Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.945955
Write A Review
November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Sold Project raises funds to keep girls in Thailand out of prostitution. They find the most at-risk children and they supply them with the money they need to stay in school. They're a straight-forward and honest group of people at Sold, and I'm happy to give my time volunteering with them! Rachel Goble is a smart, articulate leader, who more importantly loves children and wants to give them a chance to grow up educated and have the freedom to make an honest living instead of being sold for sex.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

I support The SOLD Project 100%. I have sponsored a student in their program since 2009 and have witnessed the incredible work they do firsthand, both in my travels and later as a volunteer. When I first encountered SOLD in early 2009 I was immediately impressed by their focus on the prevention of child exploitation through education; almost no one else was doing that at the time. The fact that their entire prevention model was developed by locals and continues to be run by truly wonderful, dedicated people from among the Thai and hill tribe communities that they serve gives them immense credibility, and they've seen remarkable success. Through educational scholarships, mentors, trafficking awareness programs, and a truly robust Resource Center in the village, they've brought the school drop-out rate down from more than 50 percent to now less than 5 percent in the community. That's in less than five years. And now there are girls graduating from high school and pursuing university degrees. All of this was unheard of for this region before The SOLD Project came along. They're a relatively small organization, but they're making an incredible difference. And they only continue to grow. I can't wait to see where they go next.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Their programs are local-led and local-run, and 100 percent of all donations to scholarships and prevention programs go directly to the work on the ground in Thailand. Unlike most organizations in this field, they take a proactive approach to human trafficking by focusing on PREVENTION through education and community development among at-risk populations. This is a much savvier use of time and resources—and far more effective—than efforts aimed at rescue and rehabilitation.

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

The SOLD Project is an incredible organization run by amazing, genuine people that are truly working to make a difference in the world. Their passion in every aspect of the organization shines. My experience volunteering with SOLD has been life changing. I began volunteering in 2009 when I screened the documentary to my university. They provided me with the resources and support to plan the event and speak about the issue of child exploitation in Thailand. Shortly after I graduated, I volunteered in the California office, helping with events, fundraising, and other tasks. During this time, I was offered the opportunity to travel to Thailand with other SOLD Project supporters to see our work first-hand and learn more about the issue. It was this trip that influenced my decision to pursue a master’s degree to continue working to fight human trafficking. After my postgraduate studies, I returned to Thailand to continue volunteer work with The SOLD Project. During the past 7 months, I have been on the ground hosting volunteers and interns and helping others use their talents and gifts to make an impact in prevention of child prostitution.

Volunteering with The SOLD Project has been a truly incredible experience. Being given the opportunity to volunteer in both the US and Thailand is something I would have never dreamed, but has changed my life forever. The SOLD Project invests in their volunteers and empowers individuals to get involved however they feel they can contribute. Aside from your specific volunteer tasks, the SOLD team helps you grow into your strengths. It is one of the most encouraging organizations I have ever been a part of and am so thankful for the opportunity to volunteer with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

My experience with The SOLD Project was one of the best of my life. I lived in Thailand for 9 months working in development of the volunteer program and as the ESL teacher. The main aspect which makesSOLD such an incredible experience was seeing the direct, postive and legitmately life changing opportunities it provides for the children. I think of one of my students named Cat; when SOLD first arrived in Thailand Cat had been recently orphaned (her mother a former sex worker in Bangkok) and her sister did not have the financial means to provide for Cat and her future was grim. SOLD stepped in and, now a few years later, Cat is one of the brightest students I taught and a natural leader among her peers. A university in Chiang Rai recently offered Cat a scholarship to come and study English there on the weekends. Without SOLD providing a chance for Cat, I shudder to think what could have happened to her. SOLD goes above and beyond to work to think of opportunties and programs to offer to these children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

An incredible organization, doing good work, putting all of their resources to work in the right way. Had the opportunity to visit Thailand with them last year and was very impressed. Can't say enough good about the work being done.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

Through a friend of a friend, I discovered The SOLD Project. I visited their work with at-risk youth in Thailand and fell in love with the the mission. The SOLD Project provides responsible, intelligent and practical solutions to solve a real and dire problem. I gladly give of my personal time and finances to The SOLD Project.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 7, 2011

more

June 7, 2011

I can't speak highly enough of the work of The Sold Project. I was privileged to spend ten days in Thailand with the Sold team, seeing first hand the ground breaking work they are pioneering in the field of prevention of child prostitution. I believe the programs and model Sold are developing could be replicated throughout Asia and in other parts of the world, educating and supporting communities where a high percentage of children are at risk of being trafficked or coerced into child prostitution as a result of poverty, lack of education and support. Since returning to Australia, it has been an honor to use my platform as a communicator to be an advocate for Sold and to financially support the work their team are doing.
Adrian
Melbourne, Australia

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ensure that they receive the funding and support needed to grow in effectiveness and influence throughout other parts of Thailand and in other nations throughout Asia and beyond.

April 26, 2011

more

April 26, 2011

As a previous Board Member for two years for SOLD, I learned how heart and action can create change in not only my life, but the lives of close to one hundred at-risk children in Northern Thailand. Though I have yet to travel to Thailand to see the work with my own eyes, I look forward expectantly to the day that I will get to see and play with the children that have captured my heart. In looking at the Leadership within SOLD, I would describe the team as motivated, passionate, ceaseless, and organized. They address the tender issue of child prostitution with hope and prevention through education.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I remember when I first learned of child prostitution, I felt burdened with the thought that if I didn't respond and take personal action, I would be disobeying the call of justice inside of me. I love that The SOLD Project are actually taking action and doing something that I can take part in. The SOLD Project invites and encourages people to take personal ownership and action at the root cause of the issue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have deep confidence and trust in the efforts of this organization and the leadership of SOLD. The organization sets goals, and meets them with tangible examples of change and furthered hope.

April 18, 2011

more

April 18, 2011

The SOLD Project has embarked on a mission that most overlook--the issue of prevention and awareness. Without any previous knowledge of sex-trafficking, it was through the SOLD Project's exposure trip that I was able to learn first-hand the issue of sex-trafficking and how critical the prevention piece is to part of the solution. The trip was remarkably organized with daily presentations and visits to local organizations also working first-hand on the issue of after-care and support.

The opportunity to visit the SOLD Project's Resource Center was truly impressive and offered a peak into what realistic and sustainable solutions look like. The community that has been created around education, support, opportunity is remarkable and visible.

I feel so fortunate to have been able to be exposed to the work that is being done by the SOLD Project. They have inspired me and many others.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My personal growth as a result of the SOLD Project is rare but true. After traveling as a volunteer with SOLD, I returned to Chiang Mai's Red Light District where I started a youth center for boys who are victims of sex-trafficking and child prostitution. My entire life shifted as a result of being exposed to this insidious issue and realizing that after-care for boys was severely limited. I ow a great deal to the SOLD Project and their vision.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the awareness direction of SOLD Project is exemplary. i would love to see more exposure trips for those interested in the issue of combatting sex-trafficking. These trips are truly life-changing.

April 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The SOLD Project is an inspiration to families and children in both Thailand and the United States. As a volunteer, I have had to opportunity to travel to Thailand and work alongside SOLD and am continually impressed with their efforts. Within a year, SOLD established a mentorship and after school center for the children as a safe place to hang out and learn English. The staff learned Thai to better communicate with the children, and did a great job of loving on the children and acting as mentors. Many lives have been brightened by SOLD through their scholarship program, and many others, such as mine, have been challenged to continue to support SOLD as they passionately work towards providing education and preventing child prostitution.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my life as motivation to join them in their fight against child prostitution and for promoting and providing education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not. I think the staff are very good at being flexible to new ideas and open to changing things that are not working. They have a wise team and know when to make changes.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers