Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.55
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

What a wonderful service this nonprofit provides, not only women and children but their pets in the time of need. Bless you all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

this is my first experience volunteering for a shelter, when I did my orientation, I did believe that this organization is very organized and helping our people, women and children to get a better chance in life after a crisis in family , it is really benefitting everybody in the society. My child also volunteers here and she could see that Shade Tree is a very secure for kids. well done shade tree!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have had experience with the beautiful workings and mission of The Shade Tree; each staff member puts every ounce of their heart into helping these homeless and battered women get back up on their own two feet and reach self-sufficiency. My experience is even more well-versed at The Shade Tree's Noah's Animal House, the animal kennel temporary "home" to several of the Shade Tree women's pets. Noah's Animal House was the pioneer of adding an animal facility to a Battered Women's Shelter, and the difference it is making in these women's lives is tangible. Being able to bring an animal with them when fleeing an abusive situation is very often the "make or break" of an animal owner leaving a terrible situation. Once safely in the bosom of The Shade Tree, the women seek refuge and therapy from their furry family member, greatly aiding in their progress of their own case plan at The Shade Tree. Finally, time and again, statistics have shown that the recidivism rate on these animal-owner women is greatly reduced when compared to the woman who are not pet-owners or whose pets are not housed with them while in-shelter. I have seen this magic happen in-person, and I know that Noah's Animal House and The Shade Tree is changing lives in the hundreds on a daily basis!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand Noah's Animal House. Because Noah's is the very first on-site shelter, it was build to house only thirteen dogs and fifteen cats. Once word spread of The Shade Tree's amazing animal facility, the demand for Noah's Animal House services greatly exceeded Noah's capacity. It would be a dream come true for the ladies-in-need if The Shade Tree and the beautiful donors and volunteers of Las Vegas and all over the country to combine forces and expand this wonderful facility!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As the previous Volunteer Coordinator at The Shade Tree, I was humbeled and proud to see how the members of the Las Vegas Community came together to assist and support the women and children of this shelter. It was amazing to see how volunteers teaching life skills classes or music lessons in the children's activity center could lift the spirits of residents and provide life changing skills that help women to get back on their feet.

The Shade Tree not only is a place to sleep and get a hot meal, it is a place where residents are offered case management, job referrals, health and nutrition information, support groups and so much more. The Shade Tree is truly unique and one of a kind. Thank goodness for the caring staff and volunteers who serve them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Shade Tree strives to fulfill the needs of the homeless and abused women and children. Not only is housing and job assistance offered, but the shelter has a Children's Activity Center where kids can experience childhood while bonding with their mothers. Furthermore, life skills classes are offered to improve the skills of the women. There are holiday parties, career fairs, and fitness classes to cheer the women and children up. The Shade Tree even has an animal house which was opened in 2007 with the purpose of keeping families together. Women no longer have to give up their animals or leave their pets behind. The residents' animals are able to live right next door. The Shade Tree is a great organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2012

I became aware of the Shade Tree several years ago and the work that Marlene and her people are doing is wonderful for women children and their pets. Each year that I visit them, I come away feeling ... more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the privilege of volunteering at The Shade Tree on several occasions. The safety and comfort that they provide for women, children and also their pets is incredible. Marlene Richter and her staff are warm, caring people who work to give homeless and abused women and children stability and skills for self-reliance. I was so moved by my experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of the Shade Tree several years ago and the work that Marlene and her people are doing is wonderful for women children and their pets. Each year that I visit them, I come away feeling so grateful to know them and to know there is a safe harbor at the Shade Tree for families in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I am honored to be a part of the Shade Tree because it ofers more than a safe, warm place to sleep. Since opening its doors more than two decades ago, women and children have been given the tools to experience a genuine sense of pride in achielving independance. The program is constantly evolving to address the changing needs and issues of homelessness in our community. From job development to healthcare, to a co-located animal shelter for the furry family members...the Shade Tree reinvents itself over and over again as the needs of the clients change. I am so grateful to be able to watch the women and children flourish because The Shade Tree is mroe than a shelter!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2012

more

September 9, 2012

One of my friends invited me to attend their annual walk last year then again this year. It was such a great time. Seeing the staff, kids, babies, friends, family, pets; walking together, talking together, laughing together all in support to raise money for the shelter. Staff at the shelter talked about stories of their clients with such passion to help that definitely rubbed of me, making me want to help more. If you don't take away anything from the experience, at the least it reminds you to count your blessings. I look forward to helping in other ways and will continue to support these events.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2012

more

September 7, 2012

When I lost a bunch of weight, I had all these extra clothes. Without a doubt, the shade tree was my shelter of choice to donate to. I see them on the news asking for help and I can tell they really want to help. I donated a bunch of dresses usable for work and play in addition to shoes and other items the ladies can wear in the workforce . I received a thank you letter and I know its always the right decision to send my items to shade tree.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I remember the Motther's Day Event!! It was sooo much fun! We got there early and started to set up the items..there were things from body wash and lotions tto scarfs and sweaters for the moms. After set up, each child was called and accompanied by their own "shopper" to pick out what they wanted to give their moms. The why's behind their reasons were priceless. Thank you Shade Tree for making moms and ladies feel special because holidays can be extremely difficult.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers