Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I wish I had spent more time at the Walden School. I attended the Walden School for one year as a 17 year-old, and instantly wished I had discovered the program earlier. Walden offers an innovative, challenging curriculum, while also providing a unique, comfortable atmosphere for kids to be themselves. I made some of my very best friends in one summer - we're still quite close to this day. Although my work with Walden has since been limited, I have never forgotten my summer spent in New Hampshire, nor the inspiration to pursue creativity every day that I discovered there.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I have taught at The Walden School Young Musicians Program every summer since 2010. Additionally, I attended Walden's Teacher Training Institute in 2009 and the Creative Musicians Retreat in 2011. The Walden School has helped me find my artistic voice, discover new musical materials, and meet outstanding colleagues, mentors, and friends. Walden has given me composing, teaching, and professional development opportunities that have engendered further success in my career. I have a deep and personal love for both the people of the Walden community and its mission, philosophy, and pedagogical methods. Walden provides its students (and faculty and staff) with a top-notch educational and residential experience and I donate because I want Walden to be able to offer more financial aid so that students of all socioeconomic levels can experience this life-changing organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

The Walden School is an amazing place -- a place where creative people thrive, where musicians connect, where composers are encouraged and supported, where new music is made at every turn, where personal growth is a given, where community is built and lifelong friendships are formed. For students in the Young Musicians Program and adult students at the Creative Musicians Retreat, the rewards reaped from a season of creative music making are great indeed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

The five weeks I spent at the Walden School in 1974 stand out as one of the most important influences in my life. For the first time, I realized that there were people who were just as excited about creating and performing music as I was, and were willing to help each other to achieve our goals. I also appreciated the power of having friends whom I could rely on for sharing personal secrets and encouraging me to pursue my dreams. Besides being highly knowledgeable, the staff consisted of energetic teachers and mentors. One fellow was such a major factor in helping me to overcome my natural shyness that I continue to visit him even though he lives in Paris.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization completely changed the way that I look at life and deal with other people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would want to publicize the Walden School even more than they are already doing, so everyone would know about their accomplishments.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I was taking a Musicianship class with David Hogan each Saturday morning at the Peabody Institute in Baltimore; he was also the head of the Walden School at that time.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

The Walden School taught me how important it is to build a network of people who can trust each other and rely on each other through good times and bad. I have maintained that philosophy as I later created my own company and pursued my life's goals.

October 16, 2011

more

October 16, 2011

When I reflect on my greatest influences in life, The Walden School ranks at the top. There are few places that offer such an intensive education and, beyond this, transformative experience than Walden.

I was a student at Walden for 6 years, and in the nearly 20 years since my student
years, continue to view Walden as one of the outstanding experiences of life. I have never encountered an institution that combines such rigorous education with a supportive, inclusive environment. Walden teaches not only music theory and composition at an advanced level, but inspires a love for the field that, in so many other settings has been lost or tarnished.



More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 25, 2011

more

January 25, 2011

The Walden School is an American musical treasure. I attended this summer camp for young composers in the New Hampshire woods in the late 1980s. I showed up with no previous composition experience and wrote a piece in my first summer that won a California state composition competition and was a runner up in a national competition. Other summers produced more prize-winning competitions, but the best thing about Walden was the people and the experience. Friends I made there as an awkward teenager remain some of the best friends of my life. It's a wonderful family of diverse music lovers. I've been back to visit in recent years and it's gotten even better. I never became a serious musician, but I'd love to go back to another summer at Walden.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Great friendships for life. Wonderful music produced by its students that I've had the privilege of hearing performed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

January 25, 2011

more

January 25, 2011

i attended this music camp for six years and it was a profoundly transformative experience. i'm grateful every day for the hard work adn dedication of the teaachers and that i got to learn at a young age what it feels like to live in a world where art, creativity, innovation and experimentation are encouraged and nurtured.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

i am a professional musician and every day that i make music i draw on the skills i learned at Walden. i'm not a classical musician, and i think it was Walden that taught me that you can create a life in music outside of the accepted channels, an inherently creative life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more components that are non-classical.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist us with projects in our San Francisco office.