Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 7, 2013

more

November 7, 2013

I have been a supporter of this organization for years and have seen the work over that time. Julie takes in or finds fosters and homes for castoff senior little doggies. She is absolutely tireless and gives of herself so much I am amazed she doesn't get burned out on it. But she keeps it up, somehow keeps up her spirits and again and again helps out the forgotten senior, often those with years of life in them that are dumped for the crime of being old. she also spends a great deal of time networking many still stuck at various shelters. This organization is really effective for my dollars!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Julie.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I have been involved in animal rescue for over 2 decades and am very particular as to the rescues that I donate to and volunteer for. The Pepper Foundation epitomizes everything that is good and right about animal rescue. Julie does not turn away from the hard cases and over the years she has learned which fights to fight. Her passion for her charges is infectious and drives those of us who love animals to do more to help all of God’s creatures. When Julie sends us good news about a neglected animal finding a new home our hearts leap for joy. When she regretfully says that one of her angels has lost their valiant fight, we cry. Thankfully there is always more joy than there are tears. It may be a cliché but if there were more people like Julie – compassionate, diligent, generous - then the world would truly be a better place.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I've been a donor/volunteer with the Pepper Foundation for over 5 years now. I met the director, Julie Chadwick, when my older sister passed away in 2008. Julie and my sister were neighbors/friends, and my sister used to help Julie with her rescue work. My sister was a true animal lover and I'm sure that's why Julie and Connie got along so well, as Julie is as passionate about her rescue work as my sister was with her own efforts to help animals and others. I met Julie initially as a friend of my sister, and we quickly became good friends. And then I got to know her in her role as a rescuer and director of her Pepper Foundation.

I quickly learned how dedicated Julie is to her work. I've been to shelters with her, listened to her talk endlessly about her online/social media rescue efforts, and I've witnessed first hand her passion for helping animals, especially the senior/special needs dog and cats that typically won't be adopted. I've traveled with her to other rescue organizations to take a dog or cat to a new home and have always been amazed at her love for these special animals. She is a tireless worker who will do anything, including giving the shirt off her back or one of her own blankets to an animal in need. I've attended adoption events with her to help bring her animals to the public view and to further educate the public about her rescue efforts and the efforts of other rescue groups.

I don't think anyone can question Julie's efforts on behalf of her animals and rescue group. Rescue is her life. She's also a gifted musical artist and frequently performs to raise funds for her group, and for MANY other rescue groups. The Pepper Foundation, her rescued animals, and all the animals that need forever homes are her life......I'm proud to know her as the director of the Pepper Foundation, and proud to call her friend, and to be her friend. I know Julie will always be dedictated to her work, and she hopes to further enhance the resources available for her work, and to hopefully reach more and more of the public regarding the availability of animals who need their forever home.

Sterling Zimmerman

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more help available for her, to assist with her daily work, and the networking of so many shelter animals who need out. she has many contacts with local veterinarians and other rescue groups and hoepfully more publicity for her group will bring even more support. Resources are also vital so having more fundraisers would be helpful for funds and publicity. Hopefully more local venues will make themselves available for her musical night fund raisers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I met Julie quite a few years ago when I first got involved in the “Rescue Community” of LA/Southern Calif. I was/am impressed with her efforts with all the small dogs she rescues and gets into foster/adoptive homes. She came to my house for a Meet and Greet several years ago and one particular dog was in need of full time care, so she brought him with. She held him while we ate and talked about everything related to our pets and rescues we were involved in. He was an extension of her being and it was representative of who Julie is and what she wants for all misplaced/unwanted/abused/neglected pets.
I have met quite a few of the rescuers (individual and groups) and I don’t think there is anyone more caring or devoted to making “IT” happen than Julie. She is dynamite and dynamic in her devotion to making the lives of her itty bitty dogs better – just for having crossed paths with Julie. We should ALL strive to be even a fraction of “Oh Yeah Julie’s asking for help- let’s help her make “IT” happen!
I admire and respect everything Julie is and does. I believe every life she saves knows they are better off being touched by Julie.
Fondly and Respectively,
Pam Hiserodt

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make to The Pepper Foundation would be to have Julie head of an "ITTY BITTY" dog sanctuary so more lives could be saved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The Pepper Foundation is a very caring and dedicated and passionate rescue organization. They have helped us on NUMEROUS occasions over the years. One in particular that stands out...several years ago a stray dog and her MANY MANY puppies showed up at our door one day! We had no idea what to do! Knowing the Pepper Foundation and their tireless track record for rescuing dogs, we called them. They came that same day with a means for transporting the family and eventually found homes for every single one of them. While the pepper foundation specializes in seniors and special needs dogs, they've been known to save cats and all aged dogs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

i met julie a few years ago and my husband and i immediately recognized a huge animal lover. she gives tirelessly to animals that for the most part, everyone has looked over. the old ones. the ones that need a bit more from us. and she has that bit more to give…in droves. we are amazed by her and her dedication.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The Pepper Foundation is a wonderful organization headed by Julie Chadwick who devotes her life to saving elderly, injured, sick and abused animals. In many cases these were someone's loyal pet who gets dumped at a local shelter when the owner chooses not to deal with health issues that come with age. These animals are frightened and scared and are the toughest to find new homes for, so most of them would end up euthanized if not for Julie and her network of volunteers and foster parents. These fragile souls are given dignity, love and medical attention for the rest of their lives, however long or short that may be. This is a tireless and emotional endeavor but Julie and her team seem to have an endless supply of love and caring to give these animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...only wish that there could be a Pepper Foundation in every city in the US!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I am very familiar with The Pepper Foundation. This organization is top-notch. They take in animals that most people - including rescues - would dare not touch. The Pepper Foundation gives animals a chance at a good life of which they would otherwise be deprived if not for this wonderful group. I have written articles about this organization because of the wonderful work they do. I have communicated with its founder on a number of occasions regarding particular special-needs pets. She is a wonderfully compassionate and selfless person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing I can think of to improve the organization; however, I wish a grant writer would provide pro bono service to them. This organization can certainly use the funds to care for the many special-needs pets they save.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Pepper Foundation is one of my favorite rescues! Julie, founder of The Pepper Foundation, works tirelessly to save as many animals as she can. If she was not limited by funds, as all rescues are, I have no doubt she would try to save them all. The Pepper Foundation's main focus is on saving senior dogs from high-kill shelters. And, because there are often medical issues associated with those senior dogs, Julie is also very diligent about making certain every one of her rescues receives the best medical care available. Julie will also personally and lovingly care for every single dog she rescues until she places them into a foster home or with an adoptive family. She also takes steps to ensure that the dogs she rescues will not end up back in the shelter system. She will conduct a home check with the prospective adoptive family and will make sure all family members are involved in the adoption process (with the dog spending time with the kids, etc.). If a dog does not work out with a family for any reason, The Pepper Foundation will take the dog back, further ensuring they do not end up back in the shelter system. Julie's dedication to her rescues is a full-time commitment, but she never complains. She rescues with the most compassion and kindness of anyone I have ever seen. If she rescues a dog at the end stages of its life, she will be there cradling that precious animal as it passes, making sure it knows only love as it leaves this world. I have learned so much volunteering for Julie and The Pepper Foundation. I look forward to continuing my volunteer work with them in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I have witnessed Julie save dogs and care for them for many years now. She is so diligent, caring, sincere, and a rare human being! It's despicable that people and families will get a dog just because he/she looks so cute as a pup, then when the dog gets a little older, they simply dump the animal on the street or at a pound to be killed. Julie has a rare gift; whereas, she has rehabbed severely neglected and abused animals and has turned dogs that have learned to feel a lot of fear and do not trust anyone into loving trustful pets again. She is dedicated although needs some real donations to keep her ethical work going. The way humankind treats their own pets and helpless creatures is the same way, ultimately humankind treats each other: If we can bar kill shelters, outlaw those who torture and abuse animals, while upholding humane policies that support fixing animals and instead of killing them off in shelters, do placement adds and everyday major corner displays to show people those wonderful pets we may then be on the right track. We wish there were more people like Julie though, and have to be grateful there are people who are like her who care. Her work is tireless and she should benefit somehow after many years of diligent and exceptional work. Those who have tried to stand in her way who have been cruel and unlawful hopefully are outlawed somehow. It has been also proven, that human beings who abuse and neglect their pets or commit crimes against animals also do the same to other human beings. In fact it has been proven by scientific studies that men in particular or teens who commit acts of violence against their pets or that of another, soon escalate their crimes against women and children. These are dangerous people to any society and they should be dealt with in a legal manner that obstructs their escalation of crimes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to donate 50 million to expand its ethics teachings, responsibility training (so that pet owners can learn about ways to rehab, train, and treat pets) and so she could have various facilities and employees in various places. She could help immensely and she is so sincere, that it will be hard to find those with such high ethics (those who are out for purely money at the expense of their own ethics). Julie is one to be trusted so I keep her on my donor list.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers