Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Recently, I have been involved in two programs that are supported by the Sacred Fire Foundation. The first was their Ancient Wisdom Rising Conference at the Blue Deer Center this past summer. The Conference brought together elders from the Huichol (Mexico), Dagara (Burkina Faso), Onondoga (North America) and Bon Buddhist (Tibet) traditions and attracted nearly 200 participants. This was a very moving experience. At a time when the world is so far out of balance, we desperately need to hear from authentic elders who are following the path of their ancestors. To have four such elders come together, share their experiences, and dialogue with each other, was of immense value.

I have also been involved in a Mentor training program that is being partially funded by the Sacred Fire Foundation. Their support has helped us to contract an experienced mentor-trainer (Thomas Balisrieri)--a person who has extensive experience in higher education counseling and administration, but who also follows the path of the Lakota people. His practical experience and his deep awareness of the spiritual dimensions have helped us to create a mentoring program which will truly help our young people to make the critical transition from youth to adulthood.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide it with more resources so it could do even more!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

The work of the Sacred Fire Foundation offers hope for our world and for all living beings for generations to come. It is only by honoring, reviving and sustaining indigenous wisdom that we can truly find our way to a sustainable way of life. The SFF has demonstrated a keen attunement to programs that support this kind of sustainable wisdom. I am in full support of their work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I attended the Ancient Wisdom Rising conference several months ago. This is a conference hosted by Sacred Fire Foundation that gathers elders together from around the world so we all can share in their wisdom and guidance. This year the elders represented the Dagara (Africa), Onondaga and Tsalagi (United States), Huichol (Mexico) and Bon Buddhist(Tibet) traditions. Their presentations included story and dance, discussions of history and culture, music, drumming, ceremony and meditation. We were pulled into sorrow and floated into joy. We talked of restoration of balance, of the necessity of community, of the beauty of the natural world. We opened our hearts and explored the dream of Oneness. We met old friends and new. I'll never forget this time, nestled into the land of the Blue Deer Center with its history of peacemaking, its sacred river and the morning's soft fog blanket over summer meadow. The mission of Sacred Fire Foundation is to preserve and promote the perspectives and benefits of ancient wisdom from around the world. The educational initiatives and grant programs of the foundation endeavor to bring the gifts of ancestral Being to our modern world in an effort to hear the voice of the Heart and keep it alive for the generations to come. I endorse this foundation and their work wholeheartedly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way for its many blessings to flow into the lives of everyone

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

One of the top reasons I support the Sacred Fire Foundation with money is because I see the SFF as holding a place, in the 21st century global community, for knowledge and support of long-time traditional cultures. Whether or not you believe in the wisdom of ancient traditions, the fact is: there are 7 billion of us working to create our futures on this planet. Will we work together, with awareness of and respect for our neighbors' perspectives?

I have been lucky to meet some of the people behind the SFF, and have been very impressed with their integrity--and their ability to make excellent use of monetary resources.

Best wishes to Sherry Morgan, Eliot Cowan, Safia Johnson, David Wiley, Wendy Core, Larry Messerman, Annie & Dan Sprinkles, Amanda Kerner, and the many other people who contribute their talents and resources toward this vital initiative.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Sacred Fire has manifested strongly in my life as a tremendous movement of Heart energy, and that manifestation takes the form of an incredible community and the organizations that makes its work possible.

The Sacred Fire Foundation is one of those organizations. I have consistently
supported the Foundation since its very inception because I have been so inspired by the work that it does and by the incredible spirit and dedication of those who volunteer their time, money, blood, sweat and tears.

The mission for this organization is nothing less than the regeneration of human society, reaching back to bring forth what is sacred and supremely practical about the wisdom traditions of our ancestors, and doing so in a way that highlights the relevance of this wisdom for us as a modern people. The wisdom of the past is rooted in what is true and potent about life in this realm, and so it is every day as applicable to life today as it was thousands of years ago. Sacred Fire, through all of its offerings, gives us a way to see, learn and experience this in our own lives.

My life was touched deeply by the Foundation's event "Ancient Wisdom Rising". I was lucky enough to be a volunteer to help plan this event for a number of years. The event itself proved to be life changing - being able to be in the presence of traditional elders and to breathe in their wisdom first hand. But what was even more life transforming was my participation in the process of helping to make the event happen. I never would have imagined what came forth from that had I tried to at the outset. The people involved with the Sacred Fire Foundation are some of the most inspired, energized, energizing and well grounded people I have ever met. Their integrity in the work that they do was at once humbling and awe inspiring, I feel lucky to have just been a part of it. Through working with them, I learned new things about myself that helped me to take the next steps in my life, and it helped me to see my own strengths, weaknesses and path of growth in a very raw and powerful way that ultimately led to a great transformation in my personal life. What more could a person ask for?

I am a lifelong supporter of the Sacred Fire movement. The offerings of the Sacred Fire Foundation provide a shining example of what is good and right in the world today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I was raised with Traditional Haida Spiritual ways: attended a gathering of Ancient Wisdom Rising and was delightfully surprised and not only the dedication but the authenticity the people and the ceremonies. Sacred Fire is more than just another in a plethora of Spirituality publications that takes a Shot-gun approach to informing the reader. I found its content to be informative, enlightening, authoritative and authentic. Thank you. Woodrow Morrison (Haida Elder), BA, JD

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 14, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

For me, the Sacred Fire Foundation plays a critical role in helping to restore balance between the heart and mind in our society. Through our educational efforts, we strive to provide a spark to awaken the individual to their connection to the world around them, their friends and neighbors, and even to themselves (their own heart) by exposing them to the wisdom and lifeways of ancient traditions around the world. Of equal importance, we seek to protect and promote the sources of this ancient wisdom through the support provided by our partnership and grants work. To me, what is unique about the SFF is its global perspective and its openness to any and all recognized sources of ancient wisdom traditions, providing people with exposure to the broadest possible array of elders, wisdom keepers and traditional teachings so they can find their own "way home."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Sacred Fire Foundation staff took a deep interest in our Cherokee cultural leadership program. They were hands-on, assisting me and my group through the grant process by making sure we were clear about their goals and objectives. I was very impressed with their interest in helping us further leadership development through the creation and dissemination of CDs with recording phrases in the Cherokee language. This process was a tremendous way for our alumni to put what they'd learned into action, and around a project they dearly loved. It also helped them to connect even deeper than during their time with the program. Sacred Fire is awesome!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This was our first experience with SFF; it was so pleasant and supportive that I don't feel, at this time, there is anything I would change about how they conduct business and their focus.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The foundation chooses different indigenous people in the world that are sincerely working to preserve the wisdom of their traditions and who are willing to share it with all of us. The world needs these wisdom keepers to flourish and the Sacred Fire Foundation is helping them to do that.
It
is my hope that eventually these wisdoms will reach all of us so we may find a healthy way for all beings to flourish on the Earth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 13, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Sacred Fire has changed my life to being a life rich, full, and really worth living. The Foundation has as it's mission nothing less than bringing forth and preserving the ancient wisdom by which humankind survived for hundreds of thousands of years. Only very recently in the vast time we have been here have we gown so fearful and cold because of the over reliance on the mind. The Sacred Fire Foundation highlights to the Western world the wisdom needed to survive these times. SFF reaches to the moral reserve which is held by the indigenous peoples of the world. We support these people in unique exchanges with them to help keep their wisdom alive.
The work of the Sacred Fire Foundation brings new hope and direction to us who see we must take a different path. I am very blessed to be able to serve on the board of this organization which is making a difference in the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would donate a million dollars to the Foundation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers