Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.524595
Write A Review
August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

TVNI was established by a group of volunteered people who want the world to be better by using this unique vetiver grass. Because of TVNI, we have learned that vetiver not only prevent soil loss for farmers but could absorb toxic chemicals in soil and water that are harmful to lives. The grass also help reduce the effect of climate change by absorbing tons of carbon dioxide. Those are just a few benefit we get from vetiver. His Majesty the King of Thailand has realized the benefits through TVNI therefore gave initiatives on using vetiver all over Thailand. With TVNI easily reached on the web, we can access lots of information about how to use vetiver to serve our purpose. From my point of view, the world should admire this volunteer group who work together to save the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them some funding so that they can spread information more widely especially to the places so remote that information can't reach them easily.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

TVNI is very informative website. Previously I was Interested in vetiver due to its amazing features and wide range of application in many fields of environmental problems around the world. Its a miracle plant. As i started doing my research using vetiver i was more and more fascinated and wanted to developing my career further in more research and studies about vetiver. The plant is multifunctional and suits over a wide range of environmental condition and also beneficial in every aspects of its features and service it provides to human kind and nature. TVNI and Vetiver Network groups have really contributed alot to spread its application and conducting new and more interesting researches and sharing the ideas through out the world.

By heart i wish TVNI and Vetiver Network to be the best non profit groups

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would focus more and more on research and application of Vetiver to the places of the world where its importance is still unknown.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am involved in the World Association of Soil and Water Conservation and we utilize this grass to help conserve soil and water and many other things.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be happy to involve in it and help in whatever needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

Nepal Vetiver Network is going to work from 2011 to till and the vetiver plant is so much best for protection of land slide, waste water treatment,river bank protection.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

For Green Environment Moment

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

Am a Kenyan who got introduced to the TVNI in 2007 by Elise Pinners ( Thanks Elise). I got the interest and started to research on how my country can benefit from the information the network freely provides about Vetiver system. It has been very beneficial because out of that knowledge, i have been able to work on projects that have paid me. I am now a trainer in the vetiver applications and this has brought me income. The network had donated to me the first 2000 slips to start my own nursery in Kitale, Kenya which will soon generate more income for me and my family. Because of Vetiver, i have a roof on my head for me and and my girls! With the nursery i will be able to take my girls to college! Am still being trained in the most complex applications like Roads, railways etc. I will get there with time. I have done nurseries in Lodwar, Bududa Uganda, i have trained farmers in Naivasha and Narok. I have done gully plugging in Kerio Valley. I am looking forward to doing more work until every farmer hears about the wonders of Vetiver Grass!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

The Vetiver Network International has been extremely supportive of my efforts to control erosion, as it has for countless folks, worldwide. Check out: http://www.vetiver.org/ Jack

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2012

more

April 8, 2012

I had the first oppurtunity to attend the international workshop on vetiver at Ernakulam, India in 2007 and learnt the work done by various associates of this group in different countries in protecting the environment from degradation due to floods, rain,discharge of hazards chemicals on land and rivers.The group has used the miracle plant VETIVER WITH COST EFFECTIVE ENVIRONMENT FRIENDLY TECHNOLOGY (Which is very rare) to solve problems of soil erosion and degradation.I would appreciate the work done in Thailand as specific example.I wish the organisation to grow in leaps and bounds all over world in solving the problems of climate change.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Understanding the use of VETIVER for solution to land(soil) slope stabilisation problems

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want decentralised working in India with farm nursery,where the plants can be grown and make it availiable to people at reasonable cost.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I think the group is doing very well,no specific suggestion required

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes,am non-agriculture graduate,but still i could contribute to the society and play my role in mitigating the adverse effect of Global warming.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Very great feeling of pleasure ,while I see the people happy about the job done in

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

I live and breathe vetiver everyday where I live and work in Ghana. It is an ideal environment for vetiver and its use solves a myriad of problems. I currently have projects ranging from protecting a beach resort from coastal erosion, to protecting small village dams to insure that they have water during the dry season, to introducing it to a large gold mining company about to open a 4000 acre mine in S. Ghana that needs to buffer itself from surrounding towns and the watershed as it produces highly toxic byproducts as it mines gold, to introducing vetiver production for renewable fiber production used to weave baskets in N. Ghana, to trimming my plantings in my own garden where they set off a whole host of tropical shrubs and flowers. I learned vetiver technology from the founders of the Vetiver Network International and since the mid 90s it has transformed my life and my ability to provide solutions where none existed before. It is humbling to have this knowledge and see all the misery that poverty and underdevelopment causes where I live and work. Anyone can use vetiver, understand it, touch it, feel it and watch it work all by itself. Due to its multitude of uses to numerous to list here, it can fit into any landscape, into any economy, into any situation where the land is negatively affected either by erosion, pollution, or neglect. In Ghana, hundreds of millions of dollars are being thrown at problems with poor results and little or nothing to show at the end of the day. Vetiver use and its positive impact is the exception to the rule. It can be used incorrectly and thus fail, but it is difficult to mess it up as the rules are so simple. Use the right material, plant it correctly, get it started over a short period of a few months and then let it does its thing over the next 6-10 decades. When you can stop all soil erosion, when you can prevent roads and buildings from falling apart, when you can clean polluted water, when you can transform degraded land into productive sites, when you can give hope where that commodity is always in short supply, then you have a winner. Vetiver technology does not ask much of the user but gives back to the user so much that you have to see it to believe it. I have personally promoted vetiver throughout the world and concentrated on work on the African continent is some very difficult places such as DR Congo. Whether it is in DR Congo or in Morocco or Ghana or Kenya or Burkina Faso or Senegal or S. Africa, it still does the same thing bringing green solutions to problems that have outwitted humans for centuries. It is such a good feeling to be a part of sustainable solutions for so many who desperately need be healthier and wealthier. Improving the land is always a starting point and there is no limit to what you can accomplish.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This organization has demonstrated it ability to do its work without the need for financial support. Basically they are able to mobilize its work through use of volunteers like me. This allows the central NGO to concentrate on dissemination of information, provide technical advice through its extensive network of experts and generate tangible results that are portrayed via its website. As a repository of world wide information and documentation, it also has information is a multitude of languages.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any changes. It is an exception to the rule for NGOs who constantly are raising funds and are dependent on these funds to implement activities. The real key innovation is the ability to operate without funds yet obtain results. There are few groups like this one in the world that are capable of changing the livelihoods of so many people with so little in the way of financial resources. It is the knowledge that counts as it conveys solutions that are feasible, inexpensive, and sustainable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

There aren't any.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It gives me the sense of accomplishing something that has real impact that is lasting and provides me a justification for assisting those who otherwise continue to suffer.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great. There is nothing like it. It has transformed my life forever.

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

Dear Madam / Sir:
Concerning you “Green Awards” in GREAT Nonprofits, I like to inform you about our volunteer work with Vetiver System in Bolivia and Peru. In both Andean countries environmental problems, enforced my climatically changes, like land-slides, soil erosion, high sedimentation in
dams and destruction of rural infrastructures, like dams, roads, etc.. are great problems. In Peru we was starting a National Vetiver network years ago with as present 20 members for the extension of the Vetiver technologies in soil and water conservation, etc.. More information about our activities you find in our web-site www.vetiverperu.org -.
Bolivia is one of the few countries in Latin America, where the Vetiver conservation technologies are still on a starting point. To promote the Vetiver technologies here we were starting in 2012 a new still small Bolivian Vetiver network – www.vetiverbolvia.org -.
Both national networks are active members of the Latin American Vetiver network – http://vetiverlatina.blogspot.com/ - and the International Vetiver Network – www.vetiver.org -.
Sincerely yours,
Joaquin Boehnert
Associated director of the Latin American Vetiver network as a volunteer, based in Peru and working at present in Bolivia in the field of integrated watershed – management.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Rural areas in Bolivia and Peru, particularly in the protecion of natural resources and infrastructures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.. focuse more on schools and youth groups.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

A second Vetiver conference in Latin America in the near future, for example in Colombia, etc..

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

A great experience for me was our first Latin American Vetiver conference in Santiago de Chile in 2010. I have med many friends in person for the first timo from Mexico to Chile, etc.. with which I had only contacts via e-mails before.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great and motivated to continue with our volunteer work!

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

I have worked as a volunteer for the vetiver network since the begining of its foundation and I am myself surprised of all the achievements it has acomplished. With many partners and organizations as well as individuals from such different positions "the message" of using vetiver has reached the users from first hand and has been always updated and well supported with documents, technical meetings and uncountable testimonies from users. All this information available on a free base in the TVNI web page. Vetiver system is nowadays a well recognized technology for erosion control, environmental protection and community development. A win-win solution for many environmental problems.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers