Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
316 Reviews
1234.778485
Write A Review
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

Clear and accurate information is hard to come by. POGO exceeds my expectations. I am so grateful for this resource
July 22, 2014

more

July 22, 2014

I support POGO because it works and keeps them honest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

I am a service-connected disabled veteran.USMC, with 14 years Staff Sergeant. its been since October 2013 I've been trying to get into the VA clinic in Yuma Arizona CBOC. I desperately need physical therapy which is not provided to the clinic and I have to see private practice, but since the VA has to pay for the is it takes them over a year to be seen. currently I am in extreme pain right foot lower back shoulders knees and the pain medication they stop giving me now I get three private practice. thank God for pain management in the private practice section. any other concerns please contact me.
Sean Cannon. Sjcannon3@gmail.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

leave everything like it is

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

Why am I being ignored? Why has my government turned their back on me? I am no criminal, and have no criminal record.
I've PATIENTLY WAITED day shy of 3 years for my VA ABUSE Federal Investigation I have for almost 3 years. My U.S. Politicians and U.S. Gov't. have keept me going in a vicious
circle! I am crippled, tired and hurt. Mr. Lynn E. Carter. VA ABUSE 6-15-2011 remains uninvestigated - PLEASE READ
On 01-21-2014 Dr. Jimmy Herndon advised my husband to keep away from the news media and to forget the issue of abuse of 6-15-2011 ever occurred. Dr. Herndon came by May 24, 2014 to notify my husband he (Dr. Herndon) is ready to BLOW the WHISTLE and tell the truth of my husbands June 15, 2011 VA ABUSE. Dr. Herndon borrowed our wood saw and said he would return it that evening but we have NOT herd from him nor has he returned our saw. VA ABUSE: Veteran Was Forced To Lay 5 Hours In Feces & Urine at VA Hospital due to his BRAIN ex-rays being sent to ALABAMA to be read by doctors there, WHY ALABAMA, THEN RELEASED FROM VA HOSPITAL NEAR NAKED - abuse remains uninvestagated by Arkansas District 3 U.S. Politicians and U.S. GOVERNMENT. Lynn E. Carter who seeks a U.S. Federal Govt. Investigation into U.S. Veterans Hospital Abuse of June 15,2011, at Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks http://www.fayettevillear.va.gov/ located in Fayetteville, Arkansas. http://www.littlerocknews.org/u-s-veterans-hospital-abuse-u-s-veteran-denied-gov-investigation-after-u-s-veteran-was-forced-to-lay-5-hours-in-feces-urine/ U.S. Veterans Hospital Abuse - "Veteran Denied Gov Investigation After he Was Forced To Lay 5 Hours In Feces & Urine. These Arkansas U.S. District 3 officials who totally refuse to talk or contact my husband are with exception of the HONORABLE John Boozman http://www.boozman.senate.gov/public/AR , are Senator Mark Pryor, Phone: (501) 324-6336 http://www.pryor.senate.gov/public/ Congressman Steve Womack Phone: (202) 225-4301 https://womack.house.gov/ WHO LIED TO US BY SAYING THE INVESTIGATION WAS GOING TO BE HEADED BY SENATOR STEVE WOMACK VETERAN LIASION WHO TOLD MY HUSBAND THERE WOULD BE NO INVESTIGATION BECAUSE THE TIME LIMITATION HAD RUN OUT "IT HAD ONLY BEEN A YEAR BEFORE THE TORT LAW WAS FILED AND AGREED UPON, AND HAD 1 YEAR LEFT TO ACT UPON" Veterans Hospital where the abuse took place, http://www.fayettevillear.va.gov/ each totally ignore him, and refuse to meet face to face with him, or offer a resolve into the issue of U.S. Veteran ABUSED at Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks http://www.fayettevillear.va.gov/ on June 15, 2011. Senator Mark Pryor, Phone: (501) 324-6336 http://www.pryor.senate.gov/public/ has yet to speak to my husband. My husband is aware he will never get the investagation he ask for, he understands the Govt. will come after him for making this public, but remains persistant in this issue, that it never happens to another U.S. Veteran at any of our U.S. Veterans hospitals, or clinics. http://www.littlerocknews.org/u-s-veterans-hospital-abuse-u-s-veteran-denied-gov-investigation-after-u-s-veteran-was-forced-to-lay-5-hours-in-feces-urine/ Arkansas Govenor Mike Beebe's office called my husband Monday, Feb 24, 2014 sugesting my husband call Patient Advocate: CARYLON MILLER 479-443-4301 ext 65147. My husband called the lady's phone number at the Veterans HOSPITAL which was given to my husband by Gov Beebe's office. The Patient Advocate: CARYLON MILLER TELEPHONE: 479-443-4301 ext 65147 at Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks http://www.fayettevillear.va.gov/ located in Fayetteville, Arkansas told my husband she had no idea if that VA hospital where she works has survalance cameras or not) She told my husband she would get back with him in a day or so, but she still hasn't called him back. RED FLAGS? "Taken From President John F. Kennedy's Civil Rights Speech, June 11, 1963" This Nation was founded by men of many nations and backgrounds. It was founded on the principle that all men are created equal, and that the rights of every man are diminished when the rights of one man are threatened. http://www.littlerocknews.org/u-s-veterans-hospital-abuse-u-s-veteran-denied-gov-investigation-after-u-s-veteran-was-forced-to-lay-5-hours-in-feces-urine/ My husband has made MANY, MANY, MANY phone to the U.S. Govt., and elected officials (PHONE RECORDS TO PROVE THIS) and nightmares my husband suffers of June 15, 2011. I lose a days pay each time MY HUSBAND HAS to visit doctors at the U.S. Veterans hospital at Fayettville AR which is about 50 miles from our home, or, our Fort Smith V.A. clinic and we are NOT reimbersed for travel. My husband, Lynn E. Carter, ask for and received a Tort Law claim, but it has, as he is told, exceeded it's terms of limitation, to which the U.S. Government, and most U.S. elected officials, ( Mark Pryor Phone: (501) 324-6336 http://www.pryor.senate.gov/public/ and Congressman Steve Womack Phone: (202) 225-4301 https://womack.house.gov/ ) are glad, it is as if they wish my husband would just die and go away (forget the issue.)
U.S. Veterans Hospital Abuse - Veteran Denied Gov Investigation After Veteran Was Forced To Lay 5 Hours In Feces & Urine Then Released Near Naked.
My husband, Lynn E. Carter ask and was denied by U.S. Government officials to Conduct A Formal Investigation into U.S. Veterans Hospital Abuse of June 15, 2011. Senator Mark Pryor, Phone: (501) 324-6336 http://www.pryor.senate.gov/public/ and Congressman Steve Womack Phone: (202) 225-4301 https://womack.house.gov/, each of AR District 3 Washington DC totally refused my husband an Official U.S. Government investigation. PLEASE READ THE Following ARTICLE: Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks U.S. Veterans Hospital, Fayetteville, Arkansas http://www.fayettevillear.va.gov/
When we pulled up to the Emergency Room, I pulled into the drive-thru, and a male EMPLOYEE Came out and RUDELY told me I could NOT park here because it was the ambulance entrance that I would have to move my car down the hill and go in through the emergency room check in. (Please note this is the very spot we were told to park, by the U.S. Veterans Eye Clinic Doctor Fayetteville, AR) http://www.fayettevillear.va.gov/ (Why were there no surveillance video to prove this.) I got back in the car, and pulled down the hill and went up the stairs and went to the check in desk. When I told the employee at the desk what was going on, he told me to pull my car BACK up the hill to where I just was because they would have to get my husband out of the car and into a wheelchair. I walked back to the car, backed up the hill to the door and they came out and put my husband in a wheel chair and wheeled him back to the check in desk. In a few minutes they came and got us and a nurse checked us in and asked us all kinds of questions about what was going on. After she was finished, they took my husband back to a room in the ER where we were for the next 5 hours. Five hours in which my husband lay in pain and his own URINE, FECES, and STENCH. When we were leaving the VA hospital, I went to go out the door we came in, I was trying to push/force it open and the HIPPIE looking guy behind the desk (the same one who made me pull down the hill in the first place) RUDELY YELLED “Don’t do that, you’ll break the door," "we have to push the button”, and I said to him “Then open the damn door! So he pushed the button, the door opened, and I went and got the car and came back for my husband. I was the one who was mad, not my husband. My husband was incapacitated DUE TO THE STROKE he was having and not at all mad or upset. He was barely conscious ... May I also add that my husband was dismissed from the U.S. Veterans hospital wearing only a diaper and a hospital gown which exposed his rear end as we had to throw away his clothes after a nurse brought me a towel and small pan of water to clean him and get him out of there. Pure humiliation that could have been prevented. I then drove my husband to Fort Smith AR (because of MY decision, not his) to a civilian hospital where my husband was hospitalized, and treated with human dignity. But because of the critical time lost (wasted) at the VA hospital - there was not much medically they could do (the clot buster medication my husband received a couple of weeks prior to 6-15-2011 disolved the blood clot that was in his brain.) By the time we got there all they could do was be sure he was stable. This was time lost in a possible life/death situation. My husband, Mr. Lynn E. Carter, is troubled and deeply hurt by our U.S. Government. The United States Government ask for and received my husband, Mr. Lynn E. Carter's help during the Vietnam Era War, and now he feels that his country has turned it's back on him. How sad.
We Pray this never ever happens to another U.S. Veteran Honorable, and Pray for the families and caregivers of all U.S. Vererans Honorable. My husband, Mr. Lynn E. Carter seeks now for fair justice, and investigation of abuse of June 15, 2011. http://www.littlerocknews.org/u-s-veterans-hospital-abuse-u-s-veteran-denied-gov-investigation-after-u-s-veteran-was-forced-to-lay-5-hours-in-feces-urine/
Thank you and God Bless each of you.
Kathleen Carter Legal Caregiver and wife of Lynn E. Carter
2018 South o Street
Fort Smith, Arkansas 72901

Telephone: 479-782-1610

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

TAKE GREAT CARE OF ALL U.S. VETERANS WHO ARE ABUSED AT U.S. VA HOSPITALS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

POGO is the best organization i know of that works with whistleblowers and protects our democracy on behalf of the people. Their long history is testament to their quality, skill, and dedication. Danielle, their long time ED, is really smart and very effective. I put my money to work with POGO. Ben Cohen, co-counder, Ben and Jerry's

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

I enjoy POGO very much..... it helps me keep up with what is happening and express my opinion..... our government is broken and it is up to us to do what we can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a concerned citizen and realize that i need organizations like POGO to discover the uncomfortable truths in government spending.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i do not know what to recommend

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 8, 2014

more

June 8, 2014

POGO is a great NPO and fulfills an ever important role of providing fact-based objective watchdog information to US interested citizens and voters. POGO is reliable and trustworthy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2014

more

June 8, 2014

The oversight of government by the people is essential to the proper functioning of every democracy. Given the greed, corruption and manipulation of our current government they are THEE essential link of providing the people an accurate view of what is really happening in Washington.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

POGO is a fantastic non-profit. It gives us the information we need to be intellectually involved in making America stronger. POGO not only looks for problems that need corrections from a balanced perspective, but also works to to arrive an consensus solution.

We do that with the facts
that POGO provides.

Dr. J. Frederick

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

A. Help file Freedom of Information Act Requests.B. Help with Graphic Design.C. Help with Background Research.