Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.75
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Best volunteering experiences with the Tech Museum. The staff is extremely friendly, knowledgeable, engaging, accommodating and helpful!! They appreciates our time and effort, and made me feel like I am contributing!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Tech Museum is an outstanding place that will appeal to the whole family. And it's a great place to be a volunteer at!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering at the Tech Museum has been one of the best volunteer experiences I've ever had. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly, the facility itself is gorgeous and well-maintained, and the educational content is presented in a very entertaining and engrossing manner. Being able to contribute to the museum is an extremely gratifying feeling and I would highly recommend anyone come here for a good time!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put a new soft-serve machine at the snack bar. Because ice cream only makes things better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I began volunteering at the Tech Museum because I love to volunteer. I've never been to the Tech before this, so I was also excited to see something new. Volunteering here has been one of the greatest decisions I've made. The staff is friendly, the hours are accommodating, and I get the chance to meet new people every time! Being new to the area, I didn't know anyone in San Jose. Now that I volunteer at the Tech Museum, I've made friendships that will last a life time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing because this place is great!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recently visited science and technology museums in Hong-Kong and Montreal, and less recently in Paris and Seattle; I think that the Tech stands among the bests.

The science is top notch but always practical and engaging, and the Tech Museum provides to its volunteer plenty of
opportunities and resources to learn the material in depth.

Schools are an important source of visitors. The Tech Museum enables local school groups to experience science on the bench and it is an important educational resource for the region.

Lastly, every week I meet volunteers who are awesome for their people skills and dedication to explain, demonstrate and foster enthusiasm in young visitors for scientific exploration.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

From the very first day I started volunteering at The Tech, I noticed that everyone who worked there was extremely appreciative towards the volunteers. Obviously, the priority of being demonstrably positive towards the volunteers was clearly a "policy" deliberately endorsed by the organization's leadership. I knew immediately that this volunteer program was a top notch system and part of a well run institution.

I have since gone on to learn about the future of the museum endorsed by the President Tim Ritchie. His vision of a "new type" of museum that will be seen as a resource for the community is inspiring. The newer, even more "interactive" exhibits are both engaging and educational, and they are also really fun! These types of programs lead to a truly "different" type of museum experience for the guests. I am confident that The Tech Museum will become a model for future learning museums.

When you can teach someone something at the same time you are making the HAVE FUN, it guarantees a valuable experience. Can there be a better way to "INSPIRE INNOVATION"?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Revise and improve the "Encounters" exhibits because the human interaction (with volunteers and gallery staff) is THE factor that makes the visitor experience special and memorable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Tech Museum is the quintessential epitome of what Silicon Valley stands for. Located in the heart of San Jose, California, The Tech Museum offers people young and old an opportunity to explore their creativity, learn the amazing science behind our technology, and have a chance to interact with the 5-star volunteers that put their heart and soul into helping others learn.

In a recent report, it has been analysed that the United States is a country that has a population of people with under-average scores in the math and sciences. The Tech Museum combats complacency of education by fostering intelligence, growth, opportunity and inspiration.

The Tech Museum is a gem in the Silicon Valley and I hope that it only grows in it's ability to inspire others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have The Tech Museum expand it's reach to more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Tech museum really does what it has set out to do, i.e foster innovation among children, with their state of the art, innovative exhibits. It is a pleasure to volunteer there, talking to children about science, and seeing their faces light up when they make something new at the maker space at The Tech. The Tech covers a vast number of topics in science and technology, and makes all of it fun for children. I love to volunteer there, and always recommend visitors to spend a day there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Tech Museum in San Jose, California is a cutting edge facility with hands on displays for both the young and old. Its labs for children are creative and introduce exciting physical, biological and geology concepts to children and invite the learner to inquire into the mysteries of nature. The special displays such as Body Works, Star Wars (to open Saturday October 19th, 2013) is sure to bring a broad cross section of the population into its door. The I Max theatre not only shows nature films but also first run cinema such as Superman and others throughout the year. The thought provoking special displays and simulations (Earthquake Simulations, Social Robots and a Jet Pack used by NASA) that young and old can actually ride as a hover craft excites the imagination of a space-walk. Its excellent boutique of science oriented games and gadgets is second to none and its small cafe serves some really good food at reasonable prices. Located in the heart of downtown San Jose (the Capital of Siicon Valley) within walking distance of hotels and restaurants, provides easy access for the visiting public. It is also a short walk to the Children's Discovery Museum and close by light rail access to many of Silicon Valley's cities: Mountain View, Campbell and other tech centered towns.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing other than continue with unique and interesting displays that mirror what Silicon Valley means to the region and the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

1. Great team , especially Karen(volunteer co ordinator) and Bob. 2. Nice opportunity to interact with people from all over the world and all ages. 3. Nice stations like google earth and earthquake. 4. Fellow volunteers are friendly and helpful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers