Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
317 Reviews
1234.984235
Previous | 1 2 3...29 |
Write A Review
July 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When you are diagnosed with cancer, there are simultaneously dozens of places to get advice and no places at all. What that means is it is easy to become overwhelmed with information and to almost drown in it. Cancer is scary - so very scary - and having a place to go, a place where people have been through what you're going through, makes an enormous difference.

The people at the OCF foundation are in treatment, survivors of treatment, caregivers to those with this horrible disease and yes, are sometimes those left behind. They are a wealth of knowledge and support because they have lived it. When I was diagnosed I nearly drowned in statistics, information and general fear. These people helped me sort it out. They continued their support by answering questions and providing encouragement throughout my treatment and have done so whilst I recover.

Best of all, I know that if I post today, two months since I last posted, I would be greeted warmly and my questions or concerns would be answered promptly.

This is a great site -- one of the most important in the world if you have head or neck cancer, and one of the best in the world for those looking for love, support and strength through one of the toughest battles in life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Modernize the interface -- it is a bit dated.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When we are first diagnosed with cancer we are all lost and terrified. That is pretty much true for all of us. What we need is to find a group and find it quickly that shows us and convinces us our cancer is not a death warrant, that it is survivable and thrive-able. OCF did that for me. Their members and staff are all supportive, knowledgeable and willing to share. Because they are a well moderated forum they don't have or tolerate misbehavior on their forums.

Like others have said, I give them 5 stars only because I can't give them 10.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

When I was diagnosed with Tongue Cancer I discovered this organization almost immediately. I utilized the forums and the literature they had to manage my treatment and become a good patient advocate. This organization doesn't stop at just the diagnosis and treatment phase but continues to long term because survivors need information to manage long term effects of the treatment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am giving OCF 5 stars because I can't give it 10. This wonderful organisation provides imperative support to oral cancers patients and their families, through the patient forum and the authoritative newsfeed. The administrators are cancer survivors who are passionate educators and supporters of others, valuing scientific veracity and honesty in their provision of information. I found this particularly important as cancer can make patients and families feel utterly powerless, whereas knowledge from a trusted source is empowering. I know, as does every forum member that no question is too trivial or too personal or too embarrassing or has been asked too many times, such is the culture of OCF. Technically, the forum is user friendly, being easy to navigate and intuitive.

When my brother was diagnosed with Stage IV cancer our family was devastated, with no clue as to what sort of questions to even ask his treating doctors. I am so thankful that I happened upon the OCF in my search for support and information on the Internet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of how it could be improved.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2013

My husband is an oral cancer survivor and I am his caregiver. I found the Oral Cancer Foundation during a particularly difficult time in my husband's treatment. The support I received from the Forum a... more

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When my husband was going through treatment for oral cancer, I spent many nights searching for answers to his condition. I found the Oral Cancer Foundation one night and felt as if I had come home. Here was an organization dedicated to oral cancer and I immediately connected with others going through similar issues. I am so grateful to the OCF for the information,, education and research they have sponsored. The Forum is a group of patients and caregivers available at any time to help when the going gets tough. I have made friends all over the world who are with me every step of the way. I can't thank Brian Hill and his staff enough for the support I have received. It has helped me get through very difficult times. Today, I give back by donating to this worthy organization in the hopes that I might help someone else as I have been helped.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My husband is an oral cancer survivor and I am his caregiver. I found the Oral Cancer Foundation during a particularly difficult time in my husband's treatment. The support I received from the Forum and the comprehensive information on the website were lifesavers for me. I have learned so much about this disease and so much appreciate what Brian Hill has created. There is no other site like this for those affected with this awful disease. I have made lifelong friends from the OCF Forum, many of whom I have met at the Awareness Walks. I consider myself a volunteer in that I support others in the Forum with the my experience of OC, and I give generously to the cause as I believe that awareness and prevention are key to a healthier future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

I've been active on the OCF patient/caregiver forums since my husband was diagnosed with very-early-stage oral cancer in 2006. I was welcomed into a club we never sought to join and received invaluable advice. Over the years I've seen how the support of people who have "been there, done that" has helped newcomers survive -- and even thrive -- during the hardest points of treatment for this often life-threatening illness. The main pages of the site contain a wealth of information about various types of head and neck cancer, making the site "one-stop shopping" for people afflicted with this disease and for their families, who are often equally as affected, though in different ways. Since my first experience with OCF in 2006 (and my husband's full recovery), I've offered support and advice, when appropriate, in the forums.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes -- other than somehow arrange for a lot of money to be dropped on it so it can expand its life-changing work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Informative place for anyone diagnosed with head and neck cancer. Website is well designed, accuracy of information and support on the forums is second to none.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

more

July 9, 2014

My healthy and active husband (46) was diagnosed with Stage IVa throat cancer (SCC) on January 31, 2014. I am very thankful to have found the OCF website and its Patient Forum. The website has informative and thorough answers to my questions concerning my husband's diagnosis, treatment, and recovery. The OCF's Patient Forum contains advice and personal accounts which provide me with relief that my fear, worry, frustration and anger as his caregiver is normal and has been felt before by others. The contributing members graciously offer their experience and insight, sometimes humorous, but also sometimes heartbreaking. But knowing I am not alone at 3:30 am with a question about peg tube feeding, radiation burns, or cisplatin is of great comfort to this caregiver. Thank you OCF.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 4, 2013

Forum is filled with great amount of real first hand cancer experience. Best place to ask and get direct and honest answers and guidance thorough diagnosis, treatment, and post-treatment issues. more

July 8, 2014

oral cancer survivor now one year NED. OCF is an incredible resource for gathering real first hand experiences of those who are under treatment and those who have completed treatment. Other resources are invaluable to get up to speed on this cancer and educating those preparing for the difficult journey ahead.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013

Forum is filled with great amount of real first hand cancer experience. Best place to ask and get direct and honest answers and guidance thorough diagnosis, treatment, and post-treatment issues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase awareness to more involved with oral cancer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

OCF is the best resource available online for all people wanting to know more or are dealing with oral cancers. It is focused on this type of cancer and has many VERY first person experiences about all facets of diagnosis, treatment, and post treatment stages.

You get the real deal here:
no sugar coating, over the top high fives, or lack of scientific and medical substance. You can be assured what is being posted is backed up by real experience or references to clinical trial results or other reports published by professional peer review journals.

Brian, Eric, and other key forum members are always watching and weigh in on topics that can use the voice of wisdom and experience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2014

more

July 6, 2014

The oral cancer survivors, caregivers, and people still fighting that posted on OCF's Patient Forum provided insight that my husband's doctors could not. Good advice and kind and encouraging words kept him going during some very dark days, and I am very grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...29 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers