Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.444445
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

It’s hard to believe all the services Shade Tree offers to the ladies. When I think of shelter, I imagine cots lined up on the floor and people sitting around just to get off of the sidewalk. I volunteered for about a month for school and I have learned that this place is so much more. Shade Tree is not just a shelter. It is a place to get what you need to start again. They have a variety of services available. When you are hungry, you are fed. And not just soup and sandwiches. You can have cereal and milk for breakfast or oatmeal and coffee. I was there during lunch time and saw once they served pizza and another time they had turkey. If you want to take classes to learn about finances they have a bank come in to teach it, if you want to exercise they have yoga (Yoga at a homeless shelter is amazing!), you want to learn computers, they have a class for that. If you want to get a job, they have a program to help you do that, too. It seems as if anything you might need to help you get back on your feet, Shade Tree has is for you.
In regards to one of the other comments, while I volunteered there I did see one altercation between some of the ladies there and I think the staff handled it well (I couldn’t do there job) but I would think that when you get that many people living in the same place together stuff like that is bound to happen once in a while.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered several times. Recently i volunteered for Christmas in October where all of the children got presents. Also, I was there when all the children were given out costumes. The shade tree makes families feel at home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

As a returning client to the Shade Tree, After returning a year ago form out of town. My experince with this nonprofit is now way better then my last time. I feel that I have gotten more help since my last time here, I came back to Las Vegas to live with family and things where not wtat they seems, therefore I want back to The Shade Tree. Again I must say it is much better then before, I see that staff are more willing to help u now, help in getting u a place to live, a job, to also help in getting u medical help, help in provide u with help for u pets/ and or your love ones. Staff try as best as they can to help,and provide for u as well as others. Last time I was here to me and this is for me, where not as friendly, they where into helping who they wanted to help. Most ladies have to realize that in order to better yourself u must make the first step in helping yourself, therefore others will see this and help u more. You need to stay focus towards your goals. Now I could go on and say things are not perfect here, but why when I and my child are not out in the streets, and are living off family and friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Singles would be on one floor while famlies would be on another.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

An amazing organization with an awesome staff that impacts thousands of lives every year. As a former staff member, I've never had a job more rewarding than The Shade Tree. Having the opportunity to impact someone's life in a positive, caring way is a great responsibility that The Shade Tree doesn't take lightly. This organization lives its mission of providing safe shelter and life changing services that promote stability, dignity and self-reliance to homeless and abused women and children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

The Shade Tree has many good things to help women, children, and pets who come from abusive situations. They help them find jobs, have activities throughout the year, and give them clothing and other items. They also take care of the pets which is really cool. I am happy to support them and the community should support this organization as well. Without The Shade Tree, so many people would have nowhere to go to get back on their feet.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to The shade Tree shelter about a month ago as a Domestic Violence client..but as a Minister even we go through some trials and tribulations. The Shade Tree helped me put my life on track get my health back with their stillman Clinic Miss kanace helped me to get all my medicines.. I came there with nothing but a little bag of clothing my health was poor but within 30 days I found a job with the help of Miss Maggie and the employment center with a place to stay. maggie really work hard to help find employment for the woman there. As a woman in ministry I even got a chance to help others with life problems. If it wasnt forthe support of the volunteers there and the people who donate I dont know where i would be... I nominate the Shade Tree Shelter. Thank You for changing my life..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change the kitchen.. I would get them a kitchen make over.. they really need it..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

What a wonderful service this nonprofit provides, not only women and children but their pets in the time of need. Bless you all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

this is my first experience volunteering for a shelter, when I did my orientation, I did believe that this organization is very organized and helping our people, women and children to get a better chance in life after a crisis in family , it is really benefitting everybody in the society. My child also volunteers here and she could see that Shade Tree is a very secure for kids. well done shade tree!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have had experience with the beautiful workings and mission of The Shade Tree; each staff member puts every ounce of their heart into helping these homeless and battered women get back up on their own two feet and reach self-sufficiency. My experience is even more well-versed at The Shade Tree's Noah's Animal House, the animal kennel temporary "home" to several of the Shade Tree women's pets. Noah's Animal House was the pioneer of adding an animal facility to a Battered Women's Shelter, and the difference it is making in these women's lives is tangible. Being able to bring an animal with them when fleeing an abusive situation is very often the "make or break" of an animal owner leaving a terrible situation. Once safely in the bosom of The Shade Tree, the women seek refuge and therapy from their furry family member, greatly aiding in their progress of their own case plan at The Shade Tree. Finally, time and again, statistics have shown that the recidivism rate on these animal-owner women is greatly reduced when compared to the woman who are not pet-owners or whose pets are not housed with them while in-shelter. I have seen this magic happen in-person, and I know that Noah's Animal House and The Shade Tree is changing lives in the hundreds on a daily basis!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand Noah's Animal House. Because Noah's is the very first on-site shelter, it was build to house only thirteen dogs and fifteen cats. Once word spread of The Shade Tree's amazing animal facility, the demand for Noah's Animal House services greatly exceeded Noah's capacity. It would be a dream come true for the ladies-in-need if The Shade Tree and the beautiful donors and volunteers of Las Vegas and all over the country to combine forces and expand this wonderful facility!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As the previous Volunteer Coordinator at The Shade Tree, I was humbeled and proud to see how the members of the Las Vegas Community came together to assist and support the women and children of this shelter. It was amazing to see how volunteers teaching life skills classes or music lessons in the children's activity center could lift the spirits of residents and provide life changing skills that help women to get back on their feet.

The Shade Tree not only is a place to sleep and get a hot meal, it is a place where residents are offered case management, job referrals, health and nutrition information, support groups and so much more. The Shade Tree is truly unique and one of a kind. Thank goodness for the caring staff and volunteers who serve them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers