Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 2, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 12, 2012

I have been a NatGen donor since it started as a non-profit (previously NMG). I have the highest level of confidence that my donation is thoughtfully used and impactful. Volunteers are truly dedicated... more

May 2, 2013

My role with The Nature Generation encompasses - volunteer, donor, and board member. Seeing Nat Gen from various perspectives continues to affirm my belief that this is a fantastic nonprofit, doing great things, and a responsible financial steward of donations/grants.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012

I have been a NatGen donor since it started as a non-profit (previously NMG). I have the highest level of confidence that my donation is thoughtfully used and impactful. Volunteers are truly dedicated and the Nat Gen staff/board is passionate about achieving the mission. One of the best non-profits around!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2011

Newton Marasco Foundation is a motivated and vibrant organization with a passion for their mission to work collaboratively on issues related to environmental stewardship. It is the dedication of staff and volunteers that assure my contributions are used wisely and efficiently on programs that I care about. NMF is at the top of my list for donations throughout the year and end of the year. It is a pleasure to know that I am helping to make a difference.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've contributed to Newton Marasco Foundation since it was established. The Foundation creates and runs excellent programs, accomplishing many goals. The partnerships and collaboration with schools, corporations, and communities is wonderful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Say: "Carry on with the good work Newton Marasco Foundation. Bravo!"

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As a student you are always looking for opportunities to expand your knowledge base and The Nature Generation has given me that opportunity. I learned how to help out more than yourself and how your environment is your greatest indicator of your standard of living. I learned this during the Trail to Better Water Quality project(and still am) and i hope to benefit more from it. It couldn't have been done without the help of The Nature Generation

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

As a high school student, finding non profit organizations that allow you to be a leader and not a follower is difficult. The Nature Generation offered me the opportunity to not only participate, but take the reins of a project detailing water quality in a local watershed. Working with a few fellow students, I was immersed in foreign jargon that soon became second nature and often found myself standing in the middle of a stream on a beautiful day carrying wide nets, monitoring equipment, and a turbidity tube. Romping around in my oversize boots is only one of the perks of working on this project. I get to promote sustainability with children at an age that thrives on engaging activities that often occur in the beauty of nature. The Nature Generation combines the efforts to conserve nature with the childlike curiosity that inhabits so many environmental enthusiasts, creating a highly effective program for the next generation, the Nature Generation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 28, 2011

I have been volunteering with the Greater Washington Eco-Golf Classic and Charity Auction presented by the Newton Marasco Foundation (NMF) for the past 5 years. This is a fantastic event that brings ... more

November 21, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with The Nature Generation (formerly Newton Marasco Foundation) for the last 7 years, helping to organize vital fundraising events. This is an extremely well run organization with a deep volunteer pool that consists of the best and brightest in the DC and surrounding areas. As a Project Manager by trade, I appreciate the planning that goes into each event to ensure that volunteers are well informed about what is expected of them and know the schedule well in advance of the event. I truly enjoy every opportunity that I get to volunteer at The Nature Generation events.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2011

I have been volunteering with the Greater Washington Eco-Golf Classic and Charity Auction presented by the Newton Marasco Foundation (NMF) for the past 5 years. This is a fantastic event that brings together educators, Federal government employees, and representatives from some of the biggest environmental, energy, and IT consulting firms in the DC area. I can say that this is one of the best run, well-organized fundraisers that I have been a part of. Last year, the Classic made over $100,000 net...which helped fund environmental education programs for youth in Virginia, Maryland, and DC. I am proud to be a board member and volunteer for this wonderful non-profit organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have also volunteered with the NMF EnGauge It program, where I educated patrons of a local shopping mall about the importance of proper tire inflation and the positive effects it can have on the environment and the wallet. Through this event, I passed out free tire gauges (donated by NMF partner UPS) and educational literature. It was really rewarding to have the look of understanding come across people's faces while I was talking with them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Every non-profit relies on volunteer efforts...this is how they survive and thrive. NMF should encourage their staff to volunteer at most of their events and help with the planning of the largest events (i.e, the Greater Washignton Eco-Golf Classic). This would keep the staff engauged in the event and take some of the pressure off the volunteers planning the event.

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I've volunteered with Nature Generation for over a year, helping with various events and planning class room exercises for grade school children. The experience has been very positive. The people involved with Nature Generation are great, very friendly, open and hard working.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I've worked with the NMF/Nature Generation in several capacities, and am so excited about the trajectory this organization is on! The name change really clarifies the organization's invaluable mission: No activity we involve our kids in is more crucial to their futures than to nurture their understanding of the environment and a commitment to sustainability. The NatGen is involved in and supports the local community on various levels, from the arts, to the schools, to the natural world. It's all connected!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have volunteered with The Nature Generation at the Chapman DeMary Trail and Outdoor Classroom. This beautiful trail provides a great opportunity for students and the general public to study the natural sciences or just enjoy spending time outside. Volunteering at the trail clean up days and other events gives me a great sense of accomplishment. I enjoy working together with other members of my community to preserve and improve this wonderful trail.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I believe the Green Earth Book Award has great potential to impact youngsters by introducing them to fine literature that deals with the world around them and by introducing models of ways to be responsible stewards of that world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked closely with the Newton Marasco Foundation for several years and I can say unequivically that with their help and expertise our environmental science curriculum hs become outstanding. NMF has not only found local funding to support our programs but has supplied experts from the field to both speak to our classes and help in the field .
With NMF help we have begun working more closely with the schools in our highschool cluster, which has been a great benefit to the schools but more importantly to the the children in those schools.
With NMF help we have been able to build a one mile long nature trail within the town limits, plant riparian buffers to protect our water qualiity and stream corridors, take a Chesapeake Bay watershed experience along the Shenandoah river. guest speakers have help educate our students on topics from energy to pollution control.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They do great work and are a very professional and dedicated group of individuals

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them to expand their network and bring their message and expertise to other school districts.

March 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for NMF multiple times by helping with research and preparing handouts for presentations. I have found the work to be rewarding and fun. NMF offers a variety of opportunities to volunteer and all are equally rewarding.

Here are a few examples of how I have volunteered
with NMF:

I volunteered a couple of hours to look for quotes and facts about sustainability. The facts and quotes were used in a presentation given by NMF at the Master Gardener’s Symposium on Sustainability. NMF was the key note speaker at the symposium.

I volunteered a couple of hours to look for facts supporting the need to get children outside in unstructured play. These were also used in the presentation given by NMF at the Master Gardener’s Symposium on Sustainability.

I volunteered after work to make flashcards with facts about composting. The flash cards were used at a booth at the NMF at the Master Gardener’s Symposium on Sustainability. NMF used the flashcards to engage children in sustainability activities and to encourage parents to teach their children how to be sustainable.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen how the kids get excited to learn about sustainability and realize for the first time at a NMF event that they enjoy being outdoors and participating in sustainability events.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest holding more events where they can inform potential and current volunteers about the projects they are working and how they benefit the community. I believe NMF does a lot of good for the community but this is not always communicated with the volunteers.

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers