Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 21, 2013

more

July 21, 2013

As a psychotherapist, I believe having supportive and meaningful relationships are a key component of mental health. I am also well aware of the mental health benefits of eating unprocessed food (and the lack of public awareness). Dorothy has built an amazing organization which pulls these two things together!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that the reach was larger. I would especially try to include new moms and the elderly. In addition, I would add on a soup swap type component so all attendees would leave meetings with unprocessed foods filled with communal love.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 4, 2013

more

July 4, 2013

Suppers is a miraculous program. It's focus is on creating a supportive environment where people can develop healthy eating habits, supported by a group of peers on their own personal journeys to discovering what it means to eat well for each one of them.

A central element of Suppers is
recognizing that each one of us is unique, that there is not a single 'good' diet that we should all follow. Consequently, Suppers is about self-experimentation and non-judgement. Each person explores for themselves what foods generate positive and negative effects for them and chooses their diet based on this personal data.

My favorite part of Suppers is the sense of community it has. When I go to Suppers I feel an immediate connection to everyone else there. Since there is no obligation to participate or follow a schedule, each meal is shared with different people - depending upon who was able to make it on that particular day. Nonetheless, each time, whether there are people that I have met before or not, going to Suppers feels like coming home. Everyone is kind, welcoming and supportive. And the moment one arrives, one joins the rest of the group in cooking together, whether slicing vegetables, stirring the soup or putting the table together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to explore how technology can make scheduling / RSVPing for meals easier. Suppers already has a website, and a description of the different types of meetings (http://www.thesuppersprograms.org/calendar.htm) but more can be done to leverage technology to support the cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 18, 2013

more

May 18, 2013

It is not always easy to get quality support when someone needs to seriously change their life around from a health and nutrition standpoint. Fee based counseling, and diet programs, left me wondering how it can effectively be accomplished without advocating foods of questionable nutrition... Enter,,, The Suppers Programs. Using only whole foods prepared in amazing ways, this program has and does turn lives around, day in and day out. The facilitators gear their meetings to help those most in need, diabetics, celiacs, alcohol dependents, to name a few. But the delicious foods they have us prepare in their own homes fits everyone's nutritional needs and is what sets this program apart from most others.

For an average meal cost of $9, we arrive, wash hands, and spend an hour chopping, preparing, and cooking our meal in a wholesome environment. then we sit down and partake of a meal you can get at no other restaurant, from no other meal plan. Just great whole food. After we introduce ourselves, a few minutes are spent going over one of many concepts, such as nutritional harm reduction, or biological individuality. We then clean up, and get on with our day, if lunch,,, or night, if dinner. Well fed with healthy food choices.

If there's nutrition based non-profit program that holds itself to the high standards Suppers maintains, it's a well kept secret, as I've yet to find it. It's an amazing thing to behold. Experience it for yourself. thesuppersprograms.org

Dan Marquardt




Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make this a global organization. It's that necessary.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013

more

March 20, 2013

While the organization started in support of recovering alcoholics, it now impacts the lives of so many more. The Suppers Programs involves preparing delicious meals from whole foods and without gluten or sugar. We learn new kitchen skills, how to prepare new foods, and how to retrain our taste buds to enjoy the foods that predate the epidemics. We support each other in healthy living changes.

So many of today's afflictions and diseases can be addressed by diet and lifestyle changes from the obvious ones like Type 2 diabetes and heart disease to the not so obvious - depression, ADHD, and asthma.

We now have nearly 40 meetings a month in New Jersey and hope to expand even more with the help of local volunteers.

Check out our website for more information - www.thesuppersprograms.org.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Facilitate a Suppers meeting in their home or other location (after training and learning the Program ideals); provide administrative support; offer specialized skills training to our members, such as knife skills or gluten-free baking tips