Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.906255
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

It is evident that the staff at Northwest Center are excellent stewards of the organizations' resources as they properly utilize every bit of space, materials, funding and volunteers to help so many. I've enjoyed witnessing their approach with the client which is one of genuine care and concern. You can see the difference that Northwest is making in the lives of young women and their children. I am grateful that this organization operates in my community, and feel confident in recommending Northwest to donors, volunteers or those in need of their services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I've been a volunteer at the Northwest Center for two months, and I could not be more thrilled to be here. The work the center does is truly incredible - working with mothers, fathers and children to accomplish the goals they desire and providing monthly material assistance to help ease the financial burden of having a child. Before I started working here, I had no idea how much money items like diapers, formula, wipes, breast pumps, strollers, etc. cost. Helping families with these items while encouraging growth and independence is so important and makes a tangible difference in the lives of many.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I've been involved with the Northwest Center for two years as a volunteer and donor. If I had to pick three words to describe the center, I'd say important, kind, and trustworthy.

The Northwest Center is important because there are few places in DC where moms with unplanned pregnancies
can find encouragement and resources to help them continue their pregnancies and either keep their babies or give someone else the joy of adopting their babies. The Northwest Center saves the lives of these babies and also the lives of these moms by supplying encouragement and practical help.

I chose the word kind because Susan and Jenny are precisely the people you'd want to talk to if you were scared and didn't know what to do. When you talk to Susan or Jenny, you feel you must be important because of the way they're listening. At the same time, I know that Susan and Jenny, when working with clients, are not enablers and that is something I think is important in a charity. They provide material assistance, but the goal is always independence.

Lastly, the Northwest Center is trustworthy. If you give money to the Northwest Center, you can rest assured that it will not be used to build a fancy headquarters building on a prime piece of real estate downtown. It will not be used to fly the directors in a helicopter over the depressed neighborhoods of DC so they can make grim faces and ask for more money on television. The Northwest Center operates on a humble budget and with the help of volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I volunteered with the Northwest Center while I resided in DC and those that serve within the organization are truly genuine individuals that go out of their way to help women and families. I was impressed when I first volunteered that they not only provide confidential counseling and give baby essentials through donors but they also have volunteers to aide in career counseling to enable new mothers and fathers to provide for their families. It is a privilege to donate to an organization like this and know that it saves lives of the innocent by the dedicated staff and volunteers willing to welcome and support those who need it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The Northwest Center does incredible work for incredibly needy women and families. As a volunteer for 4 years I'm proud to be associated with the center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I've volunteered with the Northwest Center and later became a donor when I moved away from D.C. After volunteering at the Northwest Center, I have a better appreciation of the value of a dollar & how to turn pocket change into a meal for 10! There are so many ways to help the Nw center, I've helped collect donated baby supplies on Saturday mornings to baking cookies for their childrens' Holiday party to registering guests at their annual black tie fundraising gala. The ladies who run this center are not only inspirational, but the women who they serve are some of the most inspiring women you will ever meet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand! so that they can help more people who request their services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

As a full-time volunteer at the Northwest Center through the Jesuit Volunteer Corps, I had significant opportunities to observe the work of the staff and volunteers and the relationships they had with the clients of the Northwest Center. Not only does the NWC offer counseling, housing and material assistance services to its clients, it is also a comforting place for women and families in need to come to discuss their concerns and plan for their family's future. Some of the most rewarding experiences that I had as a volunteer were when clients came in just to talk about what was going on in their lives and share their experiences with me. It can be very difficult to be a parent trying to raise children on limited resources, especially so for single parents. The Northwest Center makes these challenges more tolerable by offering a supportive, caring environment for women and families to make important life decisions for themselves and their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

I have been volunteering for the Northwest Pregnancy Center for over two years. I have been impressed with their leadership's humility, care, and hard work during that time, and hope to continue serving with them for many years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I have worked with the Northwest Center over the past 10 years and have been very impressed with the compassion that everyone has for their clients. They work with the "whole" issue that the client is confronting not just the immediate concern of the pregnancy. They help with housing, doctor's appt., parenting classes, obtaining GEDs and many other roadblocks that woman facing a crisis pregnancy face.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

There are not enough words I can say to describe how powerful and life-changing The Northwest Center is. I have served as a volunteer for almost 5 years, and it is such a pleasure to know that I can contribute to such a great organization. The Northwest Center is truly pro-child, pro-woman, pro-family. It provides women the tools they need to be strong women and empowered mothers - lasting strengths that will stay with them long after their experience at The Northwest Center is done. The Northwest Center meets women where they are, and ensures that needs are met, especially the most basic. The staff and volunteers are so devoted to the individuals that come through The Northwest Center's doors, and I believe that the people who utilize their services feel and know that - and that makes such a difference. I continue to volunteer there, and I plan on having a relationship with The Northwest Center for many, many years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers