Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.906255
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I really don't have much of a story but our family has participated w/ the Northwest Center on several occasions in terms of participating in their events such as fun runs/walks. My husband and I have attended their balls. We support Northwest because they are a pregnancy aid center and help young mothers keep their babies, learn job skills and lead productive lives while raising their children. What could be more important? As a mother myself of 4 children I know how challenging it can be to raise children in this day and age. I have a supportive husband and there are still trials and difficulties families face. Having to do it as a single parent is way harder! All the events that we have attended are well organized, fun, meaningful and well supported. We intend to continue to contribute to this nonprofit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no comment

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The Northwest Center directly has a dedicated team and community that works to help pregnant mothers in need of support. Their work is inspiring! As a donor, I know that my contribution goes directly to helping mothers and their children. The staff is hardworking very hardworking, and very prudent stewards of the donations they receive.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have been involved with this organization for many years and am happy to donate to such a worthy organization. I know that the funds I donate are going to a worthwhile purpose and that they are used wisely. The dedication and hard work of the staff make the Northwest Center a blessing to mothers and children in need in the Washington DC metro area.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I found out about the Northwest Center through a relative and I am so impressed with the entire, comprehensive program which the Center follows. All of the clients are required to participate in programs which will build their character, improve their skills, and teach them to be independent and not rely on government handouts. It is such a joy for me to provide the resources to save babies and change so many lives. I have met many of the residents and volunteers and am struck by the love the staff and residents have for each other. They operate more like a family then an organization and I consider it a privelege to be part of their family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been familiar with the work of the Northwest Center since relocating to the Washington, DC area in 2000. Year after year, I was impressed with their efforts to aid women in crisis pregnancies through their fundraising events such as the Indian Summer Ball and their July Sky's the Limit event and their walkathon. I knew they did a lot of good in the communitiy, but it wasn't until this past year when I joined the Board that I realized how much they do with such a modest amount of money. I've been involved with a number of charities and Boards over the year and this one really understands stewardship and how to stretch a dollar. They do so much good with so relatively little. I'm very proud to be affiliated with the Northwest Center.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

As a full-time volunteer at the Northwest Center through the Jesuit Volunteer Corps, I had significant opportunities to observe the work of the staff and volunteers and the relationships they had with the clients of the Northwest Center. Not only does the NWC offer counseling, housing and material assistance services to its clients, it is also a comforting place for women and families in need to come to discuss their concerns and plan for their family's future. Some of the most rewarding experiences that I had as a volunteer were when clients came in just to talk about what was going on in their lives and share their experiences with me. It can be very difficult to be a parent trying to raise children on limited resources, especially so for single parents. The Northwest Center makes these challenges more tolerable by offering a supportive, caring environment for women and families to make important life decisions for themselves and their families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

I have been volunteering for the Northwest Pregnancy Center for over two years. I have been impressed with their leadership's humility, care, and hard work during that time, and hope to continue serving with them for many years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

The Northwest Center provides life-affirming solutions to women and men in need of practical advice and resources in the face of an unplanned pregnancy. It is run by compassionate and dedicated staff and volunteers who care about the strength and long-term future of the entire family, both children and their parents. It is a truly inspiring organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In February 1996 The Northwest Center Maternity Home opened it's doors to it's first resident. I was employed there part time as House Mom. Two months later the second and third resident moved in and it became one big happy home. The rest is History. I enjoyed assisting the moms with cooking, cleaning and especially helping with the babies. In 1997 I became Resident Manager and worked full time. Later in March 2000 I was promoted to Maternity Home Manager. I love that place. The Maternity Home is truly a Safe Haven for the women and children it house. The Staff, Volumteers and The Board of Directors are such caring, giving and reliable individuals. They all work hand in hand to assist the women with the goals they set for themselves to enable them to become Self-Sufficient. I have personally witnessed some of the women Graduate from College, obtain their HS Diploma or GED, complete Trade School, Job Training and get decent jobs enabling them to move into their own apartments. I feel blessed to have played a small part of their transitioning and proud to have served as a Staff Member of The Northwest Center for 10 yrs. KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK YOU ALL DO AT THE NORTHWEST CENTER. MY PRAYER IS THAT THE CENTER RECEIVES AN ABUNDANCE THAT WILL ENABLE THEM TO EXPAND SO THEY CAN DO MORE FOR MORE. GOD BLESS YOU, NWC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I have worked with the Northwest Center over the past 10 years and have been very impressed with the compassion that everyone has for their clients. They work with the "whole" issue that the client is confronting not just the immediate concern of the pregnancy. They help with housing, doctor's appt., parenting classes, obtaining GEDs and many other roadblocks that woman facing a crisis pregnancy face.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers