Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
134 Reviews
1234.813435
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

POGO provides comprehensive oversight of wasteful federal spending, especially huge Defense Department boondoggles. They keep track of the revolving door between defense and government with a detail unmatched by other NGOs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013

Concerned, active and informed citizens are the cornerstone of our democracy. Without the efforts of supporters , we could not pressure Congress and the administration to enact meaningful reforms, such as recent legislation to protect whistleblowers and crack down on human traffickers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

My name is Abraham Hafiz Rodriguez, and I am a soon-to-be physician who is graduating from the University of Illinois College of Medicine in May 2013. I strongly support POGO because few non-profit organizations are helping to tackle the important issues that POGO bravely tackles. There are many groups that claim to be increasing transparency and countering government corruption, but very few actually take action and promote grassroots efforts to solve these major problems our nation and planet face today. I rate POGO as 5 stars because it far exceeds my expectations for what non-profit organizations should be doing to help change our world for the better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

My name is Beth Ruegg. I have been involved with POGO for about a year and a half. POGO is a credible organization that is very effective in holding Government accountable when it comes to fraud, waist, and abuse. They also work very hard in fighting for issues surrounding human rights such as human trafficking. They have a strong committment to protecting whistle blowers. POGO serves as a shining example for all grassroots organizations.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013


The most important aspect of POGO is the fact that there is no corporation calling the shots on the content of its reporting. If you've haven't noticed corporations have turned our elected representatives into mere SOCK PUPPETS doing their bidding in exchange for election
contributions.
The Supreme Court ruling in Citizens United v Fed allows corporations to spend unlimited money on our election of political candidates using SuperPacs as a conduit for its money. This enables them to control the use media advertising promoting those candidates that will push legislation favoring them. The bulk of TV time for ads is about 20 days prior to election day. This is the period of time that most voters make their choices. The result being that the choice of a candidate is heavly influnced in favor of corporations.
In my opinion our democracy has morphed into a CORPOCRACY.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

By far one of the most important, and singularly effective nonprofits I have ever had the pleasure of working for/with!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013

more

April 26, 2013

POGO provides unique research and publication with respect to oversight of government spending in areas where public and journalistic coverage is often minimal. They do an exceptional job of drawing attention to ill-conceived and wasteful policy/programs and their implementation. I only wish I could do more to help their efforts financially but as a retired academic funds are very limited...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

POGO is by far the most effective non-profit organization in its arena, in addition to its arena being one of the most important and fundamental to the American spirit of democracy and government accountability. Without a well-organized group such as POGO, the government would be even more rampant with corruption than it is now and we should celebrate the largely unthanked efforts of individuals working within groups like POGO to stem the tide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

POGO is one of the few unbiased sites from which I can get accurate information about my government, information that is not available in the mainstream media.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

The Project on Government Oversight has researched many examples of government waste. If we are supposed to be cutting the deficit, a non profit like POGO is vital as it discovers many areas of wasteful spending in government.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

A. Help file Freedom of Information Act Requests.

B. Help with Graphic Design.

C. Help with Background Research.