Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
287 Reviews
1234.982585
| 1 2 3...27 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Even two years after treatment I visit the site several times each week. The community is so sincere, compassionate, and helpful to anyone struggling to deal with this terrible disease. Until a cure is found it is the folks from the Oral Cancer Foundation that will help anyone with the daily questions and struggles. For most people it is so great to connect with others who have already been there, and can reassure you the battle is worth it, and there is still a lot of life to live ahead for you... God bless them all.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

When my mom was diagnosed this site really helped me too become a patient advocate. Members here encouraged me to push for further treatment options for my mom. I am thankful for this wonderful group!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

The best site to go for information and support if you are an oral cancer patient, caregiver, family member or friend of someone going through this disease. I did go through it and found the information and support invaluable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The BEST by leaps and bounds Oral Cancer Foundation in the world. I found this site 7 years ago during my treatment for Stage IV oral cancer and was helped beyond what any doctor could do and I am still active today helping others going through the same treatment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it mandatory for all oral cancer patients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

They have a very informative website where you can get educated on the disease, and their forum is a wonderful place to be part of a community of people going through the same thing...it's incredibly comforting to reach others stories, ask questions, read about others' situations etc. and their forum leaders are always available and quick to offer answers and advice. I've met the most wonderful people through this site.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

There will never be enough words to express my gratitude for the Oral Cancer Foundation website and the people on it. This is my second go around with oral cancer and I'm currently in treatment. I could not have made it emotionally this far without the OCF family. So many people on the site go about and beyond the call of duty to answer questions, encourage and impart invaluable information. Another aspect that I really appreciate about the website is that it's more than just a forum. It also has all the latest information on everything from research, clinical trials, news articles, and rehabilitation, just to name a few. Thank you OCF! - ngk

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...just keep on with more of the same...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Hello my name is Shawn, When I found out that I had squamous cell carcinoma the first thing I did after telling my family was to find out as much as I could about my particular cancer. I wanted to be informed so that I could better make choices when it came to what treatments would suit me best in the road ahead of me. I believe when I found The Oral Cancer Foundation Was a pivotal point in my journey.
Not only did I find answers to my many questions and concerns, and I think now more importantly I found friendship and compassion. I had an ally in my battle with oral cancer. And for this I will be eternally thankful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I was diagnosed with oral cancer in February 2013 this site provided valuable support and advice. It is a place you can turn to with any question knowing that you will not be judged or your fears belittled. People are friendly and kind and will do there utmost to help and encourage you. Although the site is based in the USA people from all over the world can access the resources and help provided by the site.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 9, 2013

When I found the Oral Cancer Foundation, I was sitting in the Radiation waiting room, feeling alone and scared and worried about my son who was in the Radiation room, strapped down to a table with a... more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When my son was first diagnosed with oral cancer, I was filled with anxiety and worry over what was happening to him. Searching online only frightened me more until I found the Oral Cancer Foundation soon after his surgery and just as he started Radiation Tx. Throughout his treatment, I found a wealth of of all the latest information, compassion, and practical advice but even more, I found hope, and this kept me going throughout the incredibly brutal treatment my son suffered through on his road to being "cancer-free". My son is now 7+ years cancer-free but I am still with the Oral Cancer Foundation, trying to give back a little of what we received. I continue learn and be amazed at everything that is going on with the latest research and all the great individuals who share their knowledge and support with others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes, just more of the same great attention to research, awareness, information and compassionate support!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I found the Oral Cancer Foundation, I was sitting in the Radiation waiting room, feeling alone and scared and worried about my son who was in the Radiation room, strapped down to a table with a mask holding his dead in position and receiving his Rad Tx. Another young man just my son's age was called to receive his treatment, but as he passed by where I was sitting, he bent over and whispered to me "Go to the Oralcancerfoundation.org. They will help". And they indeed helped my son and me in every way possible - with the most recent accurate information available, plus the compassionate support from other survivors, sharing their own experiences and giving us hope, helping us daily and often several times a day. That was 7 years ago and my son is now cancer-free! I will never forget the young man in the waiting room who led me to the Oral Cancer Foundation. I continue to stay with this great organization to try to give back to others, the compassionate support and hope that was given to us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When my son Paul, aged 33, a non-smoker, was first diagnosed with Squamous Cell Cancer, I was so anxious, it took me three days after his diagnosis before I could bring myself to punch the words “Squamous Cell Cancer” on my laptop and everything I saw on the internet frightened me and left me more confused than ever. Somehow Paul got though surgery and had started his Radiation treatments. Then, one day as I sat in the Radiation room waiting and worrying about what was coming next, a young man sitting next to me, bent over and softly said to me, "Go to the OralCancerFoundation.org" - and that was the start of hope, knowledge, compassion and surviving cancer for my son and for me as his caregiver. At the Oral Cancer Foundation I found all the latest in accurate information, plus great suggestions from compassionate people who, with their knowledge and experience helped us every step of the way. I came to them many times every day and there was always someone there to listen, to offer helpful suggestions and to point me in the direction of accurate information no matter what time of day or night it was. That was more than six years ago and my son is doing just great, now. I still visit the Oral Cancer Foundation Site several times a day and try to pass on to other caregivers and survivors what I’ve learned from the Oral Cancer Foundation and to keep learning and increasing my own knowledge base in the fight against Oral Cancer so that some day we can make Oral Cancer history.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have had oral cancer twice, without any known cause (no tobacco/drinking or HPV). Unfortunately, I won't be the only one you hear about getting oral cancer in the future. I also know that without the help of The Oral Cancer Foundation, I would have felt completely lost and alone when I was diagnosed. It has been through OCF that I have found great support and friendships that will last a lifetime. Sadly, some of those "lifetimes" have been cut tragically short, in an unfair and brutal manner.

The Oral Cancer Foundation and its community has some of the greatest people that donate their time, love, and compassion for the help of others currently fighting, surviving, or trying to make their way in this world without their loved one. They are the "go to" source for a plethora of accurate, medically-vetted information that will help cancer victims, their friends/families, and caregivers.

Their website helps you to understand the different types of oral/head/neck cancers, treatment protocols, things to expect, tips on dealing with all aspects of the disease, and how to navigate through your life since it has been turned upside down by a diagnosis of oral/oropharyngeal cancer. I would STRONGLY suggest getting on the patient support forums, where you will find old-timers, regulars, and newcomers who are ready and willing to welcome you with open arms. There is no better support forum, in my opinion.

The Oral Cancer Foundation certainly lives up to its mission..."The Oral Cancer Foundation is a national public service, non-profit entity designed to reduce suffering and save lives through prevention, education, research, advocacy, and patient support activities."

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to tell you about OCF!

Sincerely,
Kerri (2 time oral and oropharyngeal cancer survivor, one day at a time)


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can honestly say that I would not change one thing. I cannot think of a way to improve upon they way the website is set up now and how easy it is to navigate and use the patient support forums. I recommend it to many people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers