Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
313 Reviews
1234.779555
| 1 2 3 4...31 |
Write A Review
June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

POGO provides a great service for U.S. citizens. This organization investigates public-realm activities that are wasteful and/or corrupt, and its findings are often the drivers of corrective action. POGO is smart, scrupulous, evidence-based, and non-partisan. To me, POGO embodies the best features of democratic governance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I've been following and supporting POGO for about a year now, and I haven't yet seen an aspect of their operation that needs modification.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

A great organization that exposure corruptions and abuse on the government. We need more of these organizations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

To All & Whom it May be Concerned about the VA-Hospital Scandales & the Great Non-Profit Organization of the POGO Who are Couragously Combatting These Systematic Corruptions & Lacks of Integrity at the VA:

I am a public safety whistleblower and a former employee of Veterans Health
Administration employed as the Director of Safety & Occupational Health. I am presently on medical leave without pay pending United States District Court investigation of the civil action and criminal complaint that I have filed against Veterans Health Administration for their corrupt.

The VA Chief of Facilities of one of the Veterans Health Administration in 2006 and 2007 on multiple occasion threatened me not to do my job as the Director of the Officer that I was hired to do per my job responsibilities at the VA. THEY directly and blatantly threatened me to dismiss my National Whistleblowing Federal Supreme Court Public Safety Cases and Veterans Patient Safety cases or else THEY will destroy/ kill me and my family. When I refused to do so THEY began pervasively persecuting me leading to even THEM acting on their verbal threat against me and brutally assaulted me in the year 2010, in which, as the result of their orchestrated brutal assault I have been since then totally bedbound and totally incapacitated medically after having undergone total of 9-complicated major surgeries.

On May 17, 2014 I have shared my story with this wonderful grassroots organization of the” Project On Government Oversight (POGO)” who has a long history of working with individuals daring to expose corruption. Once I discovered about this God’s sent organization of POGO it was as if I have found hope again, and now because of POGO superb independent oversight of the VA that finally I can actually see a light at the end of the dark tunnel of the VA.

Throughout its history, POGO’s work has been applauded by Members of Congress from both sides of the aisle, federal workers and whistleblowers, other nonprofits, and the media for their outstanding Veterans Advocacy organizational skills & their marvelous corrective actions and preventing measurements of the VA wrongdoings that they discover or is brought up to their attentions.

POGO I admire the courage, the mission and goals of your organization. Please keep up the outstanding public service work that you all have been doing superbly all along.

Singed,

A former executive employee of the VA who his life and his entire family lives has been literally destroyed in retaliation him being a whistleblower on the Veterans Health Administration culture of corruption, intimidation and lack of integrity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None that I can think of....just please :POGO keep up the gre at work you all have been doing all along.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

POGO is the best organization i know of that works with whistleblowers and protects our democracy on behalf of the people. Their long history is testament to their quality, skill, and dedication. Danielle, their long time ED, is really smart and very effective. I put my money to work with POGO. Ben Cohen, co-counder, Ben and Jerry's

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

I am not aware of much of what this non-profit does. However, I believe that their stands on the A-10 and F-35 are spot on. I base this on my understanding of the work of military strategist John Boyd and on my knowledge of the rise of the military-industrial-Congressional complex. I grew up listening to unclassified stories about the management of the DOD from my father, who rose through the ranks of the Army Air Corps Management Control Directorate (Organizational Planning and Statistical Control Groups), and from my great uncle, who was fiscal director of the Navy from the close of WWII until the creation of the DOD, special assistant for financial matters to James Forrestal at the inception of the DOD, and comptroller of the DOD under its next five secretaries. When my father left active service in 1946 as a major, the USAAF split his job in two and gave each half to a one-star general. When my great uncle left his DOD job in 1959, he purposely took a job in which his connections would be of little or no use (President of Grace Lines). He waited years before joining the board of Fairchild Aircraft. In our last conversation before his death, he commented on the importance of the A-10, which, as Pierre Sprey and other POGO advisors can attest, was greatly resisted by the USAF top brass at the time, and has been ever since. The US Army and/or the USMC would be wise to volunteer to take over the A-10 program should the USAF choose to drop it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I do not know enough about this organization to make specific recommendations other than I encourage them to work with other non-profits interested in government oversight to increase transparency. Regrettably, many of these organizations have agendas associated with or tied to one or the other major political parties. A high priority for all of these groups ought to be to find a basis for agreement on the role of government in information age economies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

POGO is an essentail part of ending corrupotion and the distortiion in our democratic process. Keep up the grea work. Without organizations like POGO we are lost.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

June 9, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 26, 2013

POGO focuses a spotlight on government projects that are questionable or just plain foolish. Transparency is essential for an informed electorate and for maintaining democracy. POGO is an essential in... more

June 9, 2014

In this ever changing world in which WE cannot trust our own government POGO stands out as one of the few protectors of YOUR rights. POGO watches out for how YOUR money is being squandered and misspent.
SUPPORT POGO. POGO SUPPORTS YOU.

Roger Weinreb

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 26, 2013

POGO focuses a spotlight on government projects that are questionable or just plain foolish. Transparency is essential for an informed electorate and for maintaining democracy.
POGO is an essential ingredient in the fabric of American life.
I heartily endorse POGO and recommend POGO to and
for all Americans.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

POGO watchdogs our government effectively. We need more of this! Citizens can participate in government more successfully with information from POGO,

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

seems to work well as it is

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

Thorough investigations and a great team. Been reading their blog post for several years now, they keep me informed on many defense issues and I believe they really do help D.C.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

I enjoy POGO very much..... it helps me keep up with what is happening and express my opinion..... our government is broken and it is up to us to do what we can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

A. Help file Freedom of Information Act Requests.B. Help with Graphic Design.C. Help with Background Research.