Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

The Save Lucy campaign is doing a terrific job of educating the public & raising awareness of the the devastation that WNS is causing to American bat populations. Project Noah is proud to be a partner of this great organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

The volunteers for the Save Lucy the Bat Campaign work tirelessly to rescue and rehabilitate injured and orphaned bats in addition to raising public awareness about the important role bats play in our ecosystem. I find great intrinsic reward in being a part of this organization that strives to conserve and protect these voracious consumers of agricultural pests. Before coming to volunteer here, I knew a little about the plight of North America's bat population: wide-spread public misconception of bats (chiroptophobia) and I felt concerned about the onset of white nose syndrome as it crept south and west of its area of inception at an alarming rate. I have been volunteering for the Save Lucy the Bat Campaign for several years now. I enjoy participating in educational events but I find the greatest reward in preparing bats to be returned to the environment. Whether it is orphaned babies who have needed hand rearing and lessons on foraging or an injured bat that has needed triage and time to heal, to know that I was part in preparing it for return to the wild is quantifiably a highlight in my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

Save Lucy the Bat is a fantastic organization, as committed to bats as it is to education. Leslie brought bats to our educational summer camp. This program appealed to all 75 campers ages 8-17. We talked about the science of bat detectors, conservation, the role of bats in the ecosystem and even farms, and research in progress to help bats in Virginia and all over the world. The kids could not stop talking about and looking for bats for the rest of camp - and a few campers got over their fear of bats. Thanks to everyone at this organization and everyone who supports it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

Working with the Save Lucy Campaign has been inspiring and life changing! I have learned so much and work with an incredibly compassionate and educated group of individuals. I truly feel we are making a difference and that our work is so important. The organization is well organized and it's President Leslie Sturges is so passionate about her goals to educate the public about bats and WNS.
The bats themselves are just wonderful and so fun to work with. Thank you Save Lucy for taking me on as a volunteer and deepening my knowledge about bats and the ecosystem!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I never knew much about bats. I wasn't scared of them, I just didn't think much about them. I had to become vaccinated against rabies years ago for a job, so I thought I'd help out with wildlife rescue since I was already vaccinated and I love working with animals. It didn't take long for me to morph into a bat-lover and to want to share the stories of their beauty, intelligence and contributions. We need bats and they need us. They need us to start noticing them for the huge roll they play in insect management here in the U.S., which greatly reduces the need to use pesticides (not only reducing chemical impact but saving us money, too). They need us to be smarter and kinder when we encounter them and to know fact from fiction. They've been vilified like no other animal, mainly because of what we don't know about them. Myths have led to centuries of persecution. There's also a widespread lack of interest in bats because it's easy to forget they're around and that they're important since many people never see them out and about, or don't realize they've seen them. They need us to discuss how severely threatened they are by things like the mysterious and deadly white-nose syndrome and wind turbines. The discussions about how to manage these threats are few and far between. They need a voice. Save Lucy aims educate and spark an interest and awareness in these elegant, intelligent and useful creatures. I am so grateful I am able to play a small part in such a big cause. The dark woods behind my house, the peaceful twilight over a meadow, walking home from the metro at dusk...they all reveal something magical to me now. Now, when I stand in the night air I am elevated to a new level of wonder and fascination, as I never fail to notice the graceful presence of a hard-working bat.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

I've been an avid follower and supporter of The Save Lucy Campaign since it's inception and feel it is THE best nonprofit organization in our area. The educational programs alone stand out and are fabulous. They're wonderfully given and perfectly geared towards the age level of the audience, from exrremely young kids to adult.

Not only does The Save Lucy Campaign educate, they're also a rescue and rehabilitation center for native orphaned and injured bats. I can't tell you the exact number of bats that are brought in every year, but I do know it's well over 100. This is a very worthy charity to receive an award! I'd truly like to see that happen..

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

The Save Lucy Campaign is doing an amazing job educating the public regarding bats and the devastating White Nose Syndrome and more importantly, doing all they can to help these amazing creatures.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Does great work both for the bats and for the surrounding community by teaching how important these amazing creatures are to everybody!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Caring about bats may not seem like the most important nonprofit cause, but when you start to learn about the tremendous benefits that bats provide to us, you will understand how important the Save Lucy Campaign really is. For example, the contributions to agriculture are incomparable (pollinating fruit trees, and pest control add up billions of savings to farmers and consumers every year). They also consume billiions of mosquitos, the animal most responsible for human deaths.


I began working with the Save Lucy Campaign almost two years ago. I help with community educational programs, such as tabling at "Air and Scare" at the Air and Space Museum, Bat Fest at a park, scout meetings, and a Green Schools conference. Members of the pubic (adults and children) are able to learn about the positive contributions of bats to humans and our ecosystem. We provide factual information in a fun, engagin way,to help dispel myths and fears regarding these amazing animals.
Since we are also in a crisis situation with bats being killed by White Nose Syndrome, we help educate people able that, as well.

In addition, I work once a week directly with bats as a care giver. The Save Lucy Campaign rehabilitates sick, injured, and orphaned bats, and helps them return to the wild. I was taught how to feed and care for the bats, and it is the highlight of my week!!

The director of Save Lucy Campaign, Leslie Sturges, is an incredible leader. She shares her passion and knowlege of bats with volunteers like myself, and is extremely hard working and organzied. I always know exactly what my responsiblities are. in addition, I feel valued and appreciated as a volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2012

more

September 25, 2012

This is one of my favorite organizations, doing great work for bats and building awareness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Set up a table to talk about bats and white nose syndrome at a community event.