Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
134 Reviews
1234.813435
Previous | 1 2 3...14 |
Write A Review
May 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I think that whistle blowing is one of the most important things that government officials can do. They need to be protected. We need people to tell us how much waste is occurring in government and trying to force government to do better. They are like Common Cause, except they are insiders and know what is really happening. We need POGO.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

I believe the role of whistle blowers is essential to the health of a democracy and POGO does an excellent job of educating the public on the various issues and working to correct the maladies of our governmental agencies. I give them an A plus rating.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

POGO provides comprehensive oversight of wasteful federal spending, especially huge Defense Department boondoggles. They keep track of the revolving door between defense and government with a detail unmatched by other NGOs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 30, 2013

more

April 30, 2013

POGO makes exhaustive efforts to research and monitor government programs, disseminate their findings to the public in responsible ways, and serve the public as advocates, giving testimony at times in Congress, and serving well,efficiently, and articulately to demonstrate when federal governmental organizations are indeed not meeting their charters.

POGO, in a time when journalism, our much-reduced, much-needed fourth estate has been so badly diminished to such horrible effect, serves us in inestimable ways.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013

more

April 29, 2013

I found POGO while looking for an organization that could help whistle blowers on the state or local level of government. While they were working on the federal level and not directly what I was hoping for I still found myself deeply impressed with their commitment to transparency and accountability and have donated and participated ever since. When an issue arrives that needs action POGO notifies the community and we have an opportunity to assess and make our voices heard, I have received responses from federal politicians and personal in a way uncommon to this type of advocacy. This tells me that the right people take POGO seriously and so do I. In conclusion my experience as a now retired DPW supervisor with the back room, politically connected, revolving door way of government shows how much we need more POGO's and only hope to see their campaign for transparency and accountability grow beyond the federal level to other levels of government.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013

Concerned, active and informed citizens are the cornerstone of our democracy. Without the efforts of POGO we Americans could not pressure Congress and the administration to enact meaningful reforms, such as recent legislation to protect whistleblowers and crack down on human traffickers just to mention a couple of things. They work hard for all of us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013

Concerned, active and informed citizens are the cornerstone of our democracy. Without the efforts of supporters , we could not pressure Congress and the administration to enact meaningful reforms, such as recent legislation to protect whistleblowers and crack down on human traffickers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013

It is helpful in understanding what is going on behind the public eye, what many are doing, getting away with unacceptable things. It is the government, private corporations and their lackeys. The public is the one paying for all these shenanigans,

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013

I just emailed a friend yesterday telling her the most important non profit news sources....POGO was at the top. They keep me informed about things I would never hear anywhere else, then my friends and I act on the information. They have a very high Charity Navigator rating, as best I remember 4 star. We always check on our charities before allocating our charitable giving at end of year.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2013

more

April 28, 2013

POGO helps me understand what is going on behind the scenes with this government, the President and Congress. So many of their investigations are not reported on by the media and it's shocking to learn that so few people know of the abuses of our government!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...14 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

A. Help file Freedom of Information Act Requests.

B. Help with Graphic Design.

C. Help with Background Research.