Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
316 Reviews
1234.778485
Write A Review
June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

I told POGO my horror story with the VA and they got back to me soon, the care at VA is completely horrible. I've lost 13 teeth since 2004 and still need about 5 fixed or ill lose them. The VA needs civilian oversight. They are non-friendly and plain rude not to mention the notorious wait times. Organizations like POGO are definitely a step in bringing government oversight back in. The government has gotten so far reaching major steps need to be taken to reign them in. I feel I've lost all my privacy and even like a guinea pig from all the experimental drugs the VA tried me on which hurts me in custody court because I was given drugs for conditions I never had or had symptoms of. My ex-wife is using my service connected disabilities against me with her shark lawyer to take my kids from me and so they can move away. My kids are terrified of being taken away to where they can't see me. My ex already broke the visitation 4 times a month for over a year. Judge will not listen without my retaining a lawyer but due to the low compensation rate and daily expenses and child support makes it extremely difficult if not impossible to retain a lawyer who would actually stand up for my kids and not cave to her lawyers. Mind you, I have over 3000 texts from her admitting to a range of felonies and parental alienation, interference with custody and various others. She was even arrested for biting a chunk out of my arm in front of the kids and tried to say I attacked her but I didn't and had witnesses. She had no marks on her and even tried to beat up my 110 pound mother. My kids found a bag with my daughter's (age 10) name written on it full of marijuana and pills. My son (age 8) saw them packaging the big bag into small ones and my son knows the prices and names of dealers and the store they own and the name of the store they own they are laundering the money from. I am in a dilemma whether to turn them in. I am absolutely sure she would turn me in if I was that stupid but I'm not like they are. I'm extremely bothered by all this. There is also allegations from kids about getting slapped in face repeatedly, being sent away without supper, being sent outside so she can spend time with friends instead of kids and not letting them communicate with me. Her grandmother even get to see them more than I do. Of course she denies but the kids are they key to unlocking it all. My 10 year old daughter is gifted and is very articulate. If someone can help or give me ideas to help us would be greatly appreciated. I would pay even 500 a month for life if I could retain a lawyer that would accept payment plan. I receive ssdi and 70% SC from the VA so I will get those payments for the rest of my life so I could write a contract with someone who can produce results and get my kids out of such a bad situation if that person is willing. I also have recordings the kids made talking about all this and never wanting to see her again and alleging abuse and her threats of possibly moving away further, I feel bad though because even though she does such mean things to hurt us I still defend her when the kids complain about whatever happened since I saw them last. I'm trying to be a role model but she is using it against me taking kindness for weakness and now I'm torn as to what to do next. Can anyone give me any advise?

Ryan G 3186138195

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add a civil section to advise vets on civil matters that stem from service connection problems. For example, divorce, custody, child support, domestic violence against men and an agreement that domestic violence works both ways. Also advocate reversal of gender bias in family court,

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

Why am I being ignored? Why has my government turned their back on me? I am no criminal, and have no criminal record.
I've PATIENTLY WAITED day shy of 3 years for my VA ABUSE Federal Investigation I have for almost 3 years. My U.S. Politicians and U.S. Gov't. have keept me going in a vicious
circle! I am crippled, tired and hurt. Mr. Lynn E. Carter. VA ABUSE 6-15-2011 remains uninvestigated - PLEASE READ
On 01-21-2014 Dr. Jimmy Herndon advised my husband to keep away from the news media and to forget the issue of abuse of 6-15-2011 ever occurred. Dr. Herndon came by May 24, 2014 to notify my husband he (Dr. Herndon) is ready to BLOW the WHISTLE and tell the truth of my husbands June 15, 2011 VA ABUSE. Dr. Herndon borrowed our wood saw and said he would return it that evening but we have NOT herd from him nor has he returned our saw. VA ABUSE: Veteran Was Forced To Lay 5 Hours In Feces & Urine at VA Hospital due to his BRAIN ex-rays being sent to ALABAMA to be read by doctors there, WHY ALABAMA, THEN RELEASED FROM VA HOSPITAL NEAR NAKED - abuse remains uninvestagated by Arkansas District 3 U.S. Politicians and U.S. GOVERNMENT. Lynn E. Carter who seeks a U.S. Federal Govt. Investigation into U.S. Veterans Hospital Abuse of June 15,2011, at Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks http://www.fayettevillear.va.gov/ located in Fayetteville, Arkansas. http://www.littlerocknews.org/u-s-veterans-hospital-abuse-u-s-veteran-denied-gov-investigation-after-u-s-veteran-was-forced-to-lay-5-hours-in-feces-urine/ U.S. Veterans Hospital Abuse - "Veteran Denied Gov Investigation After he Was Forced To Lay 5 Hours In Feces & Urine. These Arkansas U.S. District 3 officials who totally refuse to talk or contact my husband are with exception of the HONORABLE John Boozman http://www.boozman.senate.gov/public/AR , are Senator Mark Pryor, Phone: (501) 324-6336 http://www.pryor.senate.gov/public/ Congressman Steve Womack Phone: (202) 225-4301 https://womack.house.gov/ WHO LIED TO US BY SAYING THE INVESTIGATION WAS GOING TO BE HEADED BY SENATOR STEVE WOMACK VETERAN LIASION WHO TOLD MY HUSBAND THERE WOULD BE NO INVESTIGATION BECAUSE THE TIME LIMITATION HAD RUN OUT "IT HAD ONLY BEEN A YEAR BEFORE THE TORT LAW WAS FILED AND AGREED UPON, AND HAD 1 YEAR LEFT TO ACT UPON" Veterans Hospital where the abuse took place, http://www.fayettevillear.va.gov/ each totally ignore him, and refuse to meet face to face with him, or offer a resolve into the issue of U.S. Veteran ABUSED at Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks http://www.fayettevillear.va.gov/ on June 15, 2011. Senator Mark Pryor, Phone: (501) 324-6336 http://www.pryor.senate.gov/public/ has yet to speak to my husband. My husband is aware he will never get the investagation he ask for, he understands the Govt. will come after him for making this public, but remains persistant in this issue, that it never happens to another U.S. Veteran at any of our U.S. Veterans hospitals, or clinics. http://www.littlerocknews.org/u-s-veterans-hospital-abuse-u-s-veteran-denied-gov-investigation-after-u-s-veteran-was-forced-to-lay-5-hours-in-feces-urine/ Arkansas Govenor Mike Beebe's office called my husband Monday, Feb 24, 2014 sugesting my husband call Patient Advocate: CARYLON MILLER 479-443-4301 ext 65147. My husband called the lady's phone number at the Veterans HOSPITAL which was given to my husband by Gov Beebe's office. The Patient Advocate: CARYLON MILLER TELEPHONE: 479-443-4301 ext 65147 at Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks http://www.fayettevillear.va.gov/ located in Fayetteville, Arkansas told my husband she had no idea if that VA hospital where she works has survalance cameras or not) She told my husband she would get back with him in a day or so, but she still hasn't called him back. RED FLAGS? "Taken From President John F. Kennedy's Civil Rights Speech, June 11, 1963" This Nation was founded by men of many nations and backgrounds. It was founded on the principle that all men are created equal, and that the rights of every man are diminished when the rights of one man are threatened. http://www.littlerocknews.org/u-s-veterans-hospital-abuse-u-s-veteran-denied-gov-investigation-after-u-s-veteran-was-forced-to-lay-5-hours-in-feces-urine/ My husband has made MANY, MANY, MANY phone to the U.S. Govt., and elected officials (PHONE RECORDS TO PROVE THIS) and nightmares my husband suffers of June 15, 2011. I lose a days pay each time MY HUSBAND HAS to visit doctors at the U.S. Veterans hospital at Fayettville AR which is about 50 miles from our home, or, our Fort Smith V.A. clinic and we are NOT reimbersed for travel. My husband, Lynn E. Carter, ask for and received a Tort Law claim, but it has, as he is told, exceeded it's terms of limitation, to which the U.S. Government, and most U.S. elected officials, ( Mark Pryor Phone: (501) 324-6336 http://www.pryor.senate.gov/public/ and Congressman Steve Womack Phone: (202) 225-4301 https://womack.house.gov/ ) are glad, it is as if they wish my husband would just die and go away (forget the issue.)
U.S. Veterans Hospital Abuse - Veteran Denied Gov Investigation After Veteran Was Forced To Lay 5 Hours In Feces & Urine Then Released Near Naked.
My husband, Lynn E. Carter ask and was denied by U.S. Government officials to Conduct A Formal Investigation into U.S. Veterans Hospital Abuse of June 15, 2011. Senator Mark Pryor, Phone: (501) 324-6336 http://www.pryor.senate.gov/public/ and Congressman Steve Womack Phone: (202) 225-4301 https://womack.house.gov/, each of AR District 3 Washington DC totally refused my husband an Official U.S. Government investigation. PLEASE READ THE Following ARTICLE: Veterans Health Care System of the Ozarks U.S. Veterans Hospital, Fayetteville, Arkansas http://www.fayettevillear.va.gov/
When we pulled up to the Emergency Room, I pulled into the drive-thru, and a male EMPLOYEE Came out and RUDELY told me I could NOT park here because it was the ambulance entrance that I would have to move my car down the hill and go in through the emergency room check in. (Please note this is the very spot we were told to park, by the U.S. Veterans Eye Clinic Doctor Fayetteville, AR) http://www.fayettevillear.va.gov/ (Why were there no surveillance video to prove this.) I got back in the car, and pulled down the hill and went up the stairs and went to the check in desk. When I told the employee at the desk what was going on, he told me to pull my car BACK up the hill to where I just was because they would have to get my husband out of the car and into a wheelchair. I walked back to the car, backed up the hill to the door and they came out and put my husband in a wheel chair and wheeled him back to the check in desk. In a few minutes they came and got us and a nurse checked us in and asked us all kinds of questions about what was going on. After she was finished, they took my husband back to a room in the ER where we were for the next 5 hours. Five hours in which my husband lay in pain and his own URINE, FECES, and STENCH. When we were leaving the VA hospital, I went to go out the door we came in, I was trying to push/force it open and the HIPPIE looking guy behind the desk (the same one who made me pull down the hill in the first place) RUDELY YELLED “Don’t do that, you’ll break the door," "we have to push the button”, and I said to him “Then open the damn door! So he pushed the button, the door opened, and I went and got the car and came back for my husband. I was the one who was mad, not my husband. My husband was incapacitated DUE TO THE STROKE he was having and not at all mad or upset. He was barely conscious ... May I also add that my husband was dismissed from the U.S. Veterans hospital wearing only a diaper and a hospital gown which exposed his rear end as we had to throw away his clothes after a nurse brought me a towel and small pan of water to clean him and get him out of there. Pure humiliation that could have been prevented. I then drove my husband to Fort Smith AR (because of MY decision, not his) to a civilian hospital where my husband was hospitalized, and treated with human dignity. But because of the critical time lost (wasted) at the VA hospital - there was not much medically they could do (the clot buster medication my husband received a couple of weeks prior to 6-15-2011 disolved the blood clot that was in his brain.) By the time we got there all they could do was be sure he was stable. This was time lost in a possible life/death situation. My husband, Mr. Lynn E. Carter, is troubled and deeply hurt by our U.S. Government. The United States Government ask for and received my husband, Mr. Lynn E. Carter's help during the Vietnam Era War, and now he feels that his country has turned it's back on him. How sad.
We Pray this never ever happens to another U.S. Veteran Honorable, and Pray for the families and caregivers of all U.S. Vererans Honorable. My husband, Mr. Lynn E. Carter seeks now for fair justice, and investigation of abuse of June 15, 2011. http://www.littlerocknews.org/u-s-veterans-hospital-abuse-u-s-veteran-denied-gov-investigation-after-u-s-veteran-was-forced-to-lay-5-hours-in-feces-urine/
Thank you and God Bless each of you.
Kathleen Carter Legal Caregiver and wife of Lynn E. Carter
2018 South o Street
Fort Smith, Arkansas 72901

Telephone: 479-782-1610

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

TAKE GREAT CARE OF ALL U.S. VETERANS WHO ARE ABUSED AT U.S. VA HOSPITALS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

There is a reason why whistleblowers and news reporters flock to POGO. It is because of its long track record of uncovering fraud and abuse throughout the U.S. government (including abroad). Although physically located inside the beltway, POGO has never come down (and never will) with the beltway disease of compromising in order to get coveted access to the higher levels of government. POGO keeps its integrity. Perhaps my greatest compliment is to observe that I have seen with my own eyes how government officials and contractors fear POGO.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope it had greater financial support

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

I do voter area canvassing that needed to raise awareness to a type of fundraising that violates voter rights . Some service men and women had been back from the war in Iraq, unable to receive recognition about times of having responses from treatment centers, service organizations- and job training as part of their return, and it was not easy to witness.
As I soon learned the way POGO responded and reassigned a segment of their weekly reader to what many had overlooked in regards to our ridiculous proxy under-scoring where our rights were compared to invested interests making it possible to kill voters at the polls, i knew more transparency in government was needed and would observe what POGO said needed to have change to protect whistleblowers.
I was recently on the phone with a question about programs they were sharing information on regarding Camp Lejune and their willingness to take a minute to hear my voice convinced me that more is needed to bring those account able forward.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

I was surfing and found the POGO site a number of years ago. I signed up for the e-mail updates and have been impressed by the accuracy and timelyness of their discoveries. I have contributed to and supported petitions they have originated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them bigger. They have just scratched the surface.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

Filed complaint with Secy of Veterans Affairs, VA Inspector General Office, VA Bay Pines, members of Congress regarding mistreatment/abusive behavior by VA Sarasota personnel with no response other than VA IG informing me my complaint did not warrant investigation, and Senator Burr informing me I was not a constituent, therefore would not investigate.

The staff at POGO reviewed my complaint and felt it serious enough to forward to Iraq Afghanistan Veterans Organization for possible inclusion to compilation of complaints about VA treatment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

When Winslow Wheeler, (POGO/CDI employee) came to Burlington, I became aware to how much credibility POGO has when dealing with issues involving the F-35. I realized that POGO is an organization that I want to participate in because I truly appreciate their help on this important issue in my town. POGO is the tops! POGO is so effective!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

I think POGO is an organization that investigates the government in categories where egregious harm has been done to the public in both personal and financial terms. They do extensive research to find issues that have been hidden from public view. Much good has come from their work over the years. I also appreciate their nonpartisan stances which give them more credibility on both sides of the aisle. A rare thing in today's environment!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they get more funding so they can do even more of the urgently needed work they provide to the public!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

Provides means of reporting problems in the government.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

POGO has done a great service to me by informing me of what is really happening in government. There are so any people who are just posturing or trying to influence me. POGO just informs with no agenda. It helps provide context and point out what the real story is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

A. Help file Freedom of Information Act Requests.B. Help with Graphic Design.C. Help with Background Research.