Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.416675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is truly a great organization. Shamina is such a talented individual. I've never felt as though someone actually understands me the way she understands me in order to give me legitimate advice. Her real insight and personal experience gives me the strength to carry on every day after having experienced an abusive relationship. I've tried therapy in the past for my family issues, but it was not effective at all. I began to think therapists just want the insurance money. The fact that Shamina provides her services for free indicates her love for truly helping others succeed in life relationships and it's so apparent during your sessions. She's amazing at what she does and is very accommodating. The hours are super convenient too. It's really hard to believe that something this great is free and so accessible. I wish I discovered the center sooner. I travel an hour just to see her and shes worth every mile, gallon of gas, and toll, and parking I have to pay to get there and so much more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd want to clone Shamina so I'd have her 24/7. She's one of the best people I've come across in my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I was never into talking to a stranger about my life until I discovered The Why Center. Having Shamina as my life coach has helped me in realizing what I need to work on. My perspective of counseling has changed dramatically. Shamina makes me feel like I'm talking to a friend who is giving me positive feedback about the neccessary changes I need to make in my life. Everyone needs to give Life Coaching a chance, it can change you too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The changes I will make is having more life coaches so I won't have to share Shamina.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

My experience at the WHY center is mainly indescribable, but i will say that Shamina Allen is a phenomenal person. I have met with her three times and in three sessions i have completely changed my train of thought. Shamina gave me hope and she gave me the best advice for me, and because of her I am putting years worth of business ideas into play and starting my business in only 2 months. Without a doubt with out the WHY center i will not be mentally and physically where I am today. Everyone needs to experience this center and personally Shamina as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only the fact that Shamina Allen needs some help, everyone cant be superwoman all the time.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Born and Raised in Jersey City, I care very much so about the well being and productivity of this city and of its residents. The city I see today is one that I often do not recognize as I ponder on my childhood memories of playing and walking down the streets in various neighborhoods. Many people talk about change, but few implement it. Shamina Allen, founder of the Why Center is an individual who put her money where her mouth is. I personally witnessed faith, strong will and heartfelt passion at work when Shamina's dream of proving a safe haven, a place of development and support for those ready, willing and able to make better life choices came into fruition. The Why Center is just that for me and for the residents of Jersey City. It is an organization that genuinely cares. I am honored and it is most definitely a privilege to offer any and all my skills to this organization. An organization that is dedicated and determined to make an impact in this great city that will never be erased!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The WHY Center is a breathe of fresh air! In a city where you constantly hear about crime and residents struggling to make ends meet, its refreshing to know that a place exist where people can receive helpful life coaching advice that will assist in them making healthy life and relationship choices. I walk pass the center every week and do plan on attending a support group meeting in the near future. My hat goes off to the people running The Why Center.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I pass this place everyday on my way to Hudson county Community College. They have done a good job fixing up the place and its nice to see an organization like this in the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I discovered the WHY Center one day when I was just walking through Journal Square. Two young girls were outside giving out flyers and promoting a bake sale. I took a second to stop and get information and was just moved by their passion. The WHY Center has a very family-like atmosphere and it's clear that they started this business out of the kindness of their hearts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have known the staff personally for a few years and I was always moved by their ambition and drive. Shamina is a passionate and committed person always seeking to lend a helping hand so when I learned she found a rental space for the Why Center I was very happy for her and willing to help in any way I could. From fixing the place up to donating office equipment I felt committed to seeing her vision. We worked together as a team and the organization always feels like home. I had the pleasure of attending the grand opening and it felt good to see a finished job well done for such a deserving organization. The Why Center is full of great people. If there is anything I can do in the future for this organization I wouldn't hesitate.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a passionate supporter and member of the Why Center since 2012. Over the year I have seen nothing but great progress with this organization; from the Grand opening of our new facilities to the growing numbers in our workshops. The Courage support groups have been life changing for me and the open communication and skills learned have greatly benefitted my marriage. The Why Center is a home away from home to me and I am grateful to be apart of such a wonderful organization fully committed to serving the community. Praying for our longevity and continued success!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been with The Why Center since May 10th. Since then I have had many productive life coaching sessions and have been pleased with the results. I am very grateful for all The Why Center has helped me accomplish in such a short time. I now have a good job (thanks to great resume writing assistance), a clear plan & view of where my life is headed, and a great support team behind me. I highly recommend The Why Center to anyone considering life coaching.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

You can help individuals seeking to have healthy relationships, and make healthy life and relationship choices. Volunteer