Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
1234.968755
Write A Review
September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

Silver Star Families of America is a phenomenal group of volunteers from all over the country dedicated to supporting and helping those wounded service members from all past and present US war involvement. Headed by Steve & Diana Newton and supported by many other friends and families of those that have given so much for the freedoms we so highly appreciate in this country. Honoring those injured in the line of duty on and off the battlefield and sharing information in furthering their care and support after injured. Honoring those who have given so much and pay the price every day. What an awesome organization I am proud to be supporting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

What an awesome organization! My husband was injured in the desert and thus we are a Silver Star Family. We have been welcomed with opened arms, and my husband is honored to hang our Silver Star Flag on the wall in his office! Thank you for helping our veterans, thank you for caring!!! AAA+++

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

I never did serve our country in the military, however I do have many friends who have. I am recently retired (2 1/2 years ago) after spending over 33 years in Law Enforcement as a Patrol Deputy and Patrol Supervisor. During my service our agency has had members injured in the line of duty as well as killed in the line of duty. I am so aware of the pain and suffering the family members, as well as those who have been injured serving the public, go through. I am a major supporter of our military and any organization that gives of their time to help those wounded warriors and their families who have been severely injured while serving in our military. I recently came across "The Silver Star Families of America" through a friend who asked me to volunteer by sending money and spending some time making cards for our wonderful veterans. I strongly urge anyone, who wants to help out to donate some time and money, if they can, with the this wonderful organization, to honor those who have served and given their all for our protection and let them know they are not forgotten and are loved and appreciated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

Great Organization.. Highly recommend it to anybody that is looking to volunteer and help out our Military wounded and Ill and Dying..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I am the mother of a Wounded Warrior, 3 times in Iraq, each time he was injured. Silver Star Families of America offers me support and information. These are people who get it because they also have been there & done that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing ~ it works

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 24, 2013

more

July 24, 2013

After almost 10 years with the Silver Star Families of America I continue to be amazed at the wonderful folks that have just as much passion for the mission as I do- sometimes more!!!

It is our duty to recognize, honor and advocate for the combat wounded, injured and ill troops and
Veterans. When personally able to present the Silver Star Service banner package it is an experience like no other, even after the 1,000's of the SSSB packages that have either been presented or mailed for presentation, each one unique and touching- just like each individual recipient. I am grateful and thankful for our vital role of our mission to be able to be a part of such a wonderful thing.

The SSFOA operates on a 'shoe string' budget and the things and programs and initiatives that we accomplish on so little just goes to show that what is in the heart - not the coinpurse- is the soul of success. We thank each wounded and/or ill that we connect with and we thank the generosity of our donors, supporters, alumni and membership with gratitude. Without you there would be no SSFOA and that would be a sad day, indeed. THANK YOU all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Triple the funding to keep up with the quadruple of needs, requests and assistance inquiries that we receive, on a daily basis. To date, after almost 10 years- I am in awe that no one has been put on a waiting list for recognition with the SSSB packages and other items we provide free of charge. This renews and restores faith that all things come to those who can see something through, good times- bad times- victorious times- we shall endure.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

SSFoA is an excellent organization. Positive support and understanding. Any questions - just ask because someone may have an answer or maybe it is just a hugs & a prayer. I am Mom to a combat wounded warrior, his injury can not be seen so he "appears normal" and you just can't talk about with non military types because they just do not get it, the long waits at the VA, the VA not answering questions or following through with appointments, his raging rants.... These are people who have Been There Done That and understand your frustration and also celebrate in the victories no matter how big or small.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

Silver Star Families is an amazing organization that honors our wounded warriors. Many people have seen the gold star and blue star service banners, but only a few understand the sacrifice our Veterans and their families endure day in and day out when that banner hangs in their window. With Silver Star Families providing the banner free of charge, it shows that the nation understands the sacrifice we wounded warriors have given for service to our country and wants to thank us for it. They additionally do other events to help our wounded and ill Veterans. With Gulf War Illness and now what can only be called Burn Pit Illness, they help educate American citizens about the battles we face now at home inside out bodies from the toxins we were exposed to. Without media attention, Congressional Support, and public attention we could easily be the forgotten remnants of a war. After becoming a Wounded Warrior myself in Afghanistan in 2012, the first organization I found to help me in this new chapter in my life was Silver Star Families of America. I will never forget what they have done for me!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

I became involved with Silver Star Families of America in the course of my years-long association with veterans outside of official capacity. As a totally disabled veteran I spent many, many days at the GEW Memorial Veterans Medical Center in Salt Lake City over the last 15+ years of treatments. I have personally talked with hundreds of veterans over that period. What struck me as extremely important was that there just didn't seem to be anyone or any organization out there helping a lot of the really depressed and financially desperate vets I spoke to. Several months ago, through a very dear friend's recommendation, I got in touch with SSFoA and asked how I could help. This opened a whole new world of people who are dedicated to fill that void of caring and assistance! I then applied for and was accepted as an adviser for the group and have since been finding lots of new ways to make a difference in the lives of veterans nationwide. Please reach out generously and give to Silver Star Families of America. There is NO veterans' support charity in the nation that is better equipped and more dedicated to the service of our "forgotten veterans". May God bless them for the wonderful work they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer with Silver Star Families of America, I have found them to be very helpful in assisting me when I need advice or help with an issue. They are a very sincere friendly group of people, and they have come a long way. Successfully bringing back May 1 as a traditional day of recognition for our wounded and sick veterans. This has been a remarkable achievement, and I am proud of being part of this endeavor. The Silver Star Flag, which is the official flag for our wounded and sick veterans, can now be seen flying across our nation. This charity provides meal cards and items for 'stand downs.' Any veteran can and does, when made known, the honor of receiving the Silver Star flag. This charity is recognised throughout the United States for its compassionate concern for our veterans of all wars.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers