Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
317 Reviews
1234.984235
| 1 2 3 4...16 |
Write A Review
June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

The Oral Cancer Foundation (OCF) is the very best small nonprofit! They help thousands of oral cancer patients and caregivers with their online forum. The OCF helps educate the public with awareness walks and oral cancer screenings. If all that isnt enough, they fund research projects to help make oral cancer discovered earlier and easier treatments for patients. The Oral Cancer Foundation is a wonderful organization that makes the most out of every cent. They could give other groups a real education on what a nonprofit is supposed to represent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 20, 2012

My husband was diagnosed with stage IV Base of Tongue cancer in December 2010. Unfortunately I did not find the oral cancer foundation's web site until he had almost completed his radiation/chemo trea... more

June 27, 2014

Just a fabulous site. When we got the diagnosis of base of tongue cancer we knew absolutely nothing about this type of cancer and how it was treated. . I literally learnt everything I needed to know from this site and from its Patients Forum. Far more information and practical help than we ever got from our Oncology team. The support from other Patients and Caregivers was essential to our progress and to my peace of mind.
I simply could not have got through without the support of the Oral Cancer Foundation.
4 years later I am still getting advice and support. I recommend this support site to all.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband was diagnosed with stage IV Base of Tongue cancer in December 2010. Unfortunately I did not find the oral cancer foundation's web site until he had almost completed his radiation/chemo treatment. How I wish I had found this site earlier to guide us through all the stages of diagnosis and treatment. The information on this site is accurate and up to date. I have found and continue to find the advice of fellow members on the patient forum to be invaluable. Just to know that others too have walked this path and are surviving is so important to me.Unfortunately my husband has had a reoccurrence but I continue to get advice and strength from the members of this site. We are doing well now, but I check in on a daily basis - it is a lifeline.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

The Oral Cancer Foundation was vital to my recovery from head and neck cancer. The level of concern and caring from Foundation members and all those who contribute to its forums is simply amazing. I'm proud to be a member of the OCF family.

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

With my husband's diagnosis of throat cancer, my world spun wildly. We made it through the initial treatment. When we learned that the cancer had spread and wasn't as neatly contained as we'd been led to think it would be....my world crashed. It was then that I realized I needed not just the informational help, but also the emotional help, that was offered on OCF. I have made some new kind of friends, and I can't begin to elucidate all that the site has done for me--and by extension, for my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found the OCF website shortly after being diagnosed with oral cancer. The information provided on their website was very helpful when I was trying to grasp the enormity of the diagnosis. The Survivor/Patient Forum was an invaluable resource for both information and support. It is extremely difficult to sift through all the information that's thrown at you while still reeling from the news that you have cancer. The foundation provided me with the information that I needed in a clear, concise format that was invaluable at the time. The forum provided me with a place to talk with people who understood what I was experiencing. I was relatively young and had a new baby when I was diagnosed. The forum allowed me to meet and talk with other women who were in similar positions. I can't overstate the impact that had on me. It was such a gift to know that I wasn't alone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase visibility so that even more patients and caregivers could join the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

The best site to go for information and support if you are an oral cancer patient, caregiver, family member or friend of someone going through this disease. I did go through it and found the information and support invaluable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

They have a very informative website where you can get educated on the disease, and their forum is a wonderful place to be part of a community of people going through the same thing...it's incredibly comforting to reach others stories, ask questions, read about others' situations etc. and their forum leaders are always available and quick to offer answers and advice. I've met the most wonderful people through this site.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

There will never be enough words to express my gratitude for the Oral Cancer Foundation website and the people on it. This is my second go around with oral cancer and I'm currently in treatment. I could not have made it emotionally this far without the OCF family. So many people on the site go about and beyond the call of duty to answer questions, encourage and impart invaluable information. Another aspect that I really appreciate about the website is that it's more than just a forum. It also has all the latest information on everything from research, clinical trials, news articles, and rehabilitation, just to name a few. Thank you OCF! - ngk

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...just keep on with more of the same...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Hello my name is Shawn, When I found out that I had squamous cell carcinoma the first thing I did after telling my family was to find out as much as I could about my particular cancer. I wanted to be informed so that I could better make choices when it came to what treatments would suit me best in the road ahead of me. I believe when I found The Oral Cancer Foundation Was a pivotal point in my journey.
Not only did I find answers to my many questions and concerns, and I think now more importantly I found friendship and compassion. I had an ally in my battle with oral cancer. And for this I will be eternally thankful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have had oral cancer twice, without any known cause (no tobacco/drinking or HPV). Unfortunately, I won't be the only one you hear about getting oral cancer in the future. I also know that without the help of The Oral Cancer Foundation, I would have felt completely lost and alone when I was diagnosed. It has been through OCF that I have found great support and friendships that will last a lifetime. Sadly, some of those "lifetimes" have been cut tragically short, in an unfair and brutal manner.

The Oral Cancer Foundation and its community has some of the greatest people that donate their time, love, and compassion for the help of others currently fighting, surviving, or trying to make their way in this world without their loved one. They are the "go to" source for a plethora of accurate, medically-vetted information that will help cancer victims, their friends/families, and caregivers.

Their website helps you to understand the different types of oral/head/neck cancers, treatment protocols, things to expect, tips on dealing with all aspects of the disease, and how to navigate through your life since it has been turned upside down by a diagnosis of oral/oropharyngeal cancer. I would STRONGLY suggest getting on the patient support forums, where you will find old-timers, regulars, and newcomers who are ready and willing to welcome you with open arms. There is no better support forum, in my opinion.

The Oral Cancer Foundation certainly lives up to its mission..."The Oral Cancer Foundation is a national public service, non-profit entity designed to reduce suffering and save lives through prevention, education, research, advocacy, and patient support activities."

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to tell you about OCF!

Sincerely,
Kerri (2 time oral and oropharyngeal cancer survivor, one day at a time)


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can honestly say that I would not change one thing. I cannot think of a way to improve upon they way the website is set up now and how easy it is to navigate and use the patient support forums. I recommend it to many people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers