Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.414635
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

It’s hard to believe all the services Shade Tree offers to the ladies. When I think of shelter, I imagine cots lined up on the floor and people sitting around just to get off of the sidewalk. I volunteered for about a month for school and I have learned that this place is so much more. Shade Tree is not just a shelter. It is a place to get what you need to start again. They have a variety of services available. When you are hungry, you are fed. And not just soup and sandwiches. You can have cereal and milk for breakfast or oatmeal and coffee. I was there during lunch time and saw once they served pizza and another time they had turkey. If you want to take classes to learn about finances they have a bank come in to teach it, if you want to exercise they have yoga (Yoga at a homeless shelter is amazing!), you want to learn computers, they have a class for that. If you want to get a job, they have a program to help you do that, too. It seems as if anything you might need to help you get back on your feet, Shade Tree has is for you.
In regards to one of the other comments, while I volunteered there I did see one altercation between some of the ladies there and I think the staff handled it well (I couldn’t do there job) but I would think that when you get that many people living in the same place together stuff like that is bound to happen once in a while.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

We are a Ministry that would love to reach out specifically to abused women and children and thought this would be a perfect place to donate both our time and resources, but the Director for Shade Tree by the name Brandi mentioned that they cannot have any religion or christian group come in. We are not a religious group, we just want to show love to these people who are hurting, lost and needy in terms of giving our time and their material needs. So i am in doubt if all of the recipient are actually getting much needed help emotionally, economically, mentally and spiritually. And are the donations being accounted for???
July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

A wonderful and much needed charity that provides vital support and care to the women, children..and pets who seek it's help in their most depserate times.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep doing what it is already doing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

I was very moved after my visit to Shade Tree as the support and care this shelter offers women and their families really is life changing. All credit to the team that work so hard to make this such a positive and supportive environment to be in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep doing what they are doing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

Shade Tree truly understands what drives women to stay in these situations and by allowing them to bring their pets, which can often be a reason for them to stay, enables them to escape their home life without fear of consequence. The work they do is amazing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I visited The Shade Tree in July 2013 and I was really impressed what a small team of people with limited resources was able to do. Providing shelter for women, children and pets in Las Vegas is no easy task, but I saw first hand the difference that The Shade Tree makes. I have made a small donation and will continue to promote this nonprofit to everyone as they definitely deserve it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered several times. Recently i volunteered for Christmas in October where all of the children got presents. Also, I was there when all the children were given out costumes. The shade tree makes families feel at home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

As a returning client to the Shade Tree, After returning a year ago form out of town. My experince with this nonprofit is now way better then my last time. I feel that I have gotten more help since my last time here, I came back to Las Vegas to live with family and things where not wtat they seems, therefore I want back to The Shade Tree. Again I must say it is much better then before, I see that staff are more willing to help u now, help in getting u a place to live, a job, to also help in getting u medical help, help in provide u with help for u pets/ and or your love ones. Staff try as best as they can to help,and provide for u as well as others. Last time I was here to me and this is for me, where not as friendly, they where into helping who they wanted to help. Most ladies have to realize that in order to better yourself u must make the first step in helping yourself, therefore others will see this and help u more. You need to stay focus towards your goals. Now I could go on and say things are not perfect here, but why when I and my child are not out in the streets, and are living off family and friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Singles would be on one floor while famlies would be on another.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

An amazing organization with an awesome staff that impacts thousands of lives every year. As a former staff member, I've never had a job more rewarding than The Shade Tree. Having the opportunity to impact someone's life in a positive, caring way is a great responsibility that The Shade Tree doesn't take lightly. This organization lives its mission of providing safe shelter and life changing services that promote stability, dignity and self-reliance to homeless and abused women and children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

The Shade Tree has many good things to help women, children, and pets who come from abusive situations. They help them find jobs, have activities throughout the year, and give them clothing and other items. They also take care of the pets which is really cool. I am happy to support them and the community should support this organization as well. Without The Shade Tree, so many people would have nowhere to go to get back on their feet.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers