Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
1234.968755
Write A Review
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I personally know the founder of SSFOA, he is a great person and is willing to go above and beyond the call of duty. Please support the Silver Star Families of America, they are the best nonprofit I know.
September 25, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 4, 2012

Thank you for allowing me to review Silver Star Families of America. My name is Margie Harich and I am now a Board of Directors member. I first became acquainted with SSFOA when a retired Navy nurse... more

September 25, 2014

I appreciate this opportunity to write a review for Silver Star Families of America. I was made aware of SSFOA by a former Navy friend. After checking out their site, I called them and became a volunteer becoming the Maryland/DC Representative. This has been a most rewarding adventure for both myself and my husband. We have had the opportunity to assist in creating SSFOA's Headqarters Building in MO, place wreaths at the Tomb of the Unknown, and represent SSFOA on Veterans Day at Arlington Cemetery. Additionly, we work with staff at the Veterans Hospital (Old Soldiers Home) in DC, presenting a program each quarter. Our group of card creaters do cards each quarter for the VA hospitals. We do fund raisers and other activities to raise funds for SSFOA. This is just a tiny portion of the wonderful work SSFOA does nationwide for our veterans. I have been fortunate to become a member of the Board and now hold the position of Vice President. I strongly recommend you check out the SSFOA site at: silverstarfamilies.org where you will find additional information and see photos of our wonderful veterans receiving banners and citations for their service. Hopefully, you will want to become involved with a donation of funds or your time to honor our kids, as we lovingly call them.
Thank you for your time. Margie Harich, MD/DC
October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Thank you for allowing me to review Silver Star Families of America. My name is Margie Harich and I am now a Board of Directors member. I first became acquainted with SSFOA when a retired Navy nurse felt it was a most valid charity and I might find it interesting. Well, that was an understatement. I contacted the Founders, Diana and Steve Newton, who were delighted to bring another member on board. Shortly thereafter, I became the Maryland/DC Representative. It has been a beautiful adventure. Just to name a few things my husband, Marvin, and I have had the priviledge of doing. We have, with pride, presented Silver Star Service Banners and Citations to many honorable and most deserving veterans. It was our pleasure, and with lots of sweat equity, we helped renovate the Headquarters Building in Missouri for offices and public/private interviews. We have handled charitable functions and met wonderful individuals, some famous in their respective fields. We have cried, laughed, and been awed by our couregous veterans. We have done fund raisers and met with other organizations to share our fund raising ideas. So, it is with continued respect and pride I give this five star rating to one of the most deserving charities in the nation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Hi Everyone,

I would like to relate how I became a member of Silver Star Families of America. A retired Navy friend suggested I should join SFFOA as they were a find organization for helping veterans. So, I went to their website as was immediately contacted by the Founders, Mr. and Mrs.
Newton. They were polite, helpful and wonderful. This made me want to be associated with the group. The result is I have found another family who are caring to a fault about our wonderful and honored veterans.

Additionally, you should know there are no paid members of SSFOA and 90% of all monies/donations are provided to the veterans. The only monies used are for supplies/necessities, like manditory audits.

Please take a look at SSFOA's web site, www.silverstarfamilies.org and see for yourself how terrific they are and how devoted everyone is to our kids (that's veterans to you folks). We think of all of them as ours and we want to share that feeling with you. So come join us, you will never regret it.

Margie Harich
Maryland/District of Columbia Representative
SSFOA

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In so very many ways. The faces of veterans as they are presented banners and citations honoring their service to our nation. The smiles of retired military when they hold a small teddy bear that's red/white and blue. The look on the face of an injured veteran as he/she holds a prayer blanket. The way they say thank you for the smallest effort, which brings tears to your eyes. Just everything wonderful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more devoted volunteers and additional funds with grants, fund raisers, etc. We do not telephone or mail for donations. All monies are raised by fund raisers, grants, and/or word of mouth. Pretty terrific don't you think?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

Friend, as stated above.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Assisting homeless veterans

What is its top priority in the long run?

Seeing that all veterans are cared for and respected.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 4, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 5, 2013

Amazing charity.. helping out the sick, wounded and Ill in our military.. They really care for these guys and gals out there serving our country now and in the past ... more

September 4, 2014

I volunteer for The Silver Star Families of America by making and sending out cards to our veterans, mostly to Vet homes or hospitals, it is really nice to get word back that you made someone smile. Great Group that really is dedicated to our countries veterans, honoring and helping them where they can!
September 5, 2013

Amazing charity.. helping out the sick, wounded and Ill in our military.. They really care for these guys and gals out there serving our country now and in the past ...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

I never did serve our country in the military, however I do have many friends who have. I am recently retired (2 1/2 years ago) after spending over 33 years in Law Enforcement as a Patrol Deputy and Patrol Supervisor. During my service our agency has had members injured in the line of duty as well as killed in the line of duty. I am so aware of the pain and suffering the family members, as well as those who have been injured serving the public, go through. I am a major supporter of our military and any organization that gives of their time to help those wounded warriors and their families who have been severely injured while serving in our military. I recently came across "The Silver Star Families of America" through a friend who asked me to volunteer by sending money and spending some time making cards for our wonderful veterans. I strongly urge anyone, who wants to help out to donate some time and money, if they can, with the this wonderful organization, to honor those who have served and given their all for our protection and let them know they are not forgotten and are loved and appreciated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Great Organization.. Highly recommend it to anybody that is looking to volunteer and help out our Military wounded and Ill and Dying..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 22, 2013

Very dedicated group for the cause of honoring and caring for our Veterans, especially those most vulnerable. I have chosen as an artist to feature their work in conjunction with my efforts for God & ... more

October 13, 2014

It is an honor to be a part of this organization. Steve Newton and his wife work tirelessly on behalf of our wounded and vulnerable Veterans. I hope to do more this coming year to support their efforts.
July 22, 2013

Very dedicated group for the cause of honoring and caring for our Veterans, especially those most vulnerable. I have chosen as an artist to feature their work in conjunction with my efforts for God & Country: http://www.annwolfmusic.org/1_In_a_Million_Together.php

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advise them to take a little more percentage for their admin needs; they take less than any group I know from the general proceeds and could probably need a little more rest and help in the office.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This group inspired me so much, I made a Video to help tell their story and to encourage more support of their mission. I am a songwriter/recording artist for humanitarian & spiritual causes and this group gets my vote. To see the Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-lQz8Advv0&feature=channel&list=UL

Photos

Videos

"All These Thigs" - Promoting Silver Star Families of America

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer with Silver Star Families of America, I have found them to be very helpful in assisting me when I need advice or help with an issue. They are a very sincere friendly group of people, and they have come a long way. Successfully bringing back May 1 as a traditional day of recognition for our wounded and sick veterans. This has been a remarkable achievement, and I am proud of being part of this endeavor. The Silver Star Flag, which is the official flag for our wounded and sick veterans, can now be seen flying across our nation. This charity provides meal cards and items for 'stand downs.' Any veteran can and does, when made known, the honor of receiving the Silver Star flag. This charity is recognised throughout the United States for its compassionate concern for our veterans of all wars.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Silver Star Families of America is a wonderful organization. My first project was to send cards to veterans who were hospitalized. The second project was sending cards at different holidays to military personnel whether Iraq or Afghanistan, or on a aircraft carrier. As the daughter of a career Army officer, it's important to show how much they are appreciated. Their honor, commitment and courage are recognized by this Patriot. I highly recommend Silver Star Families of America! Submitted by: Carol McGuinn email: isalutetheflag2@yahoo.com

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Hello. My name is Carl Cronk, Veterans Service Officer, U.S. Army Ambassador. Through personal experience and working with the members of the Silver Star Families of America they are by far at the top of the list. What they do for the thousands of military personnel current and prior and their families ls admirable. Each staff member and volunteer is fastidious and pertinacious in all they do and they are to be commended. The Silver Star Families of Americal consistently show a high degree of enthusiasm, energy, and force in helping the heros of our nation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Silver Star Families of America is a growing organization with a mission vital to the recognition of sacrifices made by our wounded warriors and their families. It's mission has become so profound that the Missouri Governor--twice yearly--holds ceremonies in his Capitol office during which he presents Missouri wounded with Silver Star Banners on behalf of a grateful state and nation. What better endorsement for our heroes than this! Thank you SSFOA for all you have done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers