Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
123.3409145
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I've been lucky enough to be given a job by VSO. I was on the brink of losing my house because no one wanted a Vet with PTSD working for them. But after sitting down with the Founder of VSO, I explained that I was a disabled veteran who had mental and physical injuries that kept me from normal employment. He and his staff welcomed me with open arms and gave me the opportunity to provide for my wife and child. I have seen how hard uneducated individuals try to bash the name of VSO through opinions.

"well I looked you up on the interned and saw an article stating you were a fraud."
Ha, well congratulations on looking at an outdated article and having a journalist make up your mind. I promise you, If you research VSO that you will find bad press. But look at the dates, and ask some damn questions. I cannot find a current article bashing VSO, the closest is from over a year ago (and the problems pointed out have been fixed and SOPs have been put in place to make sure they never happen again.)

Ask yourself this: If the Veterans Support Organization was a fraudulent non-profit, then how would we be in business for over 10 years, why would over 50 VAs rave about how we help their local veterans though donations, why would the IRS (as of a 2012 Audit) say that we passed with flying colors and should keep on doing what we are doing, how were we able to give over 400 veterans jobs in 2012, how are we able to house nearly 150 HOMELESS VETERANS.?

Too many people are not taking the time to ask the right questions,. We give 70% of the money we raise to our IN HOUSE PROGRAMS. we house veterans, we give them jobs as a stepping stone for better opportunities, we hove item/gift card donations to the VA and even have a grant program for vets in need. I have seen first hand how VSO helps veterans. I would have lost my home marriage and possibly my life if not given the opportunity to better myself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help educate the public on the needs for veterans.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a MC Vietnam Veteran and former police officer. I have worked for VSO and found the management to be suspect and shady. Most of these managers seem to be unorganized and disrespectful to the very veterans they have entrusted to collect donations and promote this charity. Noone in the management or collectors have been given any insight on what this organization is about other than it just helps. These homeless vets are clueless and meant to stay that way, just happy to have shelter. No support for any upward mobility is given, working 12 hrs a day and even violating Wage and Hour laws. Forced work for simple shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Upgrade management and produce plausible standards of accountability to the veterans they serve and those they help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I work For VSO and I'm in a quandary. I have asked for proof that we are actually helping Homeless Vets. Our Work Program is supposed to be entirely Homeless Vets, It ain't. But a good thing is the civilians don't last long but The Regional Manager( A Liar In His own right) is not going to the places that homeless vet hang to find workers. I believe he's too lazy. I've Said many times where he should look,now he's telling me I have a bad attitude, sends me to lousy locations And gives me grief. Folks, We (the collectors are not the bad guys, it's Ed Harris And Richard Van Houten.) So much more could be done, but they won't do it. There are far worse charities than us(Salvation Army, United Way) But we are chapters serving a region, that cuts down on overhead. The VA approves of us but that's like Satan Approving Hitler. The VA doesn't care about Vets, just keeping their jobs.And I'm afraid VSO feels the same

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

VSO has been helping AVET Project military families in need for a few years now. When we have been in a bind, VSO has been there to help when no other veteran organizations could or would. Every request for support has been answered with a Big YES. Please show your support for VSO and Together we can help more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 9, 2012

more

January 9, 2012

The veterans support organization from my opinion is a great group. my father and I where living in his storage until my dad contacted this organization. the following monday we where in a hotel and two weeks later we had an apartment. i think if this what instantly helps vets get on there feet then im all for it
July 23, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Veterans Service Organization or VSO, Give me a break...their manager is a CONVICTED CON ARTIST! Look here! DO NOT give them money. It goes into the pockets of the people collecting it and their leader made over 200 thousand last year!!!!!!!!

http://www.myfoxny.com/dpp/news/shame/veterans-support-organization-20110203

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have NOT experienced them because I don't trust them! All the guy did was ask me to give him money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them all arrested!

July 5, 2010

more

July 5, 2010

My stepdad asked me to help out a charity. I saw these guys working at a store and they explained what they do. I asked if I could help out. On the big day I got to hand out over 100 new jackets to some really sad homeless veterans. The look on their faces was something I will never forget. Some of the guys cried and I felt good. I am going to try and help out more if they let me.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Give away lots of stuff to sad homeless veterans.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers