Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
313 Reviews
1234.984035
Previous | 1 2 3...29 |
Write A Review
July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 10, 2013

My husband is an oral cancer survivor and I am his caregiver. I found the Oral Cancer Foundation during a particularly difficult time in my husband's treatment. The support I received from the Forum a... more

July 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When my husband was going through treatment for oral cancer, I spent many nights searching for answers to his condition. I found the Oral Cancer Foundation one night and felt as if I had come home. Here was an organization dedicated to oral cancer and I immediately connected with others going through similar issues. I am so grateful to the OCF for the information,, education and research they have sponsored. The Forum is a group of patients and caregivers available at any time to help when the going gets tough. I have made friends all over the world who are with me every step of the way. I can't thank Brian Hill and his staff enough for the support I have received. It has helped me get through very difficult times. Today, I give back by donating to this worthy organization in the hopes that I might help someone else as I have been helped.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My husband is an oral cancer survivor and I am his caregiver. I found the Oral Cancer Foundation during a particularly difficult time in my husband's treatment. The support I received from the Forum and the comprehensive information on the website were lifesavers for me. I have learned so much about this disease and so much appreciate what Brian Hill has created. There is no other site like this for those affected with this awful disease. I have made lifelong friends from the OCF Forum, many of whom I have met at the Awareness Walks. I consider myself a volunteer in that I support others in the Forum with the my experience of OC, and I give generously to the cause as I believe that awareness and prevention are key to a healthier future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

I've been active on the OCF patient/caregiver forums since my husband was diagnosed with very-early-stage oral cancer in 2006. I was welcomed into a club we never sought to join and received invaluable advice. Over the years I've seen how the support of people who have "been there, done that" has helped newcomers survive -- and even thrive -- during the hardest points of treatment for this often life-threatening illness. The main pages of the site contain a wealth of information about various types of head and neck cancer, making the site "one-stop shopping" for people afflicted with this disease and for their families, who are often equally as affected, though in different ways. Since my first experience with OCF in 2006 (and my husband's full recovery), I've offered support and advice, when appropriate, in the forums.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes -- other than somehow arrange for a lot of money to be dropped on it so it can expand its life-changing work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Informative place for anyone diagnosed with head and neck cancer. Website is well designed, accuracy of information and support on the forums is second to none.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

more

July 9, 2014

My healthy and active husband (46) was diagnosed with Stage IVa throat cancer (SCC) on January 31, 2014. I am very thankful to have found the OCF website and its Patient Forum. The website has informative and thorough answers to my questions concerning my husband's diagnosis, treatment, and recovery. The OCF's Patient Forum contains advice and personal accounts which provide me with relief that my fear, worry, frustration and anger as his caregiver is normal and has been felt before by others. The contributing members graciously offer their experience and insight, sometimes humorous, but also sometimes heartbreaking. But knowing I am not alone at 3:30 am with a question about peg tube feeding, radiation burns, or cisplatin is of great comfort to this caregiver. Thank you OCF.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 4, 2013

Forum is filled with great amount of real first hand cancer experience. Best place to ask and get direct and honest answers and guidance thorough diagnosis, treatment, and post-treatment issues. more

July 8, 2014

oral cancer survivor now one year NED. OCF is an incredible resource for gathering real first hand experiences of those who are under treatment and those who have completed treatment. Other resources are invaluable to get up to speed on this cancer and educating those preparing for the difficult journey ahead.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013

Forum is filled with great amount of real first hand cancer experience. Best place to ask and get direct and honest answers and guidance thorough diagnosis, treatment, and post-treatment issues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase awareness to more involved with oral cancer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

OCF is the best resource available online for all people wanting to know more or are dealing with oral cancers. It is focused on this type of cancer and has many VERY first person experiences about all facets of diagnosis, treatment, and post treatment stages.

You get the real deal here:
no sugar coating, over the top high fives, or lack of scientific and medical substance. You can be assured what is being posted is backed up by real experience or references to clinical trial results or other reports published by professional peer review journals.

Brian, Eric, and other key forum members are always watching and weigh in on topics that can use the voice of wisdom and experience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2014

more

July 6, 2014

The oral cancer survivors, caregivers, and people still fighting that posted on OCF's Patient Forum provided insight that my husband's doctors could not. Good advice and kind and encouraging words kept him going during some very dark days, and I am very grateful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 4, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 8, 2013

Even two years after treatment I visit the site several times each week. The community is so sincere, compassionate, and helpful to anyone struggling to deal with this terrible disease. Until a cure... more

July 4, 2014

OCF is a great community for anyone impacted by oral cancer. Every day OCF replaces fear and despair with information and hope. Best of the best nonprofits.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 8, 2013

Even two years after treatment I visit the site several times each week. The community is so sincere, compassionate, and helpful to anyone struggling to deal with this terrible disease. Until a cure is found it is the folks from the Oral Cancer Foundation that will help anyone with the daily questions and struggles. For most people it is so great to connect with others who have already been there, and can reassure you the battle is worth it, and there is still a lot of life to live ahead for you... God bless them all.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 8, 2013

The Oral Cancer Foundation is the BEST!!!! It is THE place to turn to for correct medical info and support when diagnosed with oral cancer. The main site is full of important info and news stories a... more

July 3, 2014

The Oral Cancer Foundation is THE BEST!!! It helps thousands of oral cancer patients and their caregivers each month. The public forum has hundreds of members who are always willing to help others. This organization is a great small nonprofit which helps so many.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Oral Cancer Foundation is the BEST!!!! It is THE place to turn to for correct medical info and support when diagnosed with oral cancer. The main site is full of important info and news stories about oral cancer. The public forum is made up of volunteers who will help the patient thru diagnosis, treatment and recovery with correct medical info and moral support.

OCF has helped me tremendously. If it wasnt for Brian Hill and the Oral Cancer Foundation I probably wouldnt be here today. When I was diagnosed with my 3rd round of oral cancer and it was Stage IV, I almost gave up. Brian and the kind Oral Cancer Foundations members helped me to understand I had a shot and to not quit before I even tried. A huge THANK YOU to both Brian and his creation, OCF!!!

I have been a volunteer for OCF for the past few years since my recovery from my third round of oral cancer. This organization is run on a show string budget and does wonders with what it has. OCF funds research studies to help current and future oral cancer patients. This is one great non profit!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
December 1, 2012

I have been coming to this site for over 6 years on a daily basis helping others that have not been where I have. It is truley the BEST oral cancer website IN THE WORLD. more

July 2, 2014

I survived oral cancer and can't thank the OCF enough for all that it has done fopr me over the last 8 years of recovery.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

it would be funded by our government.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 1, 2012

I have been coming to this site for over 6 years on a daily basis helping others that have not been where I have. It is truley the BEST oral cancer website IN THE WORLD.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been visiting this site for 5 years now and I still am learning about my cancer. The site is extremely user friendly; it's free and you can get an answer to any question or just complain about how you feel 24/7. I have talked to thousands of people over the years and have actually met many in person. The bonds you can create while helping one another whether you are the patient; the caregiver or a concerned family member are priceless. I truly believe that this site is as valuable as the physical treatment itself.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Knowledge gained and helping others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a cure for this cancer and eventually do away with this site.

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

As a caregiver to someone with oral cancer, I have relied heavily on the OCF forum for support and guidance during and after my husband's treatment. There is no substitute for being able to immediately talk with hundreds of others who have gone through the process before you, and to have this forum available 24 hours a day. I am extremely grateful for the support I have received at all hours of the day and night. I would have felt much more alone and in the dark if I had not found this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything I would want to change, other than making more people with oral cancer and their caregivers aware that it exists.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...29 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers