Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.55
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

It’s hard to believe all the services Shade Tree offers to the ladies. When I think of shelter, I imagine cots lined up on the floor and people sitting around just to get off of the sidewalk. I volunteered for about a month for school and I have learned that this place is so much more. Shade Tree is not just a shelter. It is a place to get what you need to start again. They have a variety of services available. When you are hungry, you are fed. And not just soup and sandwiches. You can have cereal and milk for breakfast or oatmeal and coffee. I was there during lunch time and saw once they served pizza and another time they had turkey. If you want to take classes to learn about finances they have a bank come in to teach it, if you want to exercise they have yoga (Yoga at a homeless shelter is amazing!), you want to learn computers, they have a class for that. If you want to get a job, they have a program to help you do that, too. It seems as if anything you might need to help you get back on your feet, Shade Tree has is for you.
In regards to one of the other comments, while I volunteered there I did see one altercation between some of the ladies there and I think the staff handled it well (I couldn’t do there job) but I would think that when you get that many people living in the same place together stuff like that is bound to happen once in a while.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered several times. Recently i volunteered for Christmas in October where all of the children got presents. Also, I was there when all the children were given out costumes. The shade tree makes families feel at home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to The shade Tree shelter about a month ago as a Domestic Violence client..but as a Minister even we go through some trials and tribulations. The Shade Tree helped me put my life on track get my health back with their stillman Clinic Miss kanace helped me to get all my medicines.. I came there with nothing but a little bag of clothing my health was poor but within 30 days I found a job with the help of Miss Maggie and the employment center with a place to stay. maggie really work hard to help find employment for the woman there. As a woman in ministry I even got a chance to help others with life problems. If it wasnt forthe support of the volunteers there and the people who donate I dont know where i would be... I nominate the Shade Tree Shelter. Thank You for changing my life..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change the kitchen.. I would get them a kitchen make over.. they really need it..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

this is my first experience volunteering for a shelter, when I did my orientation, I did believe that this organization is very organized and helping our people, women and children to get a better chance in life after a crisis in family , it is really benefitting everybody in the society. My child also volunteers here and she could see that Shade Tree is a very secure for kids. well done shade tree!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2012

I became aware of the Shade Tree several years ago and the work that Marlene and her people are doing is wonderful for women children and their pets. Each year that I visit them, I come away feeling ... more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the privilege of volunteering at The Shade Tree on several occasions. The safety and comfort that they provide for women, children and also their pets is incredible. Marlene Richter and her staff are warm, caring people who work to give homeless and abused women and children stability and skills for self-reliance. I was so moved by my experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of the Shade Tree several years ago and the work that Marlene and her people are doing is wonderful for women children and their pets. Each year that I visit them, I come away feeling so grateful to know them and to know there is a safe harbor at the Shade Tree for families in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I remember the Motther's Day Event!! It was sooo much fun! We got there early and started to set up the items..there were things from body wash and lotions tto scarfs and sweaters for the moms. After set up, each child was called and accompanied by their own "shopper" to pick out what they wanted to give their moms. The why's behind their reasons were priceless. Thank you Shade Tree for making moms and ladies feel special because holidays can be extremely difficult.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I started to volunteer at The Shade Tree it was for school, as I continued to go there twice a week and serve the families lunch, it became a part of me. They would talk to me sometimes about how blessed they feel to have a home within the shelter, and how they learn things such as how to write a resume or tot use the computer while they're here. I moved, but when I get back, I'll definitely visit and volunteer again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

I enjoy volunteering at The Shade Tree I feel The Shade Tree is a wonderful program to help women and children. I believe this program is safe and helpful to the women and Im glad they have The Shade Tree to come to for safety and resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

I had the opportunity to volunteer as a life skills teacher with The Shade Tree a couple of years ago and I had a lot of fun. I honestly learned a lot about how strong some of the ladies.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

Shade Tree is a great organiztion to work with. They helped our company organize a meal service for their clients. They returned calls and emails quickly, answering all of our questions and made us feel welcomed when our volunteers showed up.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers