Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.8755
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

Parent of a volunteer. My daughter loves this place and loves volunteering with the horses and kids! The Right Step is a great place! The Right Step helps my daughter keep busy and stay out of trouble all the while helping the horses and kids with special needs.
October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 11, 2012

I started volunteering with The Right Step in Dec of 2011. I instantly fell in love with the program and started working on becoming a PATH Int'l Certified Instructor so I could help teach the kids (I... more

October 17, 2013

I have now been teaching with The Right Step for a full year and volunteering for almost 2 years. With their help, I completed my certification to become a PATH Int'l Therapeutic Riding Instructor at the Registered level and together we achieved PATH Int'l Premier Accredited Certification. The program is growing and always looking for ways to improve. We have amazing riders, families, volunteers and horses allowing the program to operate 7 days a week helping so many with special needs. I am so happy to have all these wonderful people and animals in my life and can't wait to extend the family as the program grows in the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 11, 2012

I started volunteering with The Right Step in Dec of 2011. I instantly fell in love with the program and started working on becoming a PATH Int'l Certified Instructor so I could help teach the kids (I'm halfway to achieving this goal thanks to The Right Step). The horses used to help our students are some of the older horses out at Coventry Farms, the same horses I grew up riding as a kid at the same Farm. Getting to work with these horses again and watch them as they bring something special into the lives of people with a wide range of mental and physical disabilities that come to enjoy the benefits of the program is so incredible. This program allows the horses to have another chance to work and feel useful again as they are too sore to jump and handle the full work load of the other side of things there. Some of them have even spoken up in their own way to say they are completely done with Coventry Farms and only want to be used with The Right Step. The clients these horses help are amazing. I have had the worked with some that would not talk when they started and after a few months were using full sentences and you were lucky to get a word in of your own. I have also had the privilege of working with clients in wheelchairs and watching them develop strength and balance to the point where they can now hold themselves upright unassisted and independently control the horse. For 30 minutes those clients are completely free and moving on their own with the biggest smiles I've ever seen. Watching the horses and clients work together brings me and the other volunteers I've worked with so much joy and in itself a therapy for us, motivation to keep going both in the ring with them and outside of it in our everyday lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 11, 2012

I have volunteered for The Right Step since its inception in 2008. I started as a horse leader/side walker and now have been on the board since 2011. I measure our "greatness" not in the fanciness o... more

April 5, 2013

I am honored to serve on the Board of Directors for this amazing program. I see positive changes happening in the lives of our clients, volunteers, and instructors every day. We are working very hard to make our program better in everything we do. No one is content with the status quo and it show! I'd love to have you come out & see us in action!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2012

I have volunteered for The Right Step since its inception in 2008. I started as a horse leader/side walker and now have been on the board since 2011. I measure our "greatness" not in the fanciness of our facility or brochures but in our ability to change lives for the better. Not only do we have clients reporting that other doctors and therapists are amazed at their strength because of the riding, but also we have volunteers who have found a sense of community and compassion formerly lacking in their lives. I am proud to be a part of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Building client base

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I have been a volunteer since the inception of The Right Step and a certified EAP/EAGALA instructor whom has run a Veterans EAP Program to assist with homeless veterans. I have had the unique opportunity to see the program in action from both positions of volunteer and instructor which has provided me with a full spectrum of equine assisted growth, development and learning. These programs provide a unique opportunity for special needs children and adults which generate results not found through the traditional treatment plans most are familiar with. Clients derive both physical and psychological benefits from these programs and it assist in and enhances other developmental goals within each of their lives. Clients are not the only ones whom benefit but I have witnessed the impact made upon our many volunteers whom serve with their time, effort and donations. I have personally witnessed the growth, learning and life impacts to our volunteers for the horse runs free and caries the spirit on a journey. Please consider becoming part of The Right Step family

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

The Right Step is definitely a program I wish I volunteered with more often, for a while now since there are more and more amazing volunteers I have been helping out a little bit less. Even though I am not usually as involved with the program it is still possible to see the benefits coming out of it. There are always the volunteers who are so helpful and nice coming in and out of the barn as well as the clients who sometimes are out on trail rides and always look as though they are having fun. Overall it is just a wonderful thing to be around almost everyday and to see how much everyone; riders, families, volunteers and even the instructors can grow just by being a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

The Right Step program has been an important part of my life for over two years. It is one of the most rewarding activities I have ever participated in. The benefits to the clients are physical and psychological. For the client to be in contact with his/her horse provides considerable sensory stimulation. The instructor and volunteers throughout each lesson provide for social connections that are enriching for the client and the volunteers. It is my joy and honor to serve my community in this way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I have had the honor of volunteering with The Right Step since it began in 2008. I absolutely love everything about this program, the sense of community, the clients, the other volunteers I have met, and of course the horses! It's been amazing to watch the progress that the clients have made and to watch their smiles as they walk out of the arena after a lesson is a bonus!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I am honored to be a part of this special program that is so impactful to the community, families, riders and volunteers. There are no limitations or labels placed on these individuals and to see such strength, courage and trust these riders have with the trainers, volunteers and horses is amazing. I have never been around horses, was afraid of them since they are much bigger than I am, but I am now a horse lover. Just grooming them and talking to them is so cathartic. It is a great way to end your day by working in the program and seeing these kids smile and speaking for the first time. I want to thank The Right Step for letting me be part of something so majical.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I had the pleasure of working with The Right Step last spring with their first-ever "Hoedown" to help raise awareness of the foundation and money for scholarships. I was immediately impressed with the work they do regarding equine therapy, and seeing the benefits of this therapy first-hand was truly moving. I was so touched by the good they do, that I decided to get involved with their fundraiser last year. Since it was the first year of the Hoedown, there was lots to do and I was able to be help from the ground level with everything from helping with the overall concept of the event, sponsorships, silent auction items, entertainment and much more. It was a lot of work but seeing the fruits of our labors come together to help people who so greatly benefit from equine therapy, made it all worth while. I highly recommend The Right Step not only as a place for superior equine therapy, but as an organization who's work directly impacts the community in a very positive way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I joined this organization 2yrs ago with no real expectations, all I knew is that I wanted to give back to the community. What I have found is a wonderfully passionate organization that does so much for so many people. The Right Step, Inc. is a 501 (c) 3 nonprofit that focuses on equestrian therapy. Our mission is to help the lives of people with disabilities through the healing power of horses. While that is a true statement, we do so much more. We have clients of all ages but primarily we work with children and young adults suffering with Autism. Our clients become our family. To watch as they improve their quality of life by improving the cognitive, motor, emotional and aptitude skills it's not only a blessing for them, but their families, friends and everyone at TRS. Coventry farms is a wonderful facility that has a proud heritage of horsemanship. They have created a true utopia that our clients can take advantage of. Our instructors do this work for one reason, love. They love their clients, they love the therapy horses, they love the volunteers, but most importantly they LOVE coming to work day in and day out. We had our fundraising Gala this past weekend and our guests included: Board Members, Volunteers, Clients and people from the community. I was reminded through out the entire evening why TRS needs to be around. It is a fantastic place that gives way more then it receives. I encourage you to learn more on www.therightstepinc.org

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a sidewalker or horse leader for 3 lessons. Volunteer