Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
315 Reviews
1234.777785
| 1 ... 13 14 15...31 |
Write A Review
June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

POGO has demonstrated over many years that it has the staying power to ferret out the problems of government. They are relentlessly fact-based and non-partisan. When POGO speaks, I listen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they had the resources to better cover state and local government.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Take a look at what these folks do, and how they use the money they raise. POGO is one of the best 'bang for the buck' NGOs out there. My only regret is that I don't have more money I can give them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See to it that they have much more funding to work with.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

I get so much "behind the scenes" insight and information regarding everything that goes on behind the government and that is not usually covered in the news media that POGO disseminates. This information I pass on to others to make them more socially conscious and politically aware. They have (by far) the most accurate and detailed information regarding government oversight off all the nonprofit organizations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A...They do a remarkable job. Leave all as is..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 30, 2013

POGO makes exhaustive efforts to research and monitor government programs, disseminate their findings to the public in responsible ways, and serve the public as advocates, giving testimony at times in... more

June 7, 2014

Over the years since its inception, we've all become pretty dependent on POGO. POGO does a lot of good with a small staff, not-large budget, and a very clear focus -- that makes the news, and changes public policy.

In the absence of the news sources and advocate public that our founding
fathers were counting on, groups like POGO are a necessity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have local groups, state by state

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 30, 2013

POGO makes exhaustive efforts to research and monitor government programs, disseminate their findings to the public in responsible ways, and serve the public as advocates, giving testimony at times in Congress, and serving well,efficiently, and articulately to demonstrate when federal governmental organizations are indeed not meeting their charters.

POGO, in a time when journalism, our much-reduced, much-needed fourth estate has been so badly diminished to such horrible effect, serves us in inestimable ways.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

POGO has a unique perspective and takes on a unique responsibility with the highest level of commitment. Now more than ever, there is a 24/7 media. Unfortunately, the quantity doesn't translate into any greater quality or objectivity. The truth is that the level of thoroughness, fact-finding, reach, and what had traditionally been journalism has been cast aside for fast sound bites and sensational stories that require little education or time. POGO goes beyond the shallow trend to seek out the issues that are most relevant and demand attention and addresses them, presenting them in concise terms to create awareness and to inform and lead to policy implementation and change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

POGO enables we average citizens to keep an eye on the endless skullduggery emanating from DC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...use more of POGOs' budget on net/tv/radio PSAs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

POGO has provided assistance to several Vermont groups fighting to bring fairness to the decision making process and mitigation efforts (incuding not bedding them down here at the Burlington International Airport) of F-35 fighter/bomber jets. This assistance has come without charge - important for volunteer efforts by members of this community.

Testimony from POGO principals has strengthened our position and hopefully our impact.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

I have known POGO director, Danielle Brian (and her family) since the time that she attended the high school where I taught. Danielle was a national high school extemporaneous-speech champion. It was always clear to all who knew her that her passion and humanity came from a place in the heart, influenced by trying world events that her parent lived through.
She and her staff possess a remarkable blend of idealism and toughness that cuts to the chase as they pull aside assorted layers of mistreatment, inefficiencies, and malfeasance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand its scope beyond its main mission of uncovering Pentagon waste. This runs the risk of diluting its strength and I hope it might create a separate banner if it ever goes that route.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

POGO gives important stories about government that other media overlook and give the important details that other media leave out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the coverage and make it daily.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 7, 2014

more

June 7, 2014

Walt Kelly, Jr's famous character the ole 'possum Pogo's most famous quote was, "We have met the enemy and he is us." In my mind this is an appropriate characterization of this organization.

POGO keeps the government honest and transparent, candidly, with integrity, in an honest manner.


More power to POGO!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus on the influence of uber-conservative religion on government function, such as the C Street organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

A. Help file Freedom of Information Act Requests.B. Help with Graphic Design.C. Help with Background Research.