Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.965
Write A Review
October 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I support the Sacred Fire Foundation because of it's commitment to indigenous people. There is no greater need right now than for all people to understand the wisdom of these ancient cultures. The work of the Foundation helps to ensure that that wisdom will not be lost and creates the opportunity for others to learn. The key to restoring balance in our lives, our planet and our spirits lies in this ancient wisdom and I believe the work of the Sacred Fire Foundation is crucial to that. This is a wonderful organization with a wonderful vision and I gladly support their efforts.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a member of the Sacred Fire Community since it first began. Over the years I have watched the Sacred Fire Foundation form and grow, dedicated to supporting the living traditions of indigenous peoples. These traditions hold great wisdom for our lives today.

I am deeply
grateful for being given the opportunity to be exposed to the wisdom and lessons that these traditions offer; that the land I stand on is alive and sacred, that we are here to care for it as it cares for us. So many stories I have read over the years in the Sacred Fire Magazine which taught me more then all the years of school. Just to be exposed to different cultures, has been a gift.

The work this Foundation does is vital for our lives today.
October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I started donating to the Sacred Fire Foundation in 2005. It is now providing grants and awards to numerous important initiatives that support the remembering and flourishing of indigenous wisdom. Inspired by the purpose of the Sacred Fire Foundation, In the last few years, I have worked on two First Nations reserves in Canada. One was with the Ditidaht people on Vancouver Island and one was with the Kanien'kehá:ka (Mohawk) people on the Six Nations of the Grand River Territory in Ontario. I saw the people on the reserves endeavoring to learn their language and to participate with their culture. It was a profound privilege to support the teaching of their children the language and culture. The Kanien'kehá:ka school , Skaronhese’ko:wa Tsyohterakentko:wa Tsi Yontaweya’tahkwawas, The Everlasting Tree School, is an immersion program in a forest setting with a school curriculum focused on the oral tradition of literacy and creating cultural learning through being in nature. I will invite them to apply for a grant from The Sacred Fire Foundation. This work of the Sacred Fire Foundation for remembering indigenous wisdom is the heart of transforming our world into one that is sustainable for our environment and our community.

Judith Mann, Teacher, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

i am learning so much as a part of the Sacred Fire community: ancient wisdom from older cultures who understood our interconnectedness with each other, the earth and all its inhabitants (plants and animals)...as they put it "all our relatives". we need desperately to "see" life in this way. native peoples are trying to help the rest of us understand what a sustainable future looks like. i think they realize we are lost & confused and in spite of all the devastation we have visited upon their ancestors and cultures and this planet, they have great compassion towards us. i am so grateful to have been led to this group of people!
October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

After participating in the Sacred Fire Foundation's community and awareness building activities, I have found a new path that is far older and wiser than many of those I have walked before. The practice of both listening and acting according to the original instructions given to humankind before we became a culture of "takers" have deepened my physical, emotional and spiritual life. Thanks to all who support and build connection through this work.
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Last year I heard Onondaga Chief Oren Lyons address the United Nations stating that "indigenous peoples hold the moral reserve of the world." It is a bold claim. And I believe it is true. The work of the Sacred Fire Foundation embodies this belief. Every dollar spent is to help ensure that the ancient wisdom traditions and their perspectives are preserved and brought forth into the world at this time. The Foundation realizes that modern culture has left us searching for lives of meaning and purpose. And that our disconnection from the sacredness of nature has produced a culture that has commodified Mother Earth to the extent that humanity is now threatened in a real and imminent way. The work and the mission of the Sacred Fire Foundation produces hope. It points us to healing, balance and a way of moving in the world that is in right relationship and sustainable. It feels life-giving to me to be a volunteer and a donor and I invite everyone to experience the joy of supporting this work.
September 26, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

The Sacred Fire Foundation has the beautiful vision of bringing forth ancient native wisdom to heal our troubled world. By honoring and supporting indigenous wisdom with biennial conferences and monetary awards, the wisdom keepers share their precious vision and ways of being in the sacred world around us. We have much to learn. I have attended the signature event it sponsors, Ancient Wisdom Rising, and was deeply moved by the presence and shared wisdom of the elders from all around the globe that were there. It was a life changing experience. It is so rare to have a strong connection between indigenous and western peoples, but so important to start bringing that wisdom back to our people.
September 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I support the Sacred Fire Foundation because I am so deeply touched by the work they do and how they do it.

The Sacred Fire Foundation supports the wisdom held by ancient traditions. They are committed to giving voice to wisdom and the wisdom holders. Our community has weathered a
number of difficulties by connecting to and relying on this wisdom. We have learned much about how to live in a good way with the earth and with each other. To me, this wisdom is our hope—for us, for our children, for the future.

I have known for years many of the people involved with the Sacred Fire Foundation. They work from a place of heart. Their work provides a real benefit for us all.

September 24, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I have participated in events run by the Sacred Fire Foundation, where they honored indigenous wisdom elders and taught the attendees to appreciate the elder world view. I have also gained much information from their website about other elders and wisdom keepers. Every experience related to the Foundation has touched me deeply in many ways. The view of the world as alive and sacred profoundly changes ones view of everyday life. They are definitely worth supporting.
September 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have supported Sacred Fire Foundation since its inception because i believe its charter addresses the root cause of the problems we face in our world at this time. The wisdom of ancient traditions is what is most needed to restore our world to balance and a way of living in deep relationship with each other and the world around us. The wisdom of the past is truly the seed of the future.

Sherry M

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a lot more money to fund Sacred Fire Foundation's initiatives!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers