Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
315 Reviews
1234.777785
Previous | 1 2 3...31 |
Write A Review
July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I'm not certain how I ended up on their email list but I'm glad that POGO found me. I receive an email every week with projects that POGO is investigating, stories of interest of wrong doing by US Government agencies. It's the watchdog group we desperately need to keep people in Washington in government jobs dedicated to doing the right thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 22, 2014

more

July 22, 2014

I support POGO because it works and keeps them honest.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

I've been reading POGO's reports for at least two years, and I find that I get clear and accurate information. POGO helps me to make informed decisions. A good non-profit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 24, 2014

more

June 24, 2014

I support POGO regularly because I believe the focus, ethics and dedication of the group aligns with my values of government accountability, transparency, efficiency. As a small federal government contracting business I am also aware of the waste of many contracting services and believe POGO has targeted several wasteful programs. The website is also a helpful clearinghouse of policy and investigative info.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 22, 2014

more

June 22, 2014

I support this organization because it keeps tabs on the federal bureaucracy. It researches issues brought to them by whistleblowers within and also investigates concerns brought to them from the public square. They are non-partisan which is important in this terribly partisan world.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 19, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I find POGO to be a good 'bang for my buck'. I have supported POGO for five years now and am proud to do so. I think investigative journalism is in crises as newspapers (due to dwindling revenues) are... more

June 19, 2014

POGO does an effective job at promoting Transparency Accountability and Oversight within the federal government. At a time when a premium seems to be put on secrecy, POGO pushes for openess, which is fundamental for a democracy to remain vibrant.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I find POGO to be a good 'bang for my buck'. I have supported POGO for five years now and am proud to do so. I think investigative journalism is in crises as newspapers (due to dwindling revenues) are closing down either their investigative journalism desks, or their publications entirely. Recently 'Newsweek' just announced it is suspending its print edition and even as large a cultural icon as Superman is quitting his fictional newspaper. I think POGO helps fill the investigative void left by the continued downfall of print media and provides in depth long term research into issues I find very reminiscent of '60 Minutes'. I like to think I am part of a community of people who care enough to make a difference, and we choose to do so through POGO.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

I am a service-connected disabled veteran.USMC, with 14 years Staff Sergeant. its been since October 2013 I've been trying to get into the VA clinic in Yuma Arizona CBOC. I desperately need physical therapy which is not provided to the clinic and I have to see private practice, but since the VA has to pay for the is it takes them over a year to be seen. currently I am in extreme pain right foot lower back shoulders knees and the pain medication they stop giving me now I get three private practice. thank God for pain management in the private practice section. any other concerns please contact me.
Sean Cannon. Sjcannon3@gmail.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

leave everything like it is

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

In 2010 POGO took the time to investigate and write about a situation in which an SEC Enforcement Attorney publicly revealed my status as a whistleblower.

http://www.politicsdaily.com/2010/01/28/long-island-congressional-candidate-cited-for-giving-up-jpmorgan/

The article helped
me to articulate what had happened and was used as an exhibit when I discussed my situation with the public, reporters, politicians and regulators. The article was well researched, completely factual and had the credibility of coming from a non-partisan point of view.

POGO is a fantastic organization and one I am grateful for the work they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

As a government whistleblower whose scientific career was nearly destroyed when I disclosed incompetence and fraud at the National Institutes of health, I know the important protections POGO provides to whistleblowers like me.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

I told POGO my horror story with the VA and they got back to me soon, the care at VA is completely horrible. I've lost 13 teeth since 2004 and still need about 5 fixed or ill lose them. The VA needs civilian oversight. They are non-friendly and plain rude not to mention the notorious wait times. Organizations like POGO are definitely a step in bringing government oversight back in. The government has gotten so far reaching major steps need to be taken to reign them in. I feel I've lost all my privacy and even like a guinea pig from all the experimental drugs the VA tried me on which hurts me in custody court because I was given drugs for conditions I never had or had symptoms of. My ex-wife is using my service connected disabilities against me with her shark lawyer to take my kids from me and so they can move away. My kids are terrified of being taken away to where they can't see me. My ex already broke the visitation 4 times a month for over a year. Judge will not listen without my retaining a lawyer but due to the low compensation rate and daily expenses and child support makes it extremely difficult if not impossible to retain a lawyer who would actually stand up for my kids and not cave to her lawyers. Mind you, I have over 3000 texts from her admitting to a range of felonies and parental alienation, interference with custody and various others. She was even arrested for biting a chunk out of my arm in front of the kids and tried to say I attacked her but I didn't and had witnesses. She had no marks on her and even tried to beat up my 110 pound mother. My kids found a bag with my daughter's (age 10) name written on it full of marijuana and pills. My son (age 8) saw them packaging the big bag into small ones and my son knows the prices and names of dealers and the store they own and the name of the store they own they are laundering the money from. I am in a dilemma whether to turn them in. I am absolutely sure she would turn me in if I was that stupid but I'm not like they are. I'm extremely bothered by all this. There is also allegations from kids about getting slapped in face repeatedly, being sent away without supper, being sent outside so she can spend time with friends instead of kids and not letting them communicate with me. Her grandmother even get to see them more than I do. Of course she denies but the kids are they key to unlocking it all. My 10 year old daughter is gifted and is very articulate. If someone can help or give me ideas to help us would be greatly appreciated. I would pay even 500 a month for life if I could retain a lawyer that would accept payment plan. I receive ssdi and 70% SC from the VA so I will get those payments for the rest of my life so I could write a contract with someone who can produce results and get my kids out of such a bad situation if that person is willing. I also have recordings the kids made talking about all this and never wanting to see her again and alleging abuse and her threats of possibly moving away further, I feel bad though because even though she does such mean things to hurt us I still defend her when the kids complain about whatever happened since I saw them last. I'm trying to be a role model but she is using it against me taking kindness for weakness and now I'm torn as to what to do next. Can anyone give me any advise?

Ryan G 3186138195

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add a civil section to advise vets on civil matters that stem from service connection problems. For example, divorce, custody, child support, domestic violence against men and an agreement that domestic violence works both ways. Also advocate reversal of gender bias in family court,

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...31 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

A. Help file Freedom of Information Act Requests.B. Help with Graphic Design.C. Help with Background Research.