Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.444445
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Shade Tree strives to fulfill the needs of the homeless and abused women and children. Not only is housing and job assistance offered, but the shelter has a Children's Activity Center where kids can experience childhood while bonding with their mothers. Furthermore, life skills classes are offered to improve the skills of the women. There are holiday parties, career fairs, and fitness classes to cheer the women and children up. The Shade Tree even has an animal house which was opened in 2007 with the purpose of keeping families together. Women no longer have to give up their animals or leave their pets behind. The residents' animals are able to live right next door. The Shade Tree is a great organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2012

I became aware of the Shade Tree several years ago and the work that Marlene and her people are doing is wonderful for women children and their pets. Each year that I visit them, I come away feeling ... more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the privilege of volunteering at The Shade Tree on several occasions. The safety and comfort that they provide for women, children and also their pets is incredible. Marlene Richter and her staff are warm, caring people who work to give homeless and abused women and children stability and skills for self-reliance. I was so moved by my experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of the Shade Tree several years ago and the work that Marlene and her people are doing is wonderful for women children and their pets. Each year that I visit them, I come away feeling so grateful to know them and to know there is a safe harbor at the Shade Tree for families in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I am honored to be a part of the Shade Tree because it ofers more than a safe, warm place to sleep. Since opening its doors more than two decades ago, women and children have been given the tools to experience a genuine sense of pride in achielving independance. The program is constantly evolving to address the changing needs and issues of homelessness in our community. From job development to healthcare, to a co-located animal shelter for the furry family members...the Shade Tree reinvents itself over and over again as the needs of the clients change. I am so grateful to be able to watch the women and children flourish because The Shade Tree is mroe than a shelter!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2012

more

September 9, 2012

One of my friends invited me to attend their annual walk last year then again this year. It was such a great time. Seeing the staff, kids, babies, friends, family, pets; walking together, talking together, laughing together all in support to raise money for the shelter. Staff at the shelter talked about stories of their clients with such passion to help that definitely rubbed of me, making me want to help more. If you don't take away anything from the experience, at the least it reminds you to count your blessings. I look forward to helping in other ways and will continue to support these events.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2012

more

September 7, 2012

When I lost a bunch of weight, I had all these extra clothes. Without a doubt, the shade tree was my shelter of choice to donate to. I see them on the news asking for help and I can tell they really want to help. I donated a bunch of dresses usable for work and play in addition to shoes and other items the ladies can wear in the workforce . I received a thank you letter and I know its always the right decision to send my items to shade tree.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I remember the Motther's Day Event!! It was sooo much fun! We got there early and started to set up the items..there were things from body wash and lotions tto scarfs and sweaters for the moms. After set up, each child was called and accompanied by their own "shopper" to pick out what they wanted to give their moms. The why's behind their reasons were priceless. Thank you Shade Tree for making moms and ladies feel special because holidays can be extremely difficult.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I started to volunteer at The Shade Tree it was for school, as I continued to go there twice a week and serve the families lunch, it became a part of me. They would talk to me sometimes about how blessed they feel to have a home within the shelter, and how they learn things such as how to write a resume or tot use the computer while they're here. I moved, but when I get back, I'll definitely visit and volunteer again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Shade Tree always have events to drive success in the women and children. As recent as the back to school drive where all the kids received school supplies for the upcoming school year. I'm glad to help!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

The Shade Tree is the poorest kept for the shelter, for Christimas of 2010 there were over a thousand gift card given that were for the women and the women didn't get them. Some how they got in Marlene Ricther hand and a couple of ladies that work there. The place is in infested with bed bugs and Marlene Ricther isn't doing anything about it. The place is is infested with rats and among other things. I don't donate to the shade tree I donate to safe nest where they really need it. The ladies don't half of the items that are donated. The shelter is filthy inside from up to the botttom. The workers are over work and Marlene is a mean and hateful woman. You have have of the the workers popping pills and drinking on the job trying to cope with the bullshit. I feel sorry for the ladies and the children they are getting half of the stick. There is no installation in the bathrooms. And if anyone says the the shad tree rocks you are lying. Thap place need serious help and the ED need to be thrown out and the rest of them. The residents see nothing that comes in at all. The tissues comes from hotels that has been used they are half of rolls. The Health District need to come down and check on the bed bug infestation and the rats down in the basement and on all the floors. Andl they sometimes are in the bed with the babies when there are holes in the mattress and a family of rats are in there and the babies rats drop in the bed with the children. And roaches are infested also dropping from the ceiling with bed bugs along with them. What next when you donate it is all a show that they are showing donors and they feed into that mess. Have the donors tried Child Haven, Safe Nest, or Safe Haven. Over a hundred or more computers lap tops were donated where are they? The residents didn't get them at all. One gentleman donated $2,500 and it was put under Marlene's door and it hasn't been seen since where did the money go. So think twice because the shade tree is not what it is stacked up to be.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Shade Tree should be the last place you ever want to go if you're fleeing domestic violence. Security is shabby, getting paid minimum wage. You can't pay security minimum wage and expect them to actually want and be motivated to secure the premises. Staff has a very "brush-off" approach, especially administrative staff. The only ones that seem to actually care are the younger staff. Client advocates are outnumbered and short staffed. Overworked and underpaid as many of them say. Shade Tree continues to receive millions in funding and grants but I see nothing done to use up those funds wisely, such as healthier and more adequate food. Sanitation is also another miss. Lastly, I'm familiar with government funding and from the notices on the wall, Shade Tree is abusing HUD and HIP funding. The government should pull their funding so that way they can actually use the external funding they receive rather than dispensing it amongst the higher ups.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers