Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

No doubt about it, NFFTY is playing a critical role in fostering the careers of young filmmakers around the globe. The quality of the films submitted for consideration is truly inspiring and somehow get better every year. For those whose work is screened at the festival, the event is life changing - you can see it in their faces. I am excited for the future of the industry knowing that this type of talent and energy is coming down the pipes.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

NFFTY is so inspiring to me because the organization was founded by young people for young people and has made such a difference in so many people's lives. It has given shy teenagers from all over the world a voice and a way to learn so many practical skills. To make a film you need to learn so much about people, project management, budgets, persuasion, disappointment and re-commitment - all the skills you need to grow into a productive life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Review the sponsorship program to be sure there is a clear path to retaining and graduating sponsors to higher levels of commitment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I've always believed it is important to encourage youth in making art and film is one of the most powerful mediums of our time, which is why I've attended the NFFTY film festival for five years and have been board president for 3 years. There is an amazing group of volunteers, staff and young filmmakers who work year round to create this wonderful youth film festival gathering in Seattle every spring. Our mission is to enable, nurture, promote and encourage the next generation of filmmakers to inspire, lead and entertain the world with their stories.
I love watching the young filmakers arrive from all over the world and begin connecting with each other and talking shop with the film professionals and adult supporters. I've been privileged to hear participants share their stories of transformation and dreams in speed networking sessions, after screenings and parties. We've been growing steadily and the board is committed to expanding the opportunities for our filmmakers to create and show NFFTY films beyond the festival. I encourage everyone to support our organization and attend the festival.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

build a foundation to help keep it strong.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I have attended the NFFTY Film Festival twice and been a Board Member for almost two years. The NFFTY festival represents a tremendous opportunity for young filmmakers to have their films seen and for the audience to experience the vision and talent of these young filmmakers. But really, it's much more than that. The film festival begins with the young filmmakers walking the red carpet and having their photographs taken. Media is present. Sponsors (including Volvo with its shiny new vehicles) are present. The filmmakers are provided with a wonderful taste of what many of them hope to enjoy more of in the future as filmmakers. To simply see the looks of excitement on their faces as they walk the red carpet, see the spotlights and cameras and meet other filmmakers, the inspirational effect is so very clear. After the red carpet introductions and for the next few days, the films are screened and the audience gets to see just how talented they are. The quality of the films is extraordinary and it's greatly appreciated by the audience and their fellow filmmakers and family members. For me, it is an honor to be part of NFFTY and I am looking forward to seeing many more films and many more young filmmakers show the world what they have to offer. As a nonprofit, NFFTY is creating a positive global artistic impact for everyone to enjoy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand global awareness of NFFTY and add more year round programming.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I have crossed paths with NFFTY numerous times over the past four and a half years. Since 2009 I have attended the festival as an audience member, two time filmmaker, a volunteer and sponsor. My experiences during the 2010 and 2011 festivals when I had my own films screen completely changed my life and ultimately jumpstarted my career. The things I learned and the people I met ultimately lead to me getting an internship with PBS Seattle. Less than a year later at the age of only 19, I found myself producing an Emmy award winning independent film series with the station and helping launch another. I owe everything to this organization and today I am proud to now call myself an employee of NFFTY. I have seen many other filmmakers experience very similar success stories and I know that NFFTY is responsible for all of the opportunities these filmmakers are starting to take part in. It is a one of a kind organization. There is literally no other youth oriented film festival in the world that operates like NFFTY and does what it does for young directors. NFFTY provides a first class festival venue to showcase your work and meet and network with not only other young filmmakers but top industry professionals. NFFTY changed my life, and I know that it will continue to change the lives of other young creative visionaries in the years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to expand the reach and audience of the organization world wide.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I have recently joined the board after attending the festival for the past 3 years. What touched me personally was that due to innovations in content creation, the youth of today have the ability to share their voice, passion and views of the world in ways we could never experience before. NFFTY is the leader in providing this opportunity for the youth around the world. I am honored to be connected with this organization and look forward to growing the exposure of young filmmakers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the reach of the organization

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

My first NFFTY experience was opening night in 2010; what an amazing array of short films that moved me from laughter to tears. I was so memorized and inspired by what these young future storytellers and film makers produced. There was a film maker who was 8 years old! At the age of 8, I don't think I had the focus to write, storyboard a film, gather a team together to shoot and produce a short. After the opening night festivities, I had to volunteer and assist in any way I could. I'm still a volunteer and Board Member, and I don't have children; I just want to further the platform NFFTY provides for these young voices to touch the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Educate more corporations so they understand the mission and benefits NFFTY provides to youths across the world. There are so many possibilities for partnership between corporations and NFFTY.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I've been a volunteer for NFFTY for the past two years and my son has participated in the festival for three years. It has truly enriched our lives and given solid direction to our son. We all have made valuable contacts through NFFTY and have had the privilege to see work produced by some of the most amazing young artists worldwide. What I really appreciate about NFFTY is the efficiency, organization and outstanding degree of communication it has exhibited. The three NFFTY festivals I've attended have been very well organized, were run smoothly and I felt like there was no money wasted on frivolity. Every dime goes to supporting the young filmmakers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...give them more financial support so they can bring in more speakers and continue to have the 'expo' which brought in colleges, equipment manufacturers and influential speakers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I have been a volunteer film screener for 3 or 4 years now. I love seeing the variety of films and points of view these young filmmakers have. The volunteers are instructed to judge films on age as well as ability. Watching a wonderful film by an 8 year old and then a film by a 21 year old you can see the potential evident in these artists. There is so much creativity and ingenuity involved in filmmaking!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have festivals like this all over the world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

No other youth film program helps such a broad spectrum of young people. For beginners, it inspires, trains, and motivates. For the most proficient, it has become the most loved and attended film festival. Everyone enjoys meeting each other, seeing each other's work, and learning, learning, learning.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers