Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
319 Reviews
1234.984335
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 8, 2013

The Oral Cancer Foundation is the BEST!!!! It is THE place to turn to for correct medical info and support when diagnosed with oral cancer. The main site is full of important info and news stories a... more

July 3, 2014

The Oral Cancer Foundation is THE BEST!!! It helps thousands of oral cancer patients and their caregivers each month. The public forum has hundreds of members who are always willing to help others. This organization is a great small nonprofit which helps so many.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Oral Cancer Foundation is the BEST!!!! It is THE place to turn to for correct medical info and support when diagnosed with oral cancer. The main site is full of important info and news stories about oral cancer. The public forum is made up of volunteers who will help the patient thru diagnosis, treatment and recovery with correct medical info and moral support.

OCF has helped me tremendously. If it wasnt for Brian Hill and the Oral Cancer Foundation I probably wouldnt be here today. When I was diagnosed with my 3rd round of oral cancer and it was Stage IV, I almost gave up. Brian and the kind Oral Cancer Foundations members helped me to understand I had a shot and to not quit before I even tried. A huge THANK YOU to both Brian and his creation, OCF!!!

I have been a volunteer for OCF for the past few years since my recovery from my third round of oral cancer. This organization is run on a show string budget and does wonders with what it has. OCF funds research studies to help current and future oral cancer patients. This is one great non profit!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
December 1, 2012

I have been coming to this site for over 6 years on a daily basis helping others that have not been where I have. It is truley the BEST oral cancer website IN THE WORLD. more

July 2, 2014

I survived oral cancer and can't thank the OCF enough for all that it has done fopr me over the last 8 years of recovery.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

it would be funded by our government.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 1, 2012

I have been coming to this site for over 6 years on a daily basis helping others that have not been where I have. It is truley the BEST oral cancer website IN THE WORLD.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been visiting this site for 5 years now and I still am learning about my cancer. The site is extremely user friendly; it's free and you can get an answer to any question or just complain about how you feel 24/7. I have talked to thousands of people over the years and have actually met many in person. The bonds you can create while helping one another whether you are the patient; the caregiver or a concerned family member are priceless. I truly believe that this site is as valuable as the physical treatment itself.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Knowledge gained and helping others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a cure for this cancer and eventually do away with this site.

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

I was diagnosed with stage 3 tongue cancer last August. As a 35 year old mother of 3 I was devastated. I of course went on the Internet to learn all I could about oral cancer. I came across this site and immediately felt at home. I was able to get support all during my radiation and chemo treatments. I was also able to relate to others and help with issues as well. I could not have gotten through it without this site!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I found OCF when researching reconstruction of my mandible which had been removed because of cancer. I learned a great deal from the website and received honest and helpful information and support from the forums. I continue to follow the latest news via the RSS feed on my homepage. On the forums I learned much about the importance of having others who understand the impact this form of cancer makes in a person's life. I have had two other forms of cancer and fond this site to be much clearer, better organized, and more reliable on a scientific level than sites devoted to other forms of cancer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When my husband developed worrisome symptoms three years ago, the OCF provided emotional support for me as a caregiver, and education for both of us moving through diagnosis, work-up for treatments, the treatment itself, recovery and return to a new normal. OCF provides education, emotional support, and a host of practical tips on dealing with this dreadful disease. My husband made it through in good order, and this morning we enjoyed a wonderful walk in the park together. OCF helped get us there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The BEST by leaps and bounds Oral Cancer Foundation in the world. I found this site 7 years ago during my treatment for Stage IV oral cancer and was helped beyond what any doctor could do and I am still active today helping others going through the same treatment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it mandatory for all oral cancer patients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Hearing the words "You have cancer" sends you into a downward tailspin. Finding the OCF website and the survivors forum is a lifeline to pull you out of the despair and give you hope to survive treatment. I've had both oral cancer and breast cancer and the treatments are 180 degrees different. It is one long hellish trip. This site not only shows you in pictures what you are up against but gives you thousands of survivors that have made it through and can help you make that journey also. I'm a stage IV tonsil cancer 11 year survivor and this site helped get me here!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none. Absolutely none.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am righting this for my friend Lisa Petersen who was diagnosed with Stage 3 squamous cell carcinoma....cancer of the tongue in 2010. After a very short battle with this disease, she lost her life at 41 years old. Lisa was determined to speak, but cancer silenced her words. Cancer has not silenced her voice..... During her fight, she contacted the Oral Cancer Foundation, and found support with two wonderful women dedicated to this organization, Christine Brader and Susan Lauria. They showed so much support for her while she was ill. Lisa was so full of life even though her body was failing from this disease. If Lisa was alive today......she would be righting this to support the Oral Cancer Foundation. She wanted to do a walk with Chrisine Brader in her future, which never happened. I have become Lisa's Voice to help spread the awareness of this silent deadly disease. Through the help of Christine and Susan I held Lisa's Voice Oral Cancer Awareness event to support the Oral Cancer Foundation. I would give this organization 10 stars!!!! So many hardworking volunteers and the dedication is unbelievable. The dental communities across the US and other countries give the OCF total support. Cancer was not in Lisa's plan for her life, but if she was here today, she would be righting this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2013

My husband is an oral cancer survivor and I am his caregiver. I found the Oral Cancer Foundation during a particularly difficult time in my husband's treatment. The support I received from the Forum a... more

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When my husband was going through treatment for oral cancer, I spent many nights searching for answers to his condition. I found the Oral Cancer Foundation one night and felt as if I had come home. Here was an organization dedicated to oral cancer and I immediately connected with others going through similar issues. I am so grateful to the OCF for the information,, education and research they have sponsored. The Forum is a group of patients and caregivers available at any time to help when the going gets tough. I have made friends all over the world who are with me every step of the way. I can't thank Brian Hill and his staff enough for the support I have received. It has helped me get through very difficult times. Today, I give back by donating to this worthy organization in the hopes that I might help someone else as I have been helped.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My husband is an oral cancer survivor and I am his caregiver. I found the Oral Cancer Foundation during a particularly difficult time in my husband's treatment. The support I received from the Forum and the comprehensive information on the website were lifesavers for me. I have learned so much about this disease and so much appreciate what Brian Hill has created. There is no other site like this for those affected with this awful disease. I have made lifelong friends from the OCF Forum, many of whom I have met at the Awareness Walks. I consider myself a volunteer in that I support others in the Forum with the my experience of OC, and I give generously to the cause as I believe that awareness and prevention are key to a healthier future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 4, 2013

As a 10 year survivor of oral cancer I must say that this journey was made much more tolerable thanks to the OCF community. Not only providing the most accurate, science-based information on any aspec... more

July 1, 2014

I began this journey July 18, 2003. There is so much to learn and the medical community doesn't manage the side effects of treatment well. Through the Oral Cancer foundation, I have met thousands of people and almost all of them have had suggestions as to what worked best for them. Because of the randomness of recovery, this information proved valuable to me back then and continues to.

I believe the Oral Cancer Foundation provides the most science-based evidence possible to help disseminate all the complexities of treatment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide unlimited funds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

As a 10 year survivor of oral cancer I must say that this journey was made much more tolerable thanks to the OCF community. Not only providing the most accurate, science-based information on any aspect of oral cancer, OCF is diligently educating dental professionals in techniques and information sharing to strengthen the front line battle against this life changing disease.

In addition OCF has provided an on-line community of approximately 9,000 registered users that are either oral cancer survivors, family and/or caregivers with hands on experience in dealing with the diagnosis through post-treatment issues.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found OCF while recovering from treatment for Stage IV Squamous Cell Carcinoma, BOT in 2003. I have met many people that have or will experience the complexities of treatment and the brutality/toxicity that brings with it new challenges. OCF is not only a community of survivors and caregivers but the most informative site for all facets of oral cancers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2009

When I was diagnosed with Stage IV Oral Cancer in 2003 my life changed and honestly, it has not stopped changing. I have yet to find my "new normal" as we call it. I became active on the forums that were provided by the Oral Cancer Foundation and met literally thousannds of people that had experienced pretty much the same thing as me only with personalized time frames. As trite as it may sound, I don't know how I would have made it to where I am today without the resources, the friends and the incredible website Brian Hill self-funded to start it up. I go to Health Fairs and represent the Oral Cancer Foundation and if I was in a little better health presently, I would be organizing a walk to raise money during Oral Cancer Week next April.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Bringing people from all over the world to one place that is the singlemost comprehensive resource website for oral cancer as well as providing a place where hundreds walk through the cancer journey with you, letting you know what is around the corner.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...not change a thing!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The tenacity of Brian Hill and how he singlehandedly made this happen with hundreds of thousands of dollars out of his pocket to promote early detection which increases your chances of survival from 25% to 90%.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Incredibly devoted to helping people with this horrible disease and willing to put in the hours needed for nothing in return, monetarily.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Reduce the death rate of oral cancer significantly. In addition, more research could be directed towards early detection and treatment alternatives.

Ways to make it better...

Brian Hill had an entire staff instead of an army of one for so long and financial backing.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

The low incidence rate of oral cancer versus breast cancer, for example. It is hard to fund and support groups that are trying to get the word out on early detection and keep up with treatment technology when there are only 35,000 "victims" a year.

One thing I'd also say is that...

My life was transformed by finding the Oral Cancer Foundation.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers