwhile non-profits to make a donation (and hopefully ongoing donations), and if you love animals of any kind, this is the place for you. If you "like" them on Facebook, you get to see daily photos and stories that are so fun and joyful. Their quarterly newsletter is one of my favorite magazines and I read every one of the interesting and very well-written stories. This is one of the most professional non-profit organizations I have had the pleasure to be involved in the past forty years. I tell everyone about it and no one has ever been disappointed. Help pass the word!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not suggest a single thing!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

Great place for learning about these incredible creatures. My family loves to visut, especially my little boy. They give a, safe haven to animals that would normally be continually abused or killed due to their situation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

Many years ago, I remember receiving a letter from Pat Craig asking for help because the sanctuary was on the verge of closing it's doors due to insufficient funds, which meant that most animals would have to be euthanized since there was nowhere else for them to go. That day, I learned about the effects of the captive wildlife crisis so became a staunch supporter of TWAS and even became a regular volunteer for several years until my work took me to another state. During that time, it became clear to me how much Pat and his team truly care about the animals in their care. They do everything within their means to bring other animals that are in terrible conditions to a place where they can roam freely, always have plenty to eat and never endure any abuse. I greatly admire Pat's leadership, compassion and devotion towards his mission. When I received the letter from Pat years ago, I truly thought it was over. I can't express how delighted I am that not only did they not have to close their doors, but that they are growing and continuing to change the lives of animals throughout the U.S. and also internationally. I am extremely blessed to have been a part of the family for those years, and will continue to support them any way I can. It's truly a magical place.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
January 3, 2012

This is the most amazing place and the animals are so happy. You can see the transformation in animals from the time they come in from horrific situations to knowing they are no longer going to be ab... more

June 28, 2014

This place is the best place! The most amazing animals now have a good home, free of fear, abuse and starvation! It is very difficult to read the stories of where these animals came from, it brings you to tears. Knowing what they lived like prior to going to the sanctuary and now to see them roam free in a natural habitat is so very heart warming! They do what they want to do! This is truly about the animals and you can see they are very happy! No longer are these animals going to suffer from the human hand. It is so sad many humans feel these animals were put on this earth to entertain us, or to be our pets, or whatever other sick purpose. It is great to see that finally, these animals can live the rest of their lives in peace, and know that they are ok now.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 3, 2012

This is the most amazing place and the animals are so happy. You can see the transformation in animals from the time they come in from horrific situations to knowing they are no longer going to be abused. If you are an animal person you know when you see a happy animal, and these animals are very happy! The staff uses the volunteers wisely, we are on a rotation so all of us learn the inner workings of what it takes to take care of these wonderful animals. There is always something to do, and everything we do is purposeful, from helping prepare meals, feeding, cleaning, watering, talking to the public, doing upkeep, etc. It is amazing how much work it takes to take care of these animals and this is the most satifying experience I have ever had in my life! I go away happy, knowing I helped make a difference in the lives of these animals!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

I love seeing the pictures of all your beautiful cats and reading their story on the website and Facebook! It is nice to know that they have a safe place where they are being taken care of! I am a cat lover and volunteer at a local rescue center in Lee's Summit, Mo. Thank you for all that you are doing for these cats! They would not be alive without your efforts!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

We have been supporting The Wild Animal Sanctuary for many years and cannot say enough about the wonderful work they do. They have made amazing progress, and it's such a great place to visit. We visit several times a year, and it is always a thrill to see such happy and contented animals. Thank you to Pat Craig and his amazing staff. Every animal lover should visit here to see lions and tigers and bears and more from the elevated walkway.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I want to say thank you to Pat Craig and everyone that works there. As they took my cougar Chaz in. And he now has a girlfriend named Ginger. They are very special people there giving him the care and love. Thank You all for all the work you do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

Beautiful spot! Animals are my world and clearly this ngo as well. I have been 4 times now and it never gets old!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...44 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help build new habitat space for Lions, Tigers, Bears or other rescued animals... or assist the organization with its educational efforts. Volunteer