Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 28, 2011

more

November 28, 2011

This wonderful organization won my heart and the hearts of my family many years ago. It provides services that otherwise would be completely unavailable to an underserved population that desperately needs help --mobile health services, warm meals and companionship, offered on the streets, in the places where the homeless and needy tend to gather. The Night Ministry goes to the population it serves... bringing compassion, conversation, a listening ear, a helping hand and a caring heart. In addition, The Night Ministry provides a range of services, including shelters, to youth on the street. Wonderful staff, amazing administration, incredible volunteers, and critical mission.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Interacting with youth on the street when we serve food and celebrate holidays.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I hope this organization does not change in any material way other than to continue to expand its services and the number of youth, specifically, for whom it can provide temporary shelter.

March 21, 2012

more

March 21, 2012

I personally have seen them help individuals turn their own lives around. Love their idea of being just present in peoples lives. No judgements. They help so many kinds of homeless people from children to seniors, from health to food and shelter. One of a kind! Everyone working there is someone special.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

The Night Ministry is a wonderful organization that helps individuals that are homeless or in danger of becoming homeless through vital programs like Health and Youth Outreach, Youth Shelter, HIV testing services, and referral programs to other social service agencies.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 28, 2011

more

November 28, 2011

After hearing about The Night Ministry when I was in my 30's with little kids, I decided I had to do something to help this organization when I had more time. I have since volunteered on the bus, at their Spring benefit and at The Crib and I am the one who has reaped the rewards from this organization! Well run and a rewarding organization with which to work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 28, 2011

more

November 28, 2011

Have Volunteered in many different ways. The Night Ministry (TNM) delivers an open ear and hand to those who are in dire need in Chicagoland.
Clients come from all over the city and suburbs. I personally have the pleasure of working with staff that qualify as angels. TNM
is reliably
present with people, places and times. Better than any I have seen for homeless in Chicago. TNM helps people at the most basic of levels. "Successful clients" have told me TNM referrals helped them change their own lives. Health Out Reach Bus w/ nurse practitioner, Shelter, Food, Counseling....see 6 min video my fellow volunteer and I produced of just one of their services in Chicago.

Pregnant and Parenting Program RAPPP
http://youtu.be/3D7FPbRVxks

see tremendous kindness every time and a lot of little steps of personal growth for individuals who are in trouble maintaining the basics. The Night Ministry is consistently present for those in need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

see tremendous kindness every time and a lot of little steps of personal growth for individuals who are in trouble maintaining the basics. The Night Ministry is consistently present for those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have the Director walk and talk with a list of questions to all branches of service including volunteers looking for ways to improve. Ask tough questions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

know that everyone empowered in the organization is walking and talking with the passion of positive presence that TNM usually delivers.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

allows me to use my talents to help the global good.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

sad, happy, its a funny kind of mix. Reality Ck. Grateful, TNM is in Chicago. Feel like my time and money are getting worthwhile use. Wishing more people not only cared - but got up and helped. Hope you will volunteer.

November 28, 2011

more

November 28, 2011

I have volunteered with the Night Ministry at three of its outreach bus stops. Health care, counseling, and other services are provided to so many people who wait in line patiently because they have no where else to turn. Volunteers provide food and companionship alongside the outreach bus. I cannot count the number of times clients have stated that the Night Ministry saved them by providing food, services, and shelter when they needed it most. The Night Ministry staff are caring and kind. They have become the surrogate family for many youth who have no other family. Its a very worthy organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My work on the street with the Night Ministry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more funding so that it could serve more of the homeless youth in Chicago.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

The Night Ministry is the best group I have volunteered with. They say thank you in so many ways (including written thank you notes and cards) and are always checking in to make sure that our efforts are coordinated.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have met so many new people through my work with the Night Ministry. Many of those are volunteers who team with me to prepare and serve food. I have also met many Night Ministry clients and have learned a great deal about what it is like to be homeless on the streets of Chicago.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I am inspired by the Night Ministry's work, and glad to think I have contributed a tiny bit to their efforts.

November 24, 2011

more

November 24, 2011

I first came to The Night Ministry as a communications staff person. I worked there for about 8 years. I saw so much caring help and compassion from program staff and volunteers while providing free health care on Chicago's nighttime street from a specially outfitted bus. Everyone needs to feel they belong somewhere and when I would go out with the Bus, it always amazed me the way the bus visitors always called it "their bus" and they looked out for staff. It was like a little sanctuary around the bus - with laughing and companionship.

Program staff and volunteers helped homeless youth on the streets, in afternoon drop-in programs, and at their shelters in Chicago for homeless youth who are not wards of the state. Homeless youth are not always angels, but they are always in need of listening, guidance, food, help with practical matters and shelter. Homeless youth with children of their own need even more. Staff and volunteers provide that with a sense of humor and kindness.

I no longer work at The Night Ministry, but I am a donor now. They do critical, important, very human work and I am proud to have played a tiny part. Staff and volunteers show the proverbial "Holiday spirit" all year round with caring and assistance for those who have so very little. The other thing I love about The Night Ministry is that there isn't any judgment for those they serve and no proselytizing.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a staff person I would go with journalists to The Night Ministry's programs. I would see program staff & volunteers in action. I also want to say in getting information to the press, our policy was to always, always ask permission first and protect the privacy of clients. If someone didn't want to participate, they didn't have to. I was always careful to make sure bus visitors and youth knew that they didn't have to talk to the press in order to get services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Somehow get more money for daytime service providers for bus visitors. I actually just got their latest newsletter and saw they'll be sharing a staff person with Streetwise newspaper. The Night Ministry is good about creating alliances with other service providers, which is great. But I do wish they had enough money to have a few full-time people of their own in that area without sacrificing other services.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

homelessness is so very awful. all year long and no matter who you are.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Because I had a little extra.

What would you tell others about this organization?

What I shared with you already.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 23, 2011

more

November 23, 2011

I began my relationship with The Night Ministry as a donor, but have worked here since 1997. I began my work here as an outreach worker with youth on the street and in one of our short-term housing programs, and I can truly say that we changed lives ... by providing safe space, opportunities for self-development, and skills leading to self-sufficiency.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I began my relationship with The Night Ministry as a donor, but have worked here since 1997. I began my work here as an outreach worker with youth on the street and in one of our short-term housing programs, and I can truly say that we changed lives ... by providing safe space, opportunities for self-development, and skills leading to self-sufficiency.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide it with more resources so it could continue and expand its work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 23, 2011

more

November 23, 2011

The Night Ministry is an amazing organization that works with people who are homeless and in particular many at risk youth. They offer meaningful and life-changing volunteer experiences. They are one of the only agencies in Chicago doing significant work with youth who are homeless or marginalized. They offer such great hospitality to those who need it most.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The way it has affected the lives of youth in my faith community who have volunteered and come away with a better understanding of so many issues and why hospitality and community are so important.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a lot more money so they could do even more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 21, 2011

more

November 21, 2011

I have worked for The Night Ministry for over 9 years and have become increasingly more proud of the work that we do in Chicago with populations that are underserved and at-risk. For homeless youth, while we provide them with immediate survival needs (food, clothing, and shelter), we also provide services that help them transition to independent living and become self-sufficient. We also provide point-of entry healthcare in a mobile setting to low-income and uninsured individuals of all ages, targeting six neighborhoods identified as having high concentrations of people in need. We are happy to be celebrating our 35th year in operation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Day-to-Day work; Tours that I host with supporters of The Night Ministry; Dinners that I attend at the Youth Shelter; Recent Sunday morning I spent at Pregnant & Parentin Program (with Mothers and their babies), etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase visibility

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help out with basic office duties such as stamping envelopes, filing, or putting labels on mail pieces.