Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.444445
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

I enjoy volunteering at The Shade Tree I feel The Shade Tree is a wonderful program to help women and children. I believe this program is safe and helpful to the women and Im glad they have The Shade Tree to come to for safety and resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

I had the opportunity to volunteer as a life skills teacher with The Shade Tree a couple of years ago and I had a lot of fun. I honestly learned a lot about how strong some of the ladies.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

There are a lot of families out there that need help; especially those with pets and children. It's good to know there are places out there where people can go to get back on their feet AND be safe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

more

July 14, 2012

i dont know how any one can write a good review on this place but there are a lot of good staff members but ive stayed a shade tree and i can honestly say its nasty and bug ridden bed bug roaches, theres a fight every other night there are people stealing ,while staff have there pick of who to help 3rd floor is for dv. and transtional and second floor is for single woman and familys ,ive been there for 2 weeks i havnt talked to a counslor yet and im not sure what the programs are they give you resources im told ,wake up time is 6.00 ,2 nd floor have to leave the floor at 8 am ,,,they only give you a bus pass if you have an appointment but not to look for housing and jobs ,the food is nasty most time and this morning the sausage was spolied ,,ive watched more then 8 woman get put out and i saw 10 woman whos time wasnt extended and had no place to go there are woman there that has been there 18 months -2 years ,,and some there leaving wth housing due to shade trees help,, but it seems like it depends on if your liked ,,because there are no programs there only class like relaxation ,resume writing orintation and housing on and two ,k,,some of the woman are really beautiful just feel on hard times ,but most are nasdty and crazy the bathrooms are nadty and the rules are dum ive been calling the health department since ive came ,and i wish i coulod get help to leave and get on my feet cause im at my wits end all day the woman smoke ciggaretes back to back ,they sell pills and cigareetes ,people coe back high and drunk ,,all this i swear is true ,,im sure this will fall on death ears but its a shame that ,,outside people come tour the place in the day time see it empty clean and a fe woman there and not no its like a womans prison with children in it ,,but because that the only real shelter in las vegas nevada and woman ,mossstly need a place like this they will always have funding and supporters ,,but if you ask me an out side agency should look at how many times the las vegas police has been there and then you might get the real story

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

The Shade Tree sounds like a HORRIBLE place. Full of discrimination, divisiveness and hatred. They accept some people and turn away others based on infantile notions of body morphology. Dividing families and destroying peoples sense of family unit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Being a part of this amazing organization for over ten years has been has been as much for me as it is for the women and children we serve. I am reminded daily of the strength and courage that these women have under the worst circumstances. I am also reminded that it is not about destiny, but rather the choices one makes. The Shade Tree not only provides safe shelter and balanced meals for those who are experiencing homelessness and financial crisis, but it is made up of many programs which are offered to provide the tools and resources to break the cycle of homelessness. I can't think of a better inspiration than the women and children who fill our corridors with hope, laughter and tears. Credit goes to the patient and dedicated staff who insure that the shelter is a safe and inspiring space during time of desperation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

Shade Tree is a great organiztion to work with. They helped our company organize a meal service for their clients. They returned calls and emails quickly, answering all of our questions and made us feel welcomed when our volunteers showed up.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

On a convention to Las Vegas, I was able to spend a Saturday morning at The Shade Tree. It was the most rewarding event. The woman and the children all smiled and seemed so happy. No one would know the troubles each one had. I spent the time mostly with the children, and I was better for it. God was there that day. They were entertaining and made me feel so welcome. The Shade Tree does so much for all of the woman, children and now their animals that it is great to make donations to such a worthy cause. It has a very close family type atmosphere and helps the woman so much. They are empowered and made to feel they can now have a second chance at life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

While searching for charities whose purpose matched those of a non-profit foundation with which I'm associated I found The Shade Tree. I got in touch with the Executive Director and quickly became passionate about supporting their mission, "To provide safe shelter to homeless and abused women and children in crisis and to offer life-changing services promoting stability, dignity, and self-reliance." . My passion has been shared with others and for the past 4+ years we have volunteered through lending a hand where needed at the shelter, doing fundraising events, sending boxes full of urgently needed items and lending moral support to staff and residents. I call it a God-shot that I was guided to The Shade Tree because my work with them has been the most rewarding experience of my life. It even led me to a career change into the non-profit sector.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Meeting some of the women who arrived completely beaten down both physically and emotionally and seeing them go on to become self-reliant and self-confident productive members of society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that it always has enough money, enough beds and enough support from the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

None, it has been the most rewarding volunteer experience of my life.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

This experience has had the most profound effect on me. When I first found TST in 2008 I immediately felt a connection and realized that I had finally found my passion in life. Continued volunteering led me to pursue a professional career change in 2010 when my 30-year career in the construction industry ended and since 2011 I've held a position with a large international non-profit organization. I know that volunteering for TST is what led me here.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

That even the little I can do can make a difference.

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

My first experience with The Shade Tree was three years ago. The dedication of the staff to the community is palpable in every one you meet. Although some clients are in desperate situations, the shelter is filled with light and hope. One cannot leave without being affected by the positive atmosphere. A few hours, once a year with the clients and staff of The Shade Tree energizes me to contribute time and money in my home community in a effort to ensure the women, children and pets here also have a haven and are being cared for.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers