Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

The SOLD Project is a much needed effort to prevent child trafficking and to raise the education and confidence level of kids in Southeast Asia and beyond. I respect their system of work a lot and am still learning from it. Whether it is a big or little impact in a child's life, SOLD is there trying and most often succeeding in making a positive difference in the lives of precious children. I hope its reputation grows and is copied and imitated by many others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 12, 2012

The SOLD Project have clearly identified the core of the trafficking problem...Education. They have taken quite a simple approach to a complex issue and it is having a truly beneficial impact on the c... more

November 13, 2012

My experience with 'The SOLD Project' was incredible. I learned so much and was so inspired by their community development work that I am now at University completing a Bachelor of Arts in Community Development. I loved the way in which they engaged with the community with predominantly local staff, addressed the communities needs, and then implemented these needs as best as they could. Their work is so simple yet so effective. Deliver educational needs throughout a child's life and in turn prevent that child from being trafficked. I spent around 5 months of my own time working with SOLD late 2011, and although now I would do things slightly different, my experience there was one of growth...and SOLD nurtured that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

The SOLD Project have clearly identified the core of the trafficking problem...Education. They have taken quite a simple approach to a complex issue and it is having a truly beneficial impact on the communities they are working with. They are giving these children an opportunity in life that they may otherwise not have had, this in itself is a miracle for some families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Sold Project raises funds to keep girls in Thailand out of prostitution. They find the most at-risk children and they supply them with the money they need to stay in school. They're a straight-forward and honest group of people at Sold, and I'm happy to give my time volunteering with them! Rachel Goble is a smart, articulate leader, who more importantly loves children and wants to give them a chance to grow up educated and have the freedom to make an honest living instead of being sold for sex.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 19, 2012

I have had amazing experiences with SOLD on the ground in Thailand and with Development in the US. The focus on the real needs of the kids and cultural sensitivity are outstanding. It is incredible to... more

September 9, 2013

I love being part of the hope that comes with prevention and seeing the lives of kids empowered.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them grow and expand the number of resource centers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2012

I have had amazing experiences with SOLD on the ground in Thailand and with Development in the US. The focus on the real needs of the kids and cultural sensitivity are outstanding. It is incredible to meet kids staying in school, safe from exploitation, and dreaming bigger then they thought possible. Life changing! For me - and for them. SOLD makes my heart smile!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

The SOLD Project is an incredible organization run by amazing, genuine people that are truly working to make a difference in the world. Their passion in every aspect of the organization shines. My experience volunteering with SOLD has been life changing. I began volunteering in 2009 when I screened the documentary to my university. They provided me with the resources and support to plan the event and speak about the issue of child exploitation in Thailand. Shortly after I graduated, I volunteered in the California office, helping with events, fundraising, and other tasks. During this time, I was offered the opportunity to travel to Thailand with other SOLD Project supporters to see our work first-hand and learn more about the issue. It was this trip that influenced my decision to pursue a master’s degree to continue working to fight human trafficking. After my postgraduate studies, I returned to Thailand to continue volunteer work with The SOLD Project. During the past 7 months, I have been on the ground hosting volunteers and interns and helping others use their talents and gifts to make an impact in prevention of child prostitution.

Volunteering with The SOLD Project has been a truly incredible experience. Being given the opportunity to volunteer in both the US and Thailand is something I would have never dreamed, but has changed my life forever. The SOLD Project invests in their volunteers and empowers individuals to get involved however they feel they can contribute. Aside from your specific volunteer tasks, the SOLD team helps you grow into your strengths. It is one of the most encouraging organizations I have ever been a part of and am so thankful for the opportunity to volunteer with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

My experience with The SOLD Project was one of the best of my life. I lived in Thailand for 9 months working in development of the volunteer program and as the ESL teacher. The main aspect which makesSOLD such an incredible experience was seeing the direct, postive and legitmately life changing opportunities it provides for the children. I think of one of my students named Cat; when SOLD first arrived in Thailand Cat had been recently orphaned (her mother a former sex worker in Bangkok) and her sister did not have the financial means to provide for Cat and her future was grim. SOLD stepped in and, now a few years later, Cat is one of the brightest students I taught and a natural leader among her peers. A university in Chiang Rai recently offered Cat a scholarship to come and study English there on the weekends. Without SOLD providing a chance for Cat, I shudder to think what could have happened to her. SOLD goes above and beyond to work to think of opportunties and programs to offer to these children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

I volunteered summer of 2011 with The SOLD Project at their U.S. office. It was one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. Not only did I get first hard exposure to how an effective non-profit works, I also had the opportunity to be hands on in helping them effectively work to stop child exploitation. They are some of the most professional, passionate, hardworking people I have met. I also had the chance in 2012 to visit their Resource Center in Thailand. It was an unforgettable trip! Meeting the kids who's lives have been changed by the work of The SOLD Project was amazing. You can tell that SOLD's presence has made such a difference in the community and that the local people are really on board with SOLD's vision. I cannot recommend The SOLD Project enough! A great cause by some great people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2011

more

April 18, 2011

The SOLD Project has embarked on a mission that most overlook--the issue of prevention and awareness. Without any previous knowledge of sex-trafficking, it was through the SOLD Project's exposure trip that I was able to learn first-hand the issue of sex-trafficking and how critical the prevention piece is to part of the solution. The trip was remarkably organized with daily presentations and visits to local organizations also working first-hand on the issue of after-care and support.

The opportunity to visit the SOLD Project's Resource Center was truly impressive and offered a peak into what realistic and sustainable solutions look like. The community that has been created around education, support, opportunity is remarkable and visible.

I feel so fortunate to have been able to be exposed to the work that is being done by the SOLD Project. They have inspired me and many others.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My personal growth as a result of the SOLD Project is rare but true. After traveling as a volunteer with SOLD, I returned to Chiang Mai's Red Light District where I started a youth center for boys who are victims of sex-trafficking and child prostitution. My entire life shifted as a result of being exposed to this insidious issue and realizing that after-care for boys was severely limited. I ow a great deal to the SOLD Project and their vision.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the awareness direction of SOLD Project is exemplary. i would love to see more exposure trips for those interested in the issue of combatting sex-trafficking. These trips are truly life-changing.

April 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The SOLD Project is an inspiration to families and children in both Thailand and the United States. As a volunteer, I have had to opportunity to travel to Thailand and work alongside SOLD and am continually impressed with their efforts. Within a year, SOLD established a mentorship and after school center for the children as a safe place to hang out and learn English. The staff learned Thai to better communicate with the children, and did a great job of loving on the children and acting as mentors. Many lives have been brightened by SOLD through their scholarship program, and many others, such as mine, have been challenged to continue to support SOLD as they passionately work towards providing education and preventing child prostitution.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my life as motivation to join them in their fight against child prostitution and for promoting and providing education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not. I think the staff are very good at being flexible to new ideas and open to changing things that are not working. They have a wise team and know when to make changes.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers