Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.414635
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
September 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I remember the Motther's Day Event!! It was sooo much fun! We got there early and started to set up the items..there were things from body wash and lotions tto scarfs and sweaters for the moms. After set up, each child was called and accompanied by their own "shopper" to pick out what they wanted to give their moms. The why's behind their reasons were priceless. Thank you Shade Tree for making moms and ladies feel special because holidays can be extremely difficult.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I started to volunteer at The Shade Tree it was for school, as I continued to go there twice a week and serve the families lunch, it became a part of me. They would talk to me sometimes about how blessed they feel to have a home within the shelter, and how they learn things such as how to write a resume or tot use the computer while they're here. I moved, but when I get back, I'll definitely visit and volunteer again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Shade Tree always have events to drive success in the women and children. As recent as the back to school drive where all the kids received school supplies for the upcoming school year. I'm glad to help!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

The Shade Tree is the poorest kept for the shelter, for Christimas of 2010 there were over a thousand gift card given that were for the women and the women didn't get them. Some how they got in Marlene Ricther hand and a couple of ladies that work there. The place is in infested with bed bugs and Marlene Ricther isn't doing anything about it. The place is is infested with rats and among other things. I don't donate to the shade tree I donate to safe nest where they really need it. The ladies don't half of the items that are donated. The shelter is filthy inside from up to the botttom. The workers are over work and Marlene is a mean and hateful woman. You have have of the the workers popping pills and drinking on the job trying to cope with the bullshit. I feel sorry for the ladies and the children they are getting half of the stick. There is no installation in the bathrooms. And if anyone says the the shad tree rocks you are lying. Thap place need serious help and the ED need to be thrown out and the rest of them. The residents see nothing that comes in at all. The tissues comes from hotels that has been used they are half of rolls. The Health District need to come down and check on the bed bug infestation and the rats down in the basement and on all the floors. Andl they sometimes are in the bed with the babies when there are holes in the mattress and a family of rats are in there and the babies rats drop in the bed with the children. And roaches are infested also dropping from the ceiling with bed bugs along with them. What next when you donate it is all a show that they are showing donors and they feed into that mess. Have the donors tried Child Haven, Safe Nest, or Safe Haven. Over a hundred or more computers lap tops were donated where are they? The residents didn't get them at all. One gentleman donated $2,500 and it was put under Marlene's door and it hasn't been seen since where did the money go. So think twice because the shade tree is not what it is stacked up to be.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Shade Tree should be the last place you ever want to go if you're fleeing domestic violence. Security is shabby, getting paid minimum wage. You can't pay security minimum wage and expect them to actually want and be motivated to secure the premises. Staff has a very "brush-off" approach, especially administrative staff. The only ones that seem to actually care are the younger staff. Client advocates are outnumbered and short staffed. Overworked and underpaid as many of them say. Shade Tree continues to receive millions in funding and grants but I see nothing done to use up those funds wisely, such as healthier and more adequate food. Sanitation is also another miss. Lastly, I'm familiar with government funding and from the notices on the wall, Shade Tree is abusing HUD and HIP funding. The government should pull their funding so that way they can actually use the external funding they receive rather than dispensing it amongst the higher ups.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

I enjoy volunteering at The Shade Tree I feel The Shade Tree is a wonderful program to help women and children. I believe this program is safe and helpful to the women and Im glad they have The Shade Tree to come to for safety and resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

I had the opportunity to volunteer as a life skills teacher with The Shade Tree a couple of years ago and I had a lot of fun. I honestly learned a lot about how strong some of the ladies.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

There are a lot of families out there that need help; especially those with pets and children. It's good to know there are places out there where people can go to get back on their feet AND be safe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

more

July 14, 2012

i dont know how any one can write a good review on this place but there are a lot of good staff members but ive stayed a shade tree and i can honestly say its nasty and bug ridden bed bug roaches, theres a fight every other night there are people stealing ,while staff have there pick of who to help 3rd floor is for dv. and transtional and second floor is for single woman and familys ,ive been there for 2 weeks i havnt talked to a counslor yet and im not sure what the programs are they give you resources im told ,wake up time is 6.00 ,2 nd floor have to leave the floor at 8 am ,,,they only give you a bus pass if you have an appointment but not to look for housing and jobs ,the food is nasty most time and this morning the sausage was spolied ,,ive watched more then 8 woman get put out and i saw 10 woman whos time wasnt extended and had no place to go there are woman there that has been there 18 months -2 years ,,and some there leaving wth housing due to shade trees help,, but it seems like it depends on if your liked ,,because there are no programs there only class like relaxation ,resume writing orintation and housing on and two ,k,,some of the woman are really beautiful just feel on hard times ,but most are nasdty and crazy the bathrooms are nadty and the rules are dum ive been calling the health department since ive came ,and i wish i coulod get help to leave and get on my feet cause im at my wits end all day the woman smoke ciggaretes back to back ,they sell pills and cigareetes ,people coe back high and drunk ,,all this i swear is true ,,im sure this will fall on death ears but its a shame that ,,outside people come tour the place in the day time see it empty clean and a fe woman there and not no its like a womans prison with children in it ,,but because that the only real shelter in las vegas nevada and woman ,mossstly need a place like this they will always have funding and supporters ,,but if you ask me an out side agency should look at how many times the las vegas police has been there and then you might get the real story

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

The Shade Tree sounds like a HORRIBLE place. Full of discrimination, divisiveness and hatred. They accept some people and turn away others based on infantile notions of body morphology. Dividing families and destroying peoples sense of family unit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers