Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.524595
Write A Review
April 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 16, 2013

We (our NGO) was greatly helped by TVNI's website, Facebook page and group emails as well as direct emailing, in which we got backstopping on how best to address catchment protection, and deal with re... more

April 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It is with TVNI support that in Kenya we were able to set up an NGO (following good example of SLUF in Ethiopia) that promotes sustainable land use and yes: Vetiver System is very much part of that. Our Kenya network is now vibrant - even if I leave this country one day (I am not a national); we have an active network, and increasing capacity to train farmers, promote the technology in the development world keen on catchment protection (no small thing in Kenya where irrigation projects main problems include catchment degradation), and in the world of engineering.

TVNI has character and charm, it is a real informal network, but it really works worldwide !!! !!! !!!
So when I have to fix this steep slope in Kilifi (on the coast) I just call this TVNI friend in South Africa and since he's following every step on the way, and adding advice. Where to use a drill, where to use a hammer, what fertliizer, what to mix in the hydromulch. It demonstrates that the technology promoted by TVNI is truly open-source and accessible.

We also have some measure of solidarity between members.
Does Alain from DRC not get paid by the road project in Uganda? Half a dozen of TVNI people get mobilized to put pressure (some of it from Kenya).
Does Rose from Siaya again not reliable supply as agreed? She'll be blacklisted. Because only good, reliable suppliers should remain (so buyers - many are farmers - should not be duped).
Is one of our members forcefully evicted (tribal)? Several of us contribute to get him relocated.


TRUST is at the core of TVNI values, and that is where it should remain. To guard our quality.
And this TRUST and SOLIDARITY belongs, make no mistake, in an NGO that promotes something really technical. To slow down water speed, keep soil in place, to guard the basis of many farmers' existence.
In that sense, it is life-changing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow it to operate 48 hours/day, 14 days/week, 24 months/year, to do even more !

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2013

We (our NGO) was greatly helped by TVNI's website, Facebook page and group emails as well as direct emailing, in which we got backstopping on how best to address catchment protection, and deal with rehabilitation of gullies. The technology promoted by TVNI (Vetiver System) is durable, low-cost and very effective; the local communities (farmers) that we work with are happy with the result (even if it takes a bit of training and follow-up to get it right).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more funding to promote itself!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 17, 2013

It is amazing how over so many years TVNI maintains its network status, with increasing numbers of people active in it, and TVNI sustains a combination of youth enthusiasm and (many) years of experience.
It has been my passion for over 15 years now, to do things for Vetiver and that
means:
- networking through email, phone, facebook, websites
- occasional field visits to see a problem and advise
- technical backstopping: and that's the fun, making your hands (and boots, clothes, not to mention the car...) really dirty, but the outcome is always that another community of enthusiasts is forever linked to you.
Most recently a community of Maasai where the quarrel was: 'Vetiver is for handicraft' (women) against: 'Vetiver is for fixing roads and drains' (male leadership) and that was a result of two different presentations. Of course we start where we always start: nurseries, learning to establish a decent, CLOSED hedge, checking survival rates.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Incrase its funding to send people to international conferences so that this technology also appears in more formal networks of science, engineering, etc.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

TVNI has for more than 15 years taken a lot of my time and enthusiasm, it is really great the way we are end-user oriented and share and give feedback across the world, at such low-cost. The network has a very pleasant amount of professionals, all ready to help out and do their own things on the ground.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

From the TVNI website we learnt about the vetiver grass and it's benefits and with support from PLUS-Kenya our Kenyan organization managed to train 12 farmers in Kenya on the same and now we are looking forward to training more farmers on the same, help them establish vetiver grass systems in their farms and realize the full benefits of the same .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2012

more

April 13, 2012





The Vetiver Grass Network

We fully support the Vetiver Grass Network as one of the best Non Profit Organizations.

Promoting the use of Vetiver grass for waste water treatment and soil stabilization has greatly reduced the cost of construction of these systems,
and made them more affordable in the developing world, thereby improving the lives of many, many people.


T.J. Andrews - Managing Director: PLANNING Systems Services, P. O. Box 188 - 00606, Nairobi, Kenya

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers