Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.960785
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
March 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 8, 2013

I first became acquainted with the Sean O'Shea Foundation when I received a flyer for a free chair yoga training for educators from a school nurse I worked with. The training was phenomenal, and qui... more

March 24, 2014

Being involved with the Sean O'Shea Foundation is something I am very grateful for. This amazing family-run non-profit is doing important work in Southern CA with some of the most at-risk kids. As a student at the only fully accredited Mind-Body Medicine PhD program in the world, I see over and over again in the research that self-regulation is the single biggest factor in a child's success: in school, in relationships, in career, and in life. I know this, so I practice yoga and meditation daily to improve my academic success, my relationships, my health, and my ability to adapt to life stressors. How wonderful that the Sean O'Shea Foundation is introducing these life-long skills that will create lasting change and the ability to cope, and thrive, to the most at-risk children in Southern CA. However, it doesn't stop there. Yoga and improved self-regulation decreases criminal behavior and increases compassion, therefore the SOSF is giving back to all of us by transforming society. If there is any way you can get involved: volunteering, fundraising, attending fundraising workshops, etc. you will be providing a meaningful service to others, as well as yourself.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like most non-profits, the Sean O'Shea Foundation could use more resources to expand their work and serve more kids. They could use help with fundraising, technology, marketing, etc. There is no shortage of heart here, we've got that covered :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 8, 2013

I first became acquainted with the Sean O'Shea Foundation when I received a flyer for a free chair yoga training for educators from a school nurse I worked with. The training was phenomenal, and quite exceeded my expectations. As a Licensed Mental Health Clinician working in a day treatment high school in San Diego, I learned that I could apply to have the SOSF work with the students in weekly yoga classes....for free! I jumped on the opportunity to bring a great resource to the at-risk, high-need population that I worked with. Many of the students were up against challenges such as mental illness, severe behavior issues, gang pressures, trauma, learning disabilities, teen parenting, violent neighborhoods, and chronic socioeconomic stressors.

The Sean O'Shea Foundation ended up working with the students at the school for not just 7 weeks, but several years, and in the process changed a student body and the staff supervising them with their positive message of health, resilience, and taking control over one's circumstances through strength of mind and body. Through the discipline of yoga and nutrition classes, students learned skills to move through life, and in doing so also were surprised to see significant amounts of emotional and physical pain lift. They now had a skill and a hobby to feel good about and mentors that believed in them and demonstrated kind and gentle consistency in their words and actions. Through this process the students developed mental and physical strength and resilience. The staff that participated (myself included) benefited from weight loss, calmer work days, and a nice camaraderie with one another and the students participating.

In addition to being a licensed marriage and family therapist, I am also a facilitator of mind-body skills groups developed by the Center for Mind-Body Medicine, and the SOSF message strengthened and reinforced the group curriculum I was teaching to the students, and led to a synergistic process in their journey of self-care. The story of the tragic loss of Sean O'Shea, a man of many virtues, is one the students can identify with, as the lives of many of them have been peppered with loss. They get to experience something beautiful that grew out of the O'Shea family's loss, and develop hope for their own beauty to grow out of their own losses. I can't say enough about how authentic, inspiring, effective, and professional the Sean O'Shea Foundation Non-Profit Yoga Programs are. It is a direct correlation to the staff who run them. I am proud to be serving on the board of directors of this amazing foundation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 29, 2010

In Southern California, as in much of the rest of the country, yoga has become over the last decade a popular way to exercise. Perhaps more so here than anywhere else, though, yoga is a part of the co... more

March 30, 2014

When you see first hand how rival gang members are in the same room doing yoga with each other, acting calm, it is such a transformative experience. I think this is what makes the Sean O'Shea Foundation stand out from other non-profits. Yoga, perhaps more so than team sports, instills discipline, prevents violence, improves GPA, reduces drop-out rates, improves employability, reduces health care costs. Add to that the nutrition education that the Foundation teaches to at-risk youth and the program literally has the potential to reduce health care costs, gang violence and boost employment rates...all this adds up to enormous benefits for dozens of communities and schools around San Diego County that benefit from the Sean O'Shea Foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Apply for more grants!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 29, 2010

In Southern California, as in much of the rest of the country, yoga has become over the last decade a popular way to exercise. Perhaps more so here than anywhere else, though, yoga is a part of the community and not merely a form of exercise. When I learned of the Sean O'Shea Foundation's work introducing yoga to at-risk and low-income middle and high-school students, I quickly became enthralled at how many kids it has reached in such a short time. Middle school and high school can be terrifying places for kids, especially those that come from broken families or communities also plagued by drugs and violence. Perhaps no other activity can strengthen a vulnerable child's resolve and boost confidence like yoga. The Sean O'Shea Foundation is my non-profit of choice. A friend of mine, a popular yoga teacher, organized a donation yoga class on the weekend, a great, fun way to raise funds for a charity that I truly believe, will save many children from the bleakness that affect all low-income communities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

talking to kids who have gone through the program who have told me that the Foundation has tremendously helped them deal with stress!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire more teachers and grow it even more quickly.

March 27, 2014

more

March 27, 2014

I am a resource coordinator for a small school district with a high free/reduced lunch population. Our district has been the lucky recipients of scholarships from the Sean O'Shea Foundation for the last few years. This program is amazing! They work with us to fit the needs of our students. The student population is 17% Native American and they do not have access to many extra curricular activities. My own son has been able to participate and he loves yoga so much now! One of the best programs I have ever worked with!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

I have been a donor of this wonderful Foundation for five years now and I believe in what it stands for wholeheartedly. The Foundation has made a difference in the lives of the children and it teaches the children the fundamentals of yoga, in addition to learning good nutrition and practices. The children will learn life long skills and these skills will make a difference in their lives for the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

Good Morning. I am the counselor at our K-8 Charter School, this is our 3rd year working with the Sean O'Shea Foundation and I am so happy to say that our kids LOVE yoga! Our middle school boys show up and participate with pride. I have witnessed so much peaceful growth in our students that receive yoga training. I strongly believe this helps to empower the boys as well as spread the peaceful perspective to other students on campus. I look forward to continuing to work with the foundation next year and in the years to come!

More feedback...

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

The O'Shea Foundation has been great to Los Altos High School. First, they did a class with our counselors, and some students. When the counselors schedule filled up, and could not keep the class, the Football Team has got involved. We have 60 kids a week being taught yoga by the Foundation. They have been spectacular. The kids have been really receptive to the teachings, and the instructors have gone above and beyond to be great teachers. I never imagined yoga could capture the minds of 60 teenage meat-heads, and the O'Shea Foundation has done for our program. They have provided mats, and everything the kids need to be successful, Without the foundation, maybe one or two of these kids would have the opportunity to experience on their own.
March 25, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 10, 2013

The Sean OShea Foundation continues to grow under the leadership of Gloria OShea and with the help of all the wonderful volunteers who share their talents with the foundation. The foundation continues... more

March 25, 2014

The Sean OShea Foundation continues to grow under the leadership of Gloria OShea and with the help of all the wonderful volunteers who share their talents with the foundation. The foundation continues to serve the community in so many different ways and is always looking for new areas to help the community
July 10, 2013

The Sean OShea Foundation continues to grow under the leadership of Gloria OShea and with the help of all the wonderful volunteers who share their talents with the foundation. The foundation continues to serve the community in so many different ways and is always looking for new areas to help the community

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 11, 2013

While taking my Yoga teacher training I was introduced to the Sean O'Shea Foundation and was truly moved by the inspirational story. Later down the road after finishing schooling to become a Registere... more

March 24, 2014

I am honored to be a part of the Sean O’Shea Foundation. This organization has given me a voice to express my knowledge and passion of the benefits of mindfulness, mindfulness in the way we move and fuel our bodies. I experience true joy working so close with the youth in my community. Teaching yoga and nutrition classes, I see first hand the advantages these skills offer. After returning to teach a nutrition class for a second semester, I asked the students if they made any “mindful decisions” over the break. One 5th grade girl responded “I changed my eating habits and am eating more fruits and vegetables rather than chips”. I could tell she looked brighter and healthier. In yoga classes, I see them develop awareness with their bodies and breath. It brings happiness to my heart seeing the impact this foundation is giving to the next generations. The Sean O’Shea foundation teaches holistic, practical and meaningful ways for young people to stay connected with themselves and each other.
July 11, 2013

While taking my Yoga teacher training I was introduced to the Sean O'Shea Foundation and was truly moved by the inspirational story. Later down the road after finishing schooling to become a Registered Dietician I reconnected with the Gloria O'Shea and felt extremely grateful for the opportunity to be a board member and share my experience and knowledge of nutrition and mindfulness. This foundation is extraordinary and brings kids the benefit of becoming aware of themselves in a new positive light.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

I have been working with the Sean Shea Foundation for about three years now. I am impressed by all of their programs and the impact they have had on our youth. I have been fortunate enough to have had the opportunity to teach yoga for this non-profit, in a few different settings. I have seen first-hand the incredible effects of yoga in the classroom and in a hospital setting. Yoga and nutrition in a school setting is so important. This program gives children the tools to make healthy and mindful decisions about their mental and physical well being. Also, having previous experience as an elementary school teacher, I know the need for this type of life tool. It may be difficult for us to grasp what these children are going through, however we can guide them in a positive direction through the teachings of nutrition and yoga. I have also been fortunate enough to volunteer with the program “Yoga 4 Kids with Cancer”. As a yoga teacher and volunteer, I have been able to help so many ill children, as well as, have an impact on their families. Yoga in the hospital setting is very important. It helps to calm and soothe suffering children that may be in pain, experiencing discomfort, or may be scared of the unknown. Also, this program helps the families that are tired, worried and stressed immensely. They are given the opportunity to get in some well-needed stretching or breath work. These calming tools can then be practiced, individually and together as a family, any time needed. Furthermore, guardians and parents of these children have expressed their gratitude for the program and the ability to learn some calming techniques that can be used in the hospital setting and when they go home with other family members.

I strongly believe in the yoga programs offered by the Sean O’Shea Foundation. I feel so lucky and proud to be part of these amazing programs with fantastic, generous and smart people. I look forward to continuously seeing the amazing results that all of their programs have to offer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

assist more with fundraising, so we could expand the program and reach more children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 7, 2013

The Sean O'Shea foundation provides for free a seven week yoga and nutrition program to at risk children 8-18 years old. Over the last five years, since the foundation was started after an overwhelmi... more

March 24, 2014

I began my involvement with the Sean O’Shea Foundation as a volunteer shortly after I met Gloria during my Yoga certification at Mira Costa College in 2010. She shared her passion and the story of her son, Sean O’Shea, and even from this early moment, I felt connected to Sean and his compassion for others in his yogic path helping and supporting at-risk children. Since then I taught a few classes and specifically always enjoy relating the story of the mother with her three younger children who came to the last class of a seven week free program to her school and saw her 8 and 10 year old boys in savasana, completely calm. The jaw drop by her was priceless as these boys started out poking and goofing around early in the program. Since then, I’ve been involved as a board member supporting the continued enhancement and growth of the programs with so many testimonials of how our program impacted the whole social dynamics of so many children and young adults. Our children in this program are transformed into by learning about nutrition and yoga and “The Optimist Creed” that Sean taught in his yogic path. Our mission says it all: “To empower youth through yoga, nutrition and optimistic teachings that help to develop life skills that can enable youth to take responsibility for their life, develop respect for themselves and others, and have confidence in their own potential.”

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

continue to work with the skills of an incredible board to enhance and expand the program to youths beyond those we reach today.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2013

The Sean O'Shea foundation provides for free a seven week yoga and nutrition program to at risk children 8-18 years old. Over the last five years, since the foundation was started after an overwhelming response from yogis after Sean O'Shea died tragically in a freak car accident, they have helped thousands of children find the reward of how yoga and good nutrition can help them feel better. One specific experience was watching two brothers, 8 and 10, who started out with an incredible amount of energy having difficulty keeping their hands to themselves. At the last session, the parents were invited in during savasana and their mother saw them laying completely still. Her jaw dropped as she had never seen them so calm. Of course, they were the same two who asked that we bring the program back to their school.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Contact the schools and confirm program schedules, assist our yoga teachers in the classrooms, participate in upcoming events, help to assemble teacher instruction books, organize our supplies, deliver supplies, assist the Exec director...and so much more.