Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
316 Reviews
1234.778485
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

As a government whistleblower whose scientific career was nearly destroyed when I disclosed incompetence and fraud at the National Institutes of health, I know the important protections POGO provides to whistleblowers like me.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

There is a reason why whistleblowers and news reporters flock to POGO. It is because of its long track record of uncovering fraud and abuse throughout the U.S. government (including abroad). Although physically located inside the beltway, POGO has never come down (and never will) with the beltway disease of compromising in order to get coveted access to the higher levels of government. POGO keeps its integrity. Perhaps my greatest compliment is to observe that I have seen with my own eyes how government officials and contractors fear POGO.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope it had greater financial support

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

POGO is an exemplary public-service group that speaks truth to power -- then holds it accountable through practical revelations about the inner workings of government. When analyzing energy and science issues at GAO, I found myself many times crossing POGO's path, as both organizations are dedicated to exposing waste, fraud, and the abuse of power. POGO's methods are more direct that GAOs, and in many ways more effective for their timely revelations.

As a journalist covering the federal government, and as a Senior Analyst at GAO, I have spent decades investigating and exposing foolish and wasteful government programs. POGO is unique in its ability to be an independent and rigorous watchdog for the public interest.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

POGO watchdogs our government effectively. We need more of this! Citizens can participate in government more successfully with information from POGO,

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

seems to work well as it is

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 8, 2014

more

June 8, 2014

POGO has been an essential partner in building stronger capacity in US civil society to grapple with our unique problems of transparency. They are highly effective & good listeners.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get it more resources.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 8, 2014

more

June 8, 2014

In an era where transparency in governmental affairs creates confidence for citizens and all vested interests, POGO is a sine qua non for insuring integrity and enlightening the public when governments fall short of public expectation. The price of democracy is eternal vigilance and POGO is one important organization in insuring the capacity for independent oversight, thus insuring a solid political and intact economic infrastructure for our nation, past, present and future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase it's capacity to oversee all federal departments and suggest important changes in policy. POGO will need more funding in order to attain these goals. Such oversight creates a panopticon on all government offices and procedures.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

I strongly support the excellent work that POGO does in keeping the public informed about the abuses of various government agencies and their contractor collaborators. Since starting to receive the POGO newsletter, I have become aware of many situations of financial and authority abuse by our Government and especially on the effects of this abuse on the lives of the regular, tax-paying citizen. If it weren't for POGO, I would not be aware and certainly not as angered by the level of abuse that occurs on a daily basis.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

I came across this government accountability group called POGO a couple of years ago. It was a godsend in so many ways. I worked for a defense contractor and witnessed and experienced many personal and life changing events. My eyes were opened to the abuses being committed against the taxpayers. I've always been an activist for consumers and animals but now I've added to that government accountability. I've learned so much from this outstanding group of reporters and investigators. I've learned the truth! There are other groups out there but I can honestly say that POGO and its staff are exceptional in so many ways. They are highly qualified, skilled and respected in their work; plus you couldn't ask for a nicer group of people who go out of their way everyday to help others. If you are someone who believes that things in this country must change, then by all means you need to follow this group. Your eyes will be opened for the better. You won't feel like you're alone in your efforts to make this world a better place. I am so proud to call POGO a group of very dear friends. There are still good people in this world and there is no better example than this wonderful group called POGO. Please follow at POGO.org; you will be happy that you did.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing. No one reports the truth like POGO does.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014



The Project on Government Oversight is one of the most effective nonprofits in Washington, D.C. Over the years, its efforts have produced incalculable benefits for whistleblowers and the general public. Its staff is energetic, idealistic and creative. Its leader, Danielle Brian, is a
visionary and a very honorable human being, a combination you often don't find in D.C.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

I watch for my e-mails from POGO. One day I know Americans like I will join POGO and then indeed this democracy will work. There are those in Congress, those running for the US Senate who do not believe that government should "regulate", nor should government be in the business of "charity" and I do not share those "political beliefs". I believe our democracy is enhanced, set on a path sure by our government regulating our water supply, our natural resources, and ensuring the good health of all Americans. This is why I am a member of POGO despite being unable to financially support the effort to be part of those Americans who are the people "watching the watchers".

That we are Americans who will not tolerate the Office of Inspector General "looking the other way" as veterans suffer in long lines for nothing. I am a part of POGO.

I may not be Republican, nor am I living in an area of this Nation where one can step up to the "Mayor" and plead for clean air and water. POGO I know you must not support the "oversight" here in Arizona State where "Old Time Christian values" have replaced law and order and as we face drought we face it's disaster, and we know those values applied to Arizona State deny us the pursuit of our happiness.

I am a Democrat knowing the Inspector General was not stood to serve and protect the morning that the US Senate failed to censure the Social Security Administration for stepping outside the law, for violating the precepts of the Social Security Trust Agreements. I know this must be a job POGO must see as problem. For when the Social Security Administration, from top to bottom, believed itself beyond the law, and the Inspector General believed those Americans disabled and handicapped not eligible under law of equal treatment. Then death resulted, lives, parents, loved ones were lost. It is time for the American people to turn-in and watch the dereliction at the Office of Inspector General. for our tax dollars paid as Medicare and as SSDI are not safe.

It is great to know Veterans Administration employees blew a whistle. It is great that Veterans will not forsake their demands that they as Veterans receive in benefit allotment the highest stand of ethic in delivery. So would, so must those disabled when being shuffled to the end of the "seven year line" by government employees thinking themselves beyond the law at the Social Security Administration. It is time to believe we as American's can not only enrich our own lives but those of others. We can demand honesty and that is why I joined POGO!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make noise, I would like to see POGO angry that the "First Reponders" in New York City when making Claim for their SSDI Benefits were put at the end of the "seven year line" because why. Because the Inspector Generals Office did not serve and protect, not even their own. I would like the members of POGO o share my grief at the lives lost way to soon, the suffering that was so unnecessary POGO take a moment, to reflect,. "No more orphans and widows must be made."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

A. Help file Freedom of Information Act Requests.B. Help with Graphic Design.C. Help with Background Research.