Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.909095
Write A Review
December 9, 2012

more

December 9, 2012

i applied to WLP as a freshman but was not chosen to be an intern. Although I was disappointed, the leadership of WLP (specifically Harin Contractor) made it a point to stay in touch with me about opportunities to further my political interests and has basically mentored me throughout my college career. If at any point I'm looking for a cool opportunity for myself or friends with similar interests, WLP does not hesitate to reach out about alternative options. Given that I have never gone through the program officially but have still benefitted so much from WLP, i can only imagine the treatment their interns must receive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

The WLP is a labor of love. I was once a participate of the original program. Once the founder of the original program passed away, there was no one to take up the task of bringing more South Asians into the political/policy realm. I along with a few alumni from the program took it upon ourselves to re-build and re-craft the WLP. The board is entirely volunteer run, but it provides us an outlet to mentor and prepare bright young people from our community for their future as leaders. The program is going into its 5th year an continues to grow with more interest from students, placements, and volunteers. We look forward to growing WLP in the years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

WLP does a wonderful of job of exposing college students to Capitol Hill and Washington, DC. WLP organizes trainings and introduces participants to top ranking public officials and their staff, who teach them about topics such as leadership and policy. The students they choose are hardworking and dedicated. Its been a pleasure to meet each class and watch them grow. I look forward to continuing to support the program in the coming years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

The WLP is an outstanding program. It consistently attracts some of the nation's brightest, most hard-working and committed young leaders. I have met with the WLP participants and was incredibly impressed. It is a testament to the quality of the WLP that they draw such high-quality folks and that they are able to provide them with impactful internships in DC. WLP will no doubt be responsible for creating some of tomorrow's most dynamic leaders.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The Washington Leadership Program provided my Congressional office with a great and qualified candidate in the summer of 2011. The WLP intern training and orientation went above and beyond many of the programs we have worked with. Our WLP intern started with a deeper understanding of the fast pace environment of Capitol Hill. Additionally, our intern communicated with my constituents, provided tours, helped manage the front office and staffed me at a couple Congressional events. Most importantly, the intern understood the crux and the value of networking - something that is a pillar for the WLP mission with their weekly meetings. This is definitely a top-tier DC internship programs. - Congressman Mike Honda

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

This program literally changed my life in so many ways that I wasn't able to appreciate fully while participating. i was in the 1997 class, during the summer between my 3rd and 4th year at UVA. The firsthand experience on the Hill was immeasurable, but the support and network that I built with my fellow peers and subsequent classes even outweighed those experiences. This is an incredible opportunity for high-performing students to explore working on the Hill more closely while also being able to connect with other Indian-Americans, all bright and brilliant in a program of true kinship. WLP members have gone on to become politically active in many arenas and the purpose of the program, which was to get more Indian Americans involved and immersed in American politics has far been surpassed. These people go on to do great things. AMAZING things. These are the future leaders of America and I am proud to have been in one of the alumni classes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

The WLP is a standout program which just keeps getting better and better. I've been involved with the WLP for a number of years - both as a volunteer and as an onlooker. The students that the WLP serves are of the highest caliber and I am continually impressed by the efforts the WLP makes to do what it does for the community it serves. As someone who has engaged in their programs and with their students, I have full faith that the WLP will - with greater resources - become even more notable in a town that's known for essential programs such as this one.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I served with the Washington Leadership Program in 2005 and have stayed involved since because my first hand experience showed me that this a program that offers high quality, high impact programming for South Asian Americans. The WLP is a unique organization in that it is focused on an area that no other organization does - offering a platform for a minority group like South Asian Americans to participate in politics and policymaking first-hand and build their leadership skills in order to strengthen the individual and community ability to make change happen. I was able to work directly in a Representative's office, network with high profile professionals from all ends of the political spectrum, strengthen my knowledge about policy issues, and meet like-minded peers who were driven and accomplished. The WLP is worth supporting and growing further as they build tomorrow's leaders.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

The Washington Leadership Program is amazing - the summer experience I had in Washington, DC was unforgettable. Taking advantage of the unique opportunities, policy discussions, speaking events, and close discussions with policymakers was very helpful for the rest of my college years and in guiding potential career paths. I would certainly recommend the WLP experience to all those interested in politics and public service - the memories and life experiences you take away will inspire you for a long time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I was a college intern with WLP and loved every minute of it. The program is making a great impact on the lives of many people in the South Asian community by empowering youth with the knowledge and contacts necessary to become politically active on a national level. The ethical and leadership training was very useful and shaped my career interests in public service. The program has a formidable alumni network and is run by a very caring and visionary group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers