Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.584915
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

In 1993 I was trying to find some way to protect the banks of the dam and reservoir in a large hydro project in South America. I came across the Vetiver System and was immediately impressed and have actively promoted it since then.
After retiring ten years ago I became a volunteer advisor for
TVNI, operating primarily in Latin America and the Caribbean. I am constantly amazed about the seemingly endless applications and benefits and how Vetiver is truly the Hedge Against Climate Change that the world urgently needs.
April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

It is one of the only international network platforms where a simple natural system has changed people's lives. The information and support is amazing and the members WANT to support and develop the information base to use Vetiver. As an engineer it makes me happy to be part of something that changes lives. Rudi Scheepers, Cape Town, South Africa.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I am involved in the World Association of Soil and Water Conservation and we utilize this grass to help conserve soil and water and many other things.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be happy to involve in it and help in whatever needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

In 2007 my wife brought a wall street article to my attention addressing how a plant called Vetiver, (Chrysopogon zizanioides), could be a very useful tool for erosion control on the levies that protect New Orleans, La. In the article it also pointed out how an LSU entomologist had been doing research on the roots of this plant to help control insects, specifically termites. I was immediately "hooked" at this point on the idea of growing Vetiver down on our farm in Texas for experimentation purposes, specifically erosion control, termite control, and strategically placing hedges for tidal surges from hurricanes. The plant is drought resistant, livestock will eat it, and it has a protein content comparable to brome hay. You may burn it to the ground and it will grow back due to the crown,(heart), of the plant is 8-10 inches below ground.

Every time I go down we take " brood plants" divided them and plant more. Currently I have around 12,000 plants growing. Currently Vetiver is a hobby for me but some day my plan is to be a supplier of Vetiver to others!

Through the Vetiver Network International, I have received so much information and education on how important this plant is and can be to the world. The online group discussions of this organization is like an encyclopedia of knowledge and research concerning Vetiver from research scientist, growers,and educators from all over the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

place many of the" Vetiver Guru's" in political offices around the world so that they would be able to educate and promote Vetiver showing what significant attributes this plant has to offer the world in which we live!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more

April 15, 2014

I came across the Vetiver Network while doing research for a Water Management class in college. I was so inspired by the work that I saw happening around the world, I decided to start my own vetiver project. In 2012, my partner and I started a vetiver nursery on the island of Dominica in the Eastern Caribbean. As the only nursery of its kind on the island, we hope to supply quality plants for use in agriculture, bio-engineering, education, and more.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 3, 2012

In 1989 we aquired a 30-acre farm in the tropical mountains of Puerto Rico. Rain-driven erosion was an immediate concern until we found The Vetiver Network International (TVNI) and its abundant educat... more

April 14, 2014

I have been involved with propagating, planting, and educating about vetiver for over 20 years. Our family farm, Agriflora Tropicals, in Puerto Rico has been a source of quality plants to local and USA projects both on site and online. Publishing the Vetiver Solutions and the Vetiver Puerto Rico blogs has been a very rewarding experience allowing me to share knowledge with people around the world.

Everyone in The Vetiver Network International is a volunteer and, as an Associate Director, I have been trusted to admin the Caribbean and Latin American discussion groups and the TVNI Facebook group. TVNI and its volunteer members and now spreading vetiver knowledge around the world in many different languages. One of the best organized among environmentally consciousness groups.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In 1989 we aquired a 30-acre farm in the tropical mountains of Puerto Rico. Rain-driven erosion was an immediate concern until we found The Vetiver Network International (TVNI) and its abundant educational material about this amazing plant. Many years and many rains later, vetiver still defends our farm and we have become professional growers and consultants for this technology. TVNI has always provided the educational and teaching tools and the human network to help us make a valuable environmental contribution while providing our small family farm with an additional source of income.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Our farm has never experienced damage to its roads protected by the vetiver. Any other protection method would have been more costly and probably less durable.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Through our Department of Agriculture

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Making knowledge available within a broad network of members and the general public.

April 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As an International Sustainable Development consultant and Vetiver practitioner I regularly use the resources TVNI provides on their website. TVNI's team of dedicated professionals, available at TVNI's website and their Facebook page, helps co-facilitate many of the vetiver projects I undertake throughout Asia. It's hard to underestimate their contribution and positive impact on my work.
October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

¿Conoce Ud. algún ser viviente, (vegetal o animal) que sea capaz de interactuactar en favor de la naturaleza y del hombre de tantas maneras?
El Vetiver (Chrysopogon zizanioides) controla la erosión (el cáncer de los suelos agrícolas), filtra sedimentos, estabiliza taludes, recupera suelos y
aguas contamidas por hidrocarburos, o por elementos químicos toxicos en alta concentraciones (N2, P), por metales pesados (Cd, Zn, Hg, Ni, Al; etc) y/o por agroquimímicos. Captura importantes cantidades de gases de invernadero. Infiltra agua en el subsuelo (nutre acuíferos). Aumenta los rendimientos de los cultivos y los proteje de plagas. Fabricación de biocombustibles. Fuente de celulosa para elaborar papel. Suministra follaje para usos diversos ( mulch, elaboración de artesanias, techos de viviendas rurales o recreacionales). De sus raíces se extrae aceite esencial para uso en aromaterapia y cosmética. Posee además un sin fin de otras propiedades que enumerarlas extendería este comentario.
Detrás de esa planta hay una organización que preside una Princesa (Tailandia) y varios científicos de primer nivel, además de filántropos. De allí que la TVNI, sea una red de información global que divulga en muchos idiomas las bondades de esta planta, los estudios que se realizan en torno a ella, y las aplicaciones que se hacen en muchos países del mundo.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No realizaría ningún cambio.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

October 16, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 17, 2013

It is amazing how over so many years TVNI maintains its network status, with increasing numbers of people active in it, and TVNI sustains a combination of youth enthusiasm and (many) years of experien... more

October 16, 2013

We (our NGO) was greatly helped by TVNI's website, Facebook page and group emails as well as direct emailing, in which we got backstopping on how best to address catchment protection, and deal with rehabilitation of gullies. The technology promoted by TVNI (Vetiver System) is durable, low-cost and very effective; the local communities (farmers) that we work with are happy with the result (even if it takes a bit of training and follow-up to get it right).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more funding to promote itself!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 17, 2013

It is amazing how over so many years TVNI maintains its network status, with increasing numbers of people active in it, and TVNI sustains a combination of youth enthusiasm and (many) years of experience.
It has been my passion for over 15 years now, to do things for Vetiver and that
means:
- networking through email, phone, facebook, websites
- occasional field visits to see a problem and advise
- technical backstopping: and that's the fun, making your hands (and boots, clothes, not to mention the car...) really dirty, but the outcome is always that another community of enthusiasts is forever linked to you.
Most recently a community of Maasai where the quarrel was: 'Vetiver is for handicraft' (women) against: 'Vetiver is for fixing roads and drains' (male leadership) and that was a result of two different presentations. Of course we start where we always start: nurseries, learning to establish a decent, CLOSED hedge, checking survival rates.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Incrase its funding to send people to international conferences so that this technology also appears in more formal networks of science, engineering, etc.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

TVNI has for more than 15 years taken a lot of my time and enthusiasm, it is really great the way we are end-user oriented and share and give feedback across the world, at such low-cost. The network has a very pleasant amount of professionals, all ready to help out and do their own things on the ground.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2013

more

August 5, 2013

Nepal Vetiver Network is going to work from 2011 to till and the vetiver plant is so much best for protection of land slide, waste water treatment,river bank protection.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

For Green Environment Moment

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers