Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
319 Reviews
1234.984335
| 1 2 3 4...10 |
Write A Review
July 8, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 4, 2013

Forum is filled with great amount of real first hand cancer experience. Best place to ask and get direct and honest answers and guidance thorough diagnosis, treatment, and post-treatment issues. more

July 8, 2014

oral cancer survivor now one year NED. OCF is an incredible resource for gathering real first hand experiences of those who are under treatment and those who have completed treatment. Other resources are invaluable to get up to speed on this cancer and educating those preparing for the difficult journey ahead.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013

Forum is filled with great amount of real first hand cancer experience. Best place to ask and get direct and honest answers and guidance thorough diagnosis, treatment, and post-treatment issues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase awareness to more involved with oral cancer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

OCF is the best resource available online for all people wanting to know more or are dealing with oral cancers. It is focused on this type of cancer and has many VERY first person experiences about all facets of diagnosis, treatment, and post treatment stages.

You get the real deal here:
no sugar coating, over the top high fives, or lack of scientific and medical substance. You can be assured what is being posted is backed up by real experience or references to clinical trial results or other reports published by professional peer review journals.

Brian, Eric, and other key forum members are always watching and weigh in on topics that can use the voice of wisdom and experience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

I cannot say enough about the Oral Cancer Foundation and what it has meant to me as a survivor. I check into the survivor/patient forum every day. The medical information is easy to understand and the people who participate are some of the most amazing people I have ever met. It has helped me to realize that I am not alone. There are no support groups for oral cancer in my area, and this is one way for me to share my feelings and find out that others are going through the same thing. My only regret is that I did not discover this site until after I had completed my treatments.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As my wife goes through her struggle with tongue cancer, the OCF website and the community of people on their forums were of great help preparing us to what was ahead in our quest to become cancer free. Unlike other websites & forums, the information presented was always top quality with the administrators and founders of the organisation going above and beyond to ensure that the views expressed were not skewed but based on scientific evidence.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This has to be the best site on the web for information and support for oral cancer sufferers and survivors alike. Members here share everything from recipes and soft food lists to uncommon symptoms your dr. Never told you about. Experienced members give advice and kudos, and support where needed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I was diagnosed with stage IV tongue cancer in May of 2009. Unfotunately I didn't know about OCF at that time. However, during my recovery, I log on to OCF at least once a day. I always learn something. Oral cancer is one cancer where the side effects of radiation, especially don't stop. I find it so helpful to know that I'm not alone. I also participate in a Facebook page for head and neck cancer survivors, which is fine, too, but it can't compare to OCF. They screen comments and are careful not to have anything posted that isn't medically sound. I am so grateful for the support and knowledge that I have received from OCF.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Eian Evans. I'm 28 years old and I found out I had salivary gland May.2012. I really didnt understand where to begin to look for information about my rare cancer. I have been through 2 major surgeries on my left side and one round of radiation. This website has helped me in many ways, it gave me a place to vent when nobody could relate to me. It gave me a place of comfort as well. I just had surgery on November.5th,2012. I pray and wish everyone the best in their journey of life. We are strong individuals, we are fighters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 3, 2009

more

August 3, 2009

This helped my friend a great deal. Her husband was greatly helped by this organization. I highly recommend it to anybody.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My friend was very thankful for the help she received.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 1, 2009

more

August 1, 2009

My brother-in-law and a great-niece both had cancer in thier mouths. They have both passed away, but while they were alive, the OCF helped, and has been a great comfort to my niece.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very energetic and enthusiastic

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

help at least 10 more individuals

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 1, 2009

more

August 1, 2009

I work in biological research and have always viewed cancer or any other disease a problem to be solved objectively. Frankly, for that very reason I have never really cared for the toll it takes on people affected or their friends and families. I believed that there was not much I could contribute unless I was part of the solution. Until of course one of your own falls prey. My friend had oral cancer 2 years ago. He has done well since then. But I was privy to empathy that I wasn't sure I had before. The OCF was a huge factor in his successful fight. I am grateful and would like to contribute in other ways than I previously thought possible. Thank you.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

it has and will provide valuable support to my friend and others.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 1, 2009

more

August 1, 2009

This is a great website that has helped many people spread the word about oral cancer, its causes and treatment. My friend has oral cancer and this disease has irrevocably changed her life. Her doctor told her it used to be known as the "alcoholics cancer" seeing as big risk factors include smoking and drinking, but she tell me that there are so many young, non smokers posting on the forum that it gets very difficult to watch. The well established connection of this cancer to a certain strain of HPV is finally getting known in the health care community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

How much information it has on the disease. When my friend was diagnosed I read alot on their website about oral cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more attention drawn to the disease, its causes and treatment. It now appears to be a cancer that is hitting those in the 30-50 age group very hard. Demographics are changing for this disease and research needs to be done.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Again, the amount of and quality of information available. Sometimes when she would ask questions, I would tell her to go back and read a section that covered that topic. She spends more time in the forums getting support than in the factual data

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

I didn't meet any staff - just read the informative and well written articles.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Fund more research which would lead to better earlier detection. Better inform the medical community about oral cancer. My friend's G.P. had never seen it before, and she had been in practice for 20 years.

Ways to make it better...

My friend had not gotten this cancer!

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Money and staff. I think the patients are too tapped out to really assist with the bigger goal of eradicating this disease.

One thing I'd also say is that...

Great info on a great site.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers