Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

PCHP IS A FABULOUS PROGRAM FOR YOUNG CHILDREN AND THEIR PARENTS! I have been working with the program for over 16 years, and I have personally seen the benefits. This small southern town appreciates PCHP. We have had many success stories over the years. The office is very helpful to the different sites. I LOVE PCHP!
October 19, 2014

more

October 19, 2014

The PCHP is a research-based proven effective program that helps young children develop the skills needed to be ready for school while at the same time fostering a positive parent-child relationship. It should be expanded and replicated in many more communities across the country.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

This program is wonderful for young moms especially to introduce them to ways to interact with child that they would never think of but agree with.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

I have been with PCHP from the start. Over the years I have seen so many family's grow through our program and have found that it only take 30 min. of time to make a difference with their child. I could not see myself doing anything but PCHP and the GREAT JOY you get from it. LOVE LOVE PCHP, Faye Munn PCHP Home Visitor
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

I found out about the Parent-Child Home Program around twenty years ago and wrote and received a Barbara Bush Foundation Family Literacy Grant. We had tried another National Parenting Program but it did not go over well with our at-risk families. SO when we received the Barbara Bush Grant we immediately started PCHP. We went for training and started and have not looked back since. We feel that the PCHP is the BEST PROGRAM ANYWHERE. We serve two and three year old children and their parents twice a week for thirty minutes. The children love the free books and toys that they receive each week and we get great JOY out of watching them achieve. THIS NON-PROFIT is WONDERFUL. Everyone at the National Office is helpful and there for us whenever we have a question. I LOVE PCHP.
DIANA H BAILEY FLORENCE SCHOOL DISTRICT ONE TITLE 1 COORDINATOR/FAMILY LITERACY COORDINATOR/PCHP COORDINATOR 319 S Dargan Street Florence SC 29506 843-669=0710
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

As a professional in the field of home visiting families at risk, I have seen first hand both program coordinators and home visitors turn hard-to-reach, scarcely involved families into responsible, motivated 'first teachers' of their young child's learning and school readiness. This program shows families how to prepare their children for school in a way that makes them feel empowered and confident using the myriad of developmentally appropriate skills and techniques the home visitor shares. PCHP is a highly successful and progressively necessary program in a community, especially one that is struggling with early academic achievement as well as long-term goals.
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Having worked for Parent-Child Home Program for nine years, I have seen first hand the benefits of the program. I have seen parents become animated readers with their children and children learn how to love books. I have seen children who were almost totally non-verbal become communicative due to the time and attention they received from their caregivers. This was the most fulfilling job I could have asked for.
April 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The Parent-Child Home Program really works! Parents don’t want or need to be told what to do. They need opportunities to see and try effective techniques in a warm, non-threatening way. The regular, predictable, stimulating, developmentally sequenced, proven, creative yet intimate Home Visits of the PCHP in which parent and child and Home Visitor play and read and talk together provide the perfect setting for verbal and cognitive growth of parents and children. As a former teacher in the Cambridge Public Schools, I have seen the results: PCHP kids arrive at school familiar with materials, confident to explore and ready to learn; parents arrive at school familiar with the system, confident in their parenting role and ready to be involved.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen low income, low literacy children and families make significant progress academically and personally, eagerly enroll for school, and succeed along with their peers. I have conducted small research projects with the families and have spoken with many Kindergarten teachers that confirm my observations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make it available to as many families as possible!

April 21, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I loved working for the Parent Child Home Program when it was in the Riverhead Central School District. Being a home visitor and working directly with the children and their parents and seeing the strides they made on a weekly basis was and still is the most rewarding experience anyone could have. The Parent Child Home Program is the best!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen the results of the program over the years as clients are enrolled in the school I work in now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes.. the program should be in every town in every state!

September 24, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

The Parent-Child Home program is a powerful model that brings parents and their children together in play and conversation , strengthening their relationship and preparing the child for a lifetime success in reading and learning.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

serving homeless families who are highly mobile and who are virtually lost from the community at large. Over ten years and several hundreds of needy families have been provided the tools and support to be the best parent they can be to their child.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the powerful results for parents and children through simple , consistent and ongoing outreach.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Wonderful and full of passion for the early childhood experience of children being raised in poverty.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Reach children early as they are first developing , and provide the support they need to be successful in school. There are millions of children in America who have no access to early education.Most have no transportation.They need this program.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers