Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

The Terry Farrell Fund is a non-profit organization which gives back so much to the Fire Service and the members who serve in Fire Departments, whether be it paid or volunteer. This fund was established after the tragic events of the 9/11 attacks, and it serves to help keep the legacy of a brave firefighter alive in doing what he loved to do. Terry was a member of FDNY Rescue 4 as well as an Asst. Chief of the Dix Hills Fire Dept. He was also an Ex-Chief of the Hicksville Fire Dept. The fund has done wonderful things across this nation and has several chapters in different states which help out local firefighters by collecting equipment and distributing to those in need. The members also participate in many local charities and provide scholarships to children of firefighters.
They also participate in the annual United States Marine Corps “Toys for Tots” toy drive program. Having known Terry and served under him as a member of the Hicksville Fire Dept, this is the type of person he was, a giving person. As I tried to explain to my then 7 year old daughter, right after Sept 11, “out of something bad, comes something good”.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

The Terry Farrell Fund is an outstanding fund. Assisting the extended family of firefighters and departments throughout the country is their main goal. This is accomplished thru scholarships and the donation of equipment to fire departments throughout the country that need assistance. Most amazing is that this is accomplished with less than 5% of the funds raised going to operating expenses. That in itself speaks for the organization. Anyone that has the opportunity to help such a great fund should consider the Terry Farrell Fund.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

This group started for a firefighter that perished during the 9-11 terrorist assault on the World Trade Centers. They don't ask for money, but will accept donations. Their function is to assist all firefighters, fire departments, and EMS in need of equipment, supplies and gear. They accept donations from departments, corporations, etc that have excess gear, equipment, etc and turn the donations around (clean, rehab, rebuild) and give them to organizations in need. It is run entirely by volunteers. The group tries to fulfill every request they get. It has given out scholarships, vehicles, gear, hose, turnouts, etc to help all firefighters do their job to keep the public safe. This organization fills a void no one else has tried to fill.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

The Terry Farrell Fund is a great help to all firefighters and ems personal. They are always there to help anyone in need. They give out scholarships to help students with paying for school. They also have a surplus program that helps fire departments in need of gear and equipment. I have seen them donate gear, equipment, and vehicles to needy fire departments and they are always willing to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We are all familiar with 9/11. And we all know that there are numerous charities that sprung from the ashes of the WTC. But what you do not know is that this one, The Terry Farrell Firefighters Fund is the best of all. It has no paid staff, and virtually all of the overhead costs are donated by volunteers. This is a TRUE charitable organization. The money donated goes to help current firefighters and their families in time of need. They cover the gambit from educational assistance to healthcare. THEY ARE THE BEST!! I do not recommend many charities but this is one I can without hesitation. Thank You.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

In September 2011 I first meet Tim Lohan of the Terry Farrell Fund Pennsylvania Chapter at the PA State Fireman's Convention. After myself and Andrew Carlin talked to Tim for several minutes we began to realize that the apparatus we had been trying to sell for several years would fit perfectly into the Terry Farrell Funds program. Within two weeks we got a response from Tim for a company in need of a apparatus in Montevello, Alabama. In January 2012 we had a dedication ceremony to present the members of the Dry Valley Fire Dept with our 1990 Ford E-One Rescue Pumper. Myself and Andrew made the 20 hour drive down to Alabama to see our donated apparatus reach it's new home. During this trip we had the honor of escorting the piece of steel that was removed from Terry Farrell's body in the South Tower Lobby. When we arrived in Montevello we received a welcome like no other. We were a part of the ceremony to bring the piece of steel to Alabama. We meet Spruce McRee of the Alabama Chapter. This trip alone was a life changing experience for me. Not only to be involved with a something so symbolic to Terry Farrell and the South Tower steel, But to see the gratitude of the Dry Valley Fire Dept and knowing that we have changed their lives as much as they have changed ours. And to top off our experience our fire company was presented with a piece of steel from the North Tower by Brain Farrell. I am truly humbled and honored to have meet you and helped your organization. - Michael Maxwell, Captain, Washington Fire Co., Conshohocken, Pa

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers