Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.947375
Write A Review
February 18, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 18, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

My co-author, Cindy Trumbore, and I have become "forever friends" of The Nature Generation. The warm, welcoming, appreciative reception given by the Green Earth Book Award Organization to Cindy and me for our winning book, The Mangrove Tree, 2012, is still a benchmark for celebratory occasions. The honor was great and it continues to follow us. The elegant accompanying exhibit of my original art for this book was beautifully displayed. That the exhibit was timed perfectly with the award presentation made the event even more special and meaningful to us. The memorable occasion was orchestrated with exquisite attention to details, including appropriate visits with schoolchildren and even a prearranged sightseeing tour to a nearby nature reserve for our added enjoyment. Our second book together, Parrots Over Puerto Rico, 2013, was an Honorable Mention for the Green Earth Book Awards, for which we are deeply appreciative.

Not only do Cindy and I deeply believe in The Nature Generation's causes, but also, we feel that NatGen fulfills a very special responsibility in choosing to focus its awards on children's books that promote stewardship of our environment. We believe that early education of our children is essential if our planet is to survive. The Green Earth Book Awards, by showcasing accessible, informative, and beautiful books, is helping to educate our educators as well as our children, and they are the ones who will determine the future for all of us. -Susan L. Roth

February 17, 2015

more

February 17, 2015

The Nature Generation project in the Town of Purcellville is helping preserve and protect the last forested area in our town and the buffer to our beloved creek. NatGen has hosted wonderful events which involves workshops, lessons, and interactive tours of the trail so that those of all ages can enjoy nature and still feel connected to mother nature in the middle of our small town. Because our local high school is within steps of our Nature Generation preservation area, the students have partnered to complete projects and use it as an outdoor classroom. Local scouts have also partnered to perform their scout programs and badges by building bridges and bird houses. Looking forward to their continued growth and progress in the preservation of nature in our communities.
September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I have been volunteer, donor, supporter and friend of NatGen for many years. They are organized and provide a wonderful service to the young people who they touch. Their work is focused and makes a difference both in the youth who participate and the natural areas they work within.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow it to reach more youth in more states. Expand the reach.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2010

more

October 4, 2010

From selecting and distributing Nature-centered children's books to sponsoring school students' projects like the Chapman-DeMary nature trail or the enGAUGE It program, NMF constantly impresses me with their tight focus as well as their effectiveness with each project they take on. Finally, NMF is no slouch in fundraising and has successfully generated the cash to support the programming they have so creatively constructed.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

At an open-house for NMF last year, I entered and won a drawing for a set of the books that won last year's Green Earth Book Awards. My teen-age daughter has thoroughly enjoyed them!

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers