Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

NFFTY gave me the tools turn film-making from my hobby to my career. Not only was NFFTY an amazing film festival that helped get me recognized in my craft but it created working relationships with filmmakers around the globe and gave me amazing work opportunists. NFFTY gave me opertunities to shoot commercials, travel the world to shoot projects and open millions of doors for me as a filmmaker.

Now at age 24 I am just finishing up my second feature length film and I am collaborating with a composer I met at NFFTY, actors I met at NFFTY and other filmmakers I've gotten to know through NFFTY. I've been involved in a number of not for profit film-making communities but non compare to NFFTY. I hope that it is around for a long time.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I discovered NFFTY as a filmmaker in my final year of eligibility for the festival...and I'm thankful I did. Amidst a sea of national and international film festivals, all with varying degrees of prestige and competitiveness, NFFTY stands out to me as the most encouraging, nurturing festival existing today. NFFTY is a great first platform for the most up-and-coming of filmmakers to feature their work, as they treat new filmmakers with the same professionalism that more senior filmmakers can attest to. Not only that, but it's a great place to truly discover talent before the rest of the world does.

I myself loved the camaraderie between young and old(er) filmmakers alike, and I was pleasantly surprised at the sheer quality of the work exhibited. And beyond that, NFFTY does a wonderful job of reaching far and wide, attracting filmmakers worldwide not only to submit, but to attend as well.

I look forward to seeing NFFTY grow, expand, and influence the youth movement of filmmaking for years to come!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I had the distinct honor of serving on the screening committee for NFFTY this past year, as well as attending the festival offerings and I can tell you that NFFTY is a top-notch film festival. NFFTY seeks to serve and promote the storytellers of tomorrow. This isn't just a film festival, but a great development experience for those seeking to strengthen their filmmaking and storytelling skills. It's a mixture of the best films from emerging filmmakers, panel discussions, workshops and networking opportunities. It is a bright spot in the Seattle film scene with a wide, global reach. I was proud to be a small part of the festival this year and look forward to returning next year.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I am a 15 year old female filmmaker from Ottawa, Ontario. This past year, my film was an official selection at NFFTY 2014. I was thrilled, and knew it would be an amazing experience for me, but didn’t realize just how amazing it would end up being.

Those four days were probably some of the
best days of my life. I met and networked with countless amounts filmmakers, both my age and older (some of which I now call my best friends), saw some great films, and just generally had a blast.

NFFTY has allowed me to have experiences I would have never had before, and also given me an extreme boost in confidence on being able to speak in public.

It’s evident to me, and I’m sure many others, that NFFTY is special. There really is nothing else like it, and I stay true to that statement.

I’m looking forward to the next Christmas in April.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

NFFTY has been a huge stepping stone in my journey towards success as a filmmaker in the Seattle community and beyond. Because of NFFTY I have started my career several years earlier than others my age. I have made several invaluable connections from networking at the festival- directors, producers, marketing professionals, and directors of photography; many whom have been huge advocates for my growth. I've learned and become a better filmmaker because of the festival. No joke. NFFTY is praised nationwide as one of the best film festivals in the world, and is the largest youth film festival internationally- really the only festival that both showcases youth talent but also advocates for their success in the industry.

I attended my first festival in 2011 and had a film in the action sports category, sponsored by the likes of xbox, nike, volvo and bing. The showing was sold out; I had the chance to view my film on a true large format screen and it was a thrilling experience any aspiring young filmmaker needs to have under their belt. The nerves, anticipation, sweaty palms and audience questions following the screening were a test of my confidence, but ultimately rewarding. I wouldn't trade that night for anything.

Following that first year, I have had a film in every year of the festival since 2011, and I attended my first masterclass in 2012 with Owen Craft. The skills and on-set experience I learned through NFFTY programs have been incredibly valuable, and like I said earlier, got me my job. I have been employed in a full time starting position at a major production company in Seattle for almost a year now. If a filmmaker plays their cards right, NFFTY can be all they need to become successful in the film industry. I am now on my way upwards- growing every day and closer each day to my goal of working in the camera department. I have connections in LA that I've made through the festival, and hope to transition down to the hub in the next few years.

I know it sounds cheesy pinning my success on a film festival in Seattle, but every filmmaker who has attended will tell you it's an incredibly valuable experience that they wouldn't trade for anything. I could go on for hours about how great NFFTY is, but that is my condensed story. NFFTY is great people, great films, awesome learning opportunities, networking and, could very well be the start of an exciting career in the coolest industry you could work for- film.

They aren't kidding with their tagline...


"Film Starts Here".
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I am a female filmmaker from Norway. For me attending The National Film Festival For Talented Youth has single handedly changed my life and encouraged me to go on and keep making films, as I am. I have gotten to know so many extraordinary young talented filmmakers all around the world and every moment at the festival has been full of positive energy and full of the spirit of hopeful youth. I am so very grateful for having been a part of this magic community of a film festival.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

This past year one of my films was an official selection of NFFTY. After some planning, everything fell into place, and I was lucky enough to attend the festival. Let me just say: my time at NFFTY was honestly one of the main highlights of senior year of high school. I met oh so many inspirational and talented individuals, I saw work that made my passion for film swell even more, and I had the most enjoyable, exciting time. Every moment was jam packed with a new memory, new friend, or new piece of knowledge to take with me into the future. I seriously hope with all of my heart that I get to go back again! NFFTY is something that you don't want to miss. Seriously.

(NFFTY alumni 2014)
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I'm a filmmaker from South Africa and one of my films got selected for NFFTY 2014. It was my first ever experience at an international film festival and the experience wouldn't have been possible without the help of NFFTY. Overall it was a great experience and exceeded my expectations. I was treated professionally and with great respect. I learned so much about the film industry throughout the festival and received so much helpful tips and advice that I can apply to my projects in the future in the future.

The discussion panels were really great and I enjoyed all the speakers and industry professionals they got to share their wisdom and stories.

NFFTY also open the gates of the film industry to me and gave me an enormous boost into the world of film. My experience at NFFTY 2014 was priceless.

I can't wait to attend the next NFFTY and to learn even more.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I feel that in my short experience as a filmmaker I have been lucky enough to travel to festivals quite a bit. From fancy glamorous ones (the ones with gourmet dinners that are usually half the portion you were expecting and expensive fees that might as well be spent to make another short) to small and cozy ones where you are mostly disappointed by the low attendance.

I honestly thought NFFTY was going to be small and cozy.

The first time I attended the festival it felt like I stepped into a mesmerizing film making party. The organization and organizers were beyond any expectations. The venues were not gigantic but felt grand, and the people I met have become close friends that I cherish still today. The movies selected were outstanding, sometimes frightening because suddenly confronted with younger people with, in all honesty, much better skills than mines.

NFFTY was not only a place where I met some of the most interesting people in the field, but it is where I learned from them, thanks to a surprising humbleness and willingness to listen and be listened.

Ever since the first year I attended, NFFTY has become the spotlight of my Spring. There was no need for fancy dinners, no expensive fees or impressive line-ups of celebrities. Just great movies, great people, and an experience that has thought me a lot leaving me eager to show up every year for more.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

My brothers and I were introduced to NFFTY in 2006, just before its first kick-off season in 2007. For over 5 years we participated greatly and learned so much about filmmaking; we met tons of talented filmmakers and other professionals in the field during our memorable tenure. NFFTY helped me personally with not only my confidence as an ambitious director but also opened my eyes to film diversity. I owe a lot to NFFTY and what it stands for - helping young people and inspiring them to fly beyond the clouds. It certainly helped me...

Jesse Stipek
Producer, 343 Industries | Microsoft Studios
--------
NFFTY Alumni (2006 - 2011)
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers