Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.906255
Write A Review
November 9, 2013

more

November 9, 2013

I became a Board Member because of my experience as a volunteer. The Center serves women and children in challenging circumstances with compassion, experience, expertise, efficiency, and respect for both mother and child. The Center does all this as one of the most cost-effective organizations in the Washington DC area.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

Having attended several events for The Northwest Center I have heard from the people that they serve the great good they are doing in the lives that they touch. For those who have not been able to attend one of those events let me assure you that your donations produce incredibly beautiful results!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

It is evident that the staff at Northwest Center are excellent stewards of the organizations' resources as they properly utilize every bit of space, materials, funding and volunteers to help so many. I've enjoyed witnessing their approach with the client which is one of genuine care and concern. You can see the difference that Northwest is making in the lives of young women and their children. I am grateful that this organization operates in my community, and feel confident in recommending Northwest to donors, volunteers or those in need of their services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I've been a volunteer at the Northwest Center for two months, and I could not be more thrilled to be here. The work the center does is truly incredible - working with mothers, fathers and children to accomplish the goals they desire and providing monthly material assistance to help ease the financial burden of having a child. Before I started working here, I had no idea how much money items like diapers, formula, wipes, breast pumps, strollers, etc. cost. Helping families with these items while encouraging growth and independence is so important and makes a tangible difference in the lives of many.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I've been involved with the Northwest Center for two years as a volunteer and donor. If I had to pick three words to describe the center, I'd say important, kind, and trustworthy.

The Northwest Center is important because there are few places in DC where moms with unplanned pregnancies
can find encouragement and resources to help them continue their pregnancies and either keep their babies or give someone else the joy of adopting their babies. The Northwest Center saves the lives of these babies and also the lives of these moms by supplying encouragement and practical help.

I chose the word kind because Susan and Jenny are precisely the people you'd want to talk to if you were scared and didn't know what to do. When you talk to Susan or Jenny, you feel you must be important because of the way they're listening. At the same time, I know that Susan and Jenny, when working with clients, are not enablers and that is something I think is important in a charity. They provide material assistance, but the goal is always independence.

Lastly, the Northwest Center is trustworthy. If you give money to the Northwest Center, you can rest assured that it will not be used to build a fancy headquarters building on a prime piece of real estate downtown. It will not be used to fly the directors in a helicopter over the depressed neighborhoods of DC so they can make grim faces and ask for more money on television. The Northwest Center operates on a humble budget and with the help of volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I've been both a volunteer and a donor as a Georgetown student these past few years, and the incredible work done by the Northwest Center is exactly the passion and care for the health of women and their children that is needed to make all of our pro-life advocacy into an actual culture of life. Those that want to make a meaningful impact on the lives of women in need should look no father than the Northwest Center.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I volunteered with the Northwest Center while I resided in DC and those that serve within the organization are truly genuine individuals that go out of their way to help women and families. I was impressed when I first volunteered that they not only provide confidential counseling and give baby essentials through donors but they also have volunteers to aide in career counseling to enable new mothers and fathers to provide for their families. It is a privilege to donate to an organization like this and know that it saves lives of the innocent by the dedicated staff and volunteers willing to welcome and support those who need it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I've donated to The Northwest Center for the last 3 years. I feel confident supporting them because I know what a valuable resource the Northwest center is to women in the local DC community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing that I can think of!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The Northwest Center does incredible work for incredibly needy women and families. As a volunteer for 4 years I'm proud to be associated with the center.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I've volunteered with the Northwest Center and later became a donor when I moved away from D.C. After volunteering at the Northwest Center, I have a better appreciation of the value of a dollar & how to turn pocket change into a meal for 10! There are so many ways to help the Nw center, I've helped collect donated baby supplies on Saturday mornings to baking cookies for their childrens' Holiday party to registering guests at their annual black tie fundraising gala. The ladies who run this center are not only inspirational, but the women who they serve are some of the most inspiring women you will ever meet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand! so that they can help more people who request their services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers